Film Reviews by PC

Welcome to PC's film reviews page. PC has written 110 reviews and rated 4509 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Doorman

Low rent Die Hard

(Edit) 28/05/2021

If you change cop for ex-soldier, you pretty much have Die Hard but with a smaller budget, no script and no memorable characters. Ruby Rose lacks any kind of charisma and considering the overblown plot, you would have thought the script could have had a few funny lines. You would struggle to remember anything from the film once the closing titles come.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Lovecraft Country: Series 1

Interesting & well made drama

(Edit) 26/04/2021

I really enjoyed the first few episodes and the last couple during which the story really moved at some pace but the middle episodes didn't seem interested in the plot and it meandered a bit. When it worked at showing the racial injustices, especially the episode in Tulsa, it was really effective and the mix of monsters & magic really worked. Can't be too critical of a series trying something different and some of the transformation effects in later episodes were brilliantly done. Well worth a watch if you like your horrors with a bit more drama & heart behind them.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Underwater

Alien underwater!

(Edit) 11/03/2021

There are clearly some good ideas here, starting out as an underwater Alien wannabe and then morphing into something more interesting. I would only have liked a bit more character development before all hell breaks loose, they are pretty stock characters, the wisecracker, the rookie, the one with family and the heroine. You therefore find hard to care about the characters but the effects are good and it manages to catch the claustrophobic elements well.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Baby Done

Witty baby comedy

(Edit) 11/03/2021

This is a witty and warm look at pregnancy with a winning performance from comedian Rose Matafeo as a new mum who deals with her pregnancy very differently to her partner, wanting to complete a kind of bucket list for them both before the baby comes. It is consistently funny and offers a very non-Hollywood look at the subject, including some laugh out loud moments amongst the touching look at the subject.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Doom Patrol: Series 2

Hugely original!

(Edit) 11/03/2021

This is the best 'superhero' series out there, involving a weird but wonderful group of characters who have to deal with their own powers, each other and odd characters. All the actors deserve credit for giving their characters depth, especially Diane Guerrero whose multi-layered performance as Jane who has multiple personalities. The series allows each of the characters to breath and they all have their own spotlight. This series allows for more emotional story arc and the inclusion of some great new characters.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Riviera: Series 3

Total nonsense

(Edit) 11/03/2021

The first two series were overblown but at least you got involved with the family dynamics, this series pretty much ignores what has happened and morphs into some sort of international thriller. It still looks nice and Julia Stiles is clearly trying her best. This is overblown and I really only finished the series because I felt obliged having watched the previous 2 series.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Burden

Interesting but lacks bite

(Edit) 11/03/2021

Although based on a true story, this interesting story lacks momentum and meanders a bit after a strong start. Some of this is due to the central performance from Garrett Hedlund whose mannerisms are hugely off-putting, but Andrea Riseborough and Forest Whitaker are quite superb. Their characters actually drive the film and when they are on screen it raises the drama above the ordinary. I would say that the film Skin with Jamie Bell and American History X cover similar territory with greater emotional impact.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bill and Ted Face the Music

Not excellent!

(Edit) 11/03/2021

I enjoyed the original films, especially Bogus Journey, but this lacks any of that freshness or a script with enough funny moments or lines. The cast try their best but the whole things seems to forget what made the characters funny, trying to shoe-horn their daughters into the film is achingly unfunny. I think I've given two stars because of my nostalgic feel for the originals.

2 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Broken Hearts Gallery

Hugely enjoyable rom-com

(Edit) 02/02/2021

A quirky and very enjoyable romantic comedy with likeable leads and a sharp & funny script. Even the supporting cast are given some great lines, especially the lead's friends. Well worth watching.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Witches

Lacks a bit of bite

(Edit) 25/01/2021

This is a beautifully looking adaption of the Roald Dahl classic but it doesn't really add anything new to the first adaption with Anjelica Huston as the Grand High Witch. The special effects are excellent and they don't spare on the creepy witch effects, quite enjoyable but forgettable, a little warning that very young viewers may find it a bit scary!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The New Mutants

Could have been really good

(Edit) 25/01/2021

Its quite clear that the original idea that Marvel meets horror has gone through several rewrites as they lost faith in that premise. This is a shame as it has some good moments before going for an all out special effects finale. There are some good young actors involved and with a better script may have stood a chance. This may have been a really good hybrid but comes across as an opportunity missed.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Big Little Lies: Series 1

Excellent drama

(Edit) 07/10/2020

Didn't know what to expect but thoroughly enjoyed this drama, kind of like Desperate Housewives with added violence. The cast are uniformly good, especially Nicole Kidman and Reece Witherspoon. The script is also quite funny in places and it keeps you gripped from the very first episode.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Rhythm Section

Missed opportunity

(Edit) 07/10/2020

It is quite nice that the makers of the film have taken a more gritty approach to the female assassin genre, an ever growing genre all by itself. Unfortunately, they still adhere to the usual stereotypes, she must carry out a kill whilst in sexy underwear! The script is not the best but Blake Lively is good and carries off a decent English accent.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Invisible Man

Enjoyable re-imagining

(Edit) 13/08/2020

This is a fresh look at an old story with pertinent points about domestic abuse and stalking, with a great performance from Elizabeth Moss.

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

21 Bridges

Easy to watch thriller

(Edit) 07/04/2020

This is quite a simple little thriller which probably wouldn't be a big release without Chadwick Boseman in the lead role. He is very good, as usual, and it is a shame they decided to spend so much time on a convoluted sub plot rather than his investigation into the shootout. The scenes with Sienna Miller and JK Simmons are really good and they could have done with more of that.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
12345678