Film Reviews by TH

Welcome to TH's film reviews page. TH has written 180 reviews and rated 196 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dogtanian and the Three Muskehounds

Ok

(Edit) 07/11/2021

A nice little film with a simple story. The characters are likeable but this is aimed at younger children. Overall its OK.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Nowhere Special

Moving film

(Edit) 07/11/2021

This may be low budget but everything from the directing to the acting is spot on. James Norton does a great job as a dying father only wanting to make sure his son is looked after when he's gone. This isn't at all soppy but feels very raw. Daniel Lamont is a great child actor too who acts just like a kid that age would.

Overall maybe wouldnt watch again but it's a well made film with heart.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dear Evan Hansen

Really enjoyed this

(Edit) 07/11/2021

The critics seem to slate this film but would say this is miles better than In The Heights (which critics seem to rave about).

For starters this works even without the musical aspect. The story kept my intention throughout and felt absorbed into the story and emotions of Evan Hansen. The songs however add an extra element to the emotion.

Acting is decent and would highly recommend.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Last Night in Soho

Classic British horror

(Edit) 07/11/2021

I didn't expect much but was really impressed with this film. Its best not to spoil anything but this was a unique experience. Some of the script could be sharper but decent acting from Anna Taylor Joy and Thomasin Mckenzie keep this engrossing throughout. Creepy in places but essentially plays more as a mystery horror. 4/5

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Earwig and the Witch

Decent but lacking anything extra

(Edit) 15/10/2021

This is a fairly watchable effort. The story is simple and makes for an easy watch.

The thing that let's it down is that it simply ends without any real impact.

It's a decent enough film which may of needed a few more ideas thrown in.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Aquarium of the Dead

Really bad

(Edit) 03/10/2021

So I went in expecting this to be bad, just didnt realise it would be bad bad. I was expecting a semi cheesy survival movie but this was terrible. Bad acting, poorly written characters and some terrible cgi. Even the kills are quite dull.

Give it a miss

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Midnight in the Switchgrass

Another bad Bruce Willis film

(Edit) 03/10/2021

Not sure why I keep thinking movies like this will be watchable. Yet another boring bland thriller with Willis going through the motion and lifeless performances from Hirch (what happened to a once promising actor)and Megan Fox who hams it up.

Didnt care by the end.

1 star is being generous.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Malignant

Decent horror

(Edit) 03/10/2021

I do love a good horror film. The conjuring series are highlights in american horror movies and have enjoyed most films from James Wan.

This film starts a bit slow and does steal ideas from other films. Its entertaining enough and the twist maybe the main selling point but would say this film is on par with The Candyman remake on the level of low scale scares.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Cruella

Enjoyable enough

(Edit) 30/09/2021

Cruella is one that I found interesting from the trailer so was looking forward to seeing this film.

It's rather good and keeps you entertained throughout. The film is simple enough but has some great performances from Stone and Thompson.

Overall I wouldnt say it's a classic but it will entertain families with older children.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hitman's Wife's Bodyguard

Watchable but forgettable

(Edit) 30/09/2021

The sequel that wasnt needed.

This is very much your usual hollywood spy film. Lots of cheesy jokes and forgettable action scenes.

Watch if you want to see Reynolds and Jackson playing their usual characters.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Escape Room 2: Tournament of Champions

On par with the first film

(Edit) 13/09/2021

Escape room 2 is one of those horror films that plays to its strength. It doesnt try and reinvent the genre but provides and entertaining 90 mins of final destination meets Cube style action.

The characters are decent enough with no one standing out.

Like the original film this provides enough to keep horror fans entertained without needing to resort to graphic blood and gore.

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mortal Kombat

Fun and watchable

(Edit) 23/08/2021

I dont have much knowledge of mortal kombat other than that dragon image.

That being said this Is a fairly decent fun action movie. The kill scenes are full on John Wick style of blood and guts and the action is non stop.

That being said I cared very little for the characters but then again this isnt that sort of film.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Stardust

Very dull Bowie bio

(Edit) 19/08/2021

What can I say I came for the Bowie story and left feeling very underwhelmed.

The story is really dull, acting unconvincing and just felt flat despite being about David Bowie and his creation of Ziggy Stardust.

Hopefully a better more interesting biopic will be here soon.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Deceit

Well acted and tense

(Edit) 19/08/2021

Just finished this 4 part series.

It was an interesting and quite dark show which shows the errors from the police on capturing a serial killer rapist by manipulating a female police officer to honey trap a potential profiled suspect.

Acting is great from the lead actress and you can feel her range of emotions

It's hard to review something like this being that it's based on true events but was an eye opening.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Stray

Watchable and short

(Edit) 16/08/2021

What can I say. This is fairly short and features very little spoken words.

Following wild dogs in Instanbul around the city and the different situations they get into.

Ok for a watch.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.
1234567891012