Film Reviews by TH

Welcome to TH's film reviews page. TH has written 205 reviews and rated 269 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Royal Hotel

Could have been better

(Edit) 26/03/2024

This had the potential to be a really good thriller but sadly falls short. The two characters are thinly written and you never really feel engaged in what happens to them. The men in this film are all made out to be drunk and aggressive yobs, who once again we know little about. It feels like a first draft when a rewrite would be better.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Haunted Mansion

Great fun

(Edit) 28/10/2023

Really enjoyed this. For once a modern Disney film that focuses on telling a good story. The cast are perfect and the story is decent enough. It may not be that scary but it keeps you watching till the end. Much better than the critics made it out to be.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Matilda the Musical

Oh dear

(Edit) 10/03/2023

First thing to be clear I knew this was based on a mix of the book and the musicial. I have read the book and seem the musicial.

That being said this is really bad film. Something about this just didn't click. It was if they had a tick list of events they needed to include and handled it badly.

The most surprising issue was the acting. Emma Thompson, Stephen Graham and Andrea Riseborough are fantastic actors but it seemed very pantomime in delivery.

It's hard when watching not to think I could be watching the 90s film instead. Pam Ferris was so memorable in that film and made the film feel more authentic. Sadly as a stage musicial you can forgive the breaking into song but as a film it falls flat.

Overall just not for me.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ticket to Paradise

Average

(Edit) 27/01/2023

What can i say. This is a fairly standard rom com hollywood style film. Clooney and Roberts give their usual performances and nothing more. Not really funny and with characters you really won't care about. In the end it kills time being alright.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Don't Worry Darling

It had potential but in the end very shallow

(Edit) 27/01/2023

Besides all the publicity this film gained off set, the question was if this film was any good. Sadly for me it wasn't. The plot itself had potential (with its stepford wives/black mirror style) but in the end it missed a chance to really make a point.

The story meanders for the first half and only really picks up later on. The acting is average (still not sure about HS).

If anything it just felt dragged out when maybe a bit more interesting poltting could have helped it. Maybe the script and plotting could have done with some more work.

2 out of 5 for me.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Jeepers Creepers: Reborn

Just bad

(Edit) 22/11/2022

This really is a bad horror film. The original film was a decent enough film but the sequels have been terrible and this reboot adds to the list of bad sequels. Bad acting and a ropey script leads to this.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Rumble

Bland

(Edit) 16/11/2022

I didn't have much expectation for this film and while it wasn't unwatchable it just didnt have anything memorable about it. Thr sort of film you put on in the background.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Ice Road

Average

(Edit) 16/11/2022

Another Liam Neeson action film. So is it any good. Well it was highly watchable if slightly unbelievable. I would say this is worth a watch but don't expect something you would watch again like Taken or The Commuter which were better. That being said the backdrop was a nice change.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dave Allen: Live: On Life

Not his best material

(Edit) 16/11/2022

I love watching the old routines of Dave Allen but have to be honest I didn't find this in the same league. Some funny bits but felt the jokes didn't have the same build up we have come to expect of Dave. Still one of my favourite comedians never less.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Black Phone

Great film but abrupt ending

(Edit) 16/11/2022

This was a really creepy film. Ethan Hawke is great as the creepy kidnapper. Mason Thames is great as the kid to root for. The film holds your attention throughout however if I have one criticism it would be the ending. The last 5 minutes seem to end very quickly. This is my criticism with Barbarian as well.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Blacklight

OK but rather bland

(Edit) 20/07/2022

So essentially another another role where Liam Neeson plays a tough guy getting revenge.

It's a rather bland forgettable film. I would say it's won't bore you but nothing about it will be memorable 2 minutes after viewing.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Morbius

Dull

(Edit) 12/07/2022

This had potential to be a good film but sadly the dull storyline, shoddy cgi and lack of effort acting makes this film seem a lot longer than its 90 minutes running time.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Matrix Resurrections

So bad

(Edit) 18/06/2022

If like me you enjoyed the original Matrix but found the sequels a bit messy but watchable then expect to find this something to miss altogether. It's truly a mess of a film. Bad storyline, Keane reeves in autopilot and missing cast members. Give it a miss and watch the original instead.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fantastic Beasts: The Secrets of Dumbledore

I really liked it

(Edit) 14/04/2022

Seeing some of the mixed reviews I was a tad worried. However I found this a strong entry in the series. The cast all play their roles well and the criticism of not knowing who the main character is I feel is the films strength. Jude law as Dumbledore and Eddie Redmayne as Scamander are the focus point and Jude Law gives another great performance here. Mads Mikkelsen who takes over from Johnny Depp is a great replacement. He is more reserved but equally big presence as the villain of the film. He doesn't need to do much but like in Hannibal he just becomes creepy.

Look forward to chapter 4

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Clifford: The Big Red Dog

Cute, harmless but slightly dull

(Edit) 11/04/2022

Clifford is one of those kids films that feels like they took the same story used many times before and added Clifford the red dog in. Sadly its not funny and not really that engaging. It plods along without adding anything new to the party.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
1234567891014