Film Reviews by TH

Welcome to TH's film reviews page. TH has written 95 reviews and rated 106 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Unhinged

Starts well

(Edit) 29/11/2020

This is a decent b movie. The acting is fairly decent and the storyline may be a bit predictable at time is passable. I enjoyed how it started but soon becomes a bit over the top and the ending is rather uninspired. Worth a watch but not a classic.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Finding the Way Back

Decent but standard sports film

(Edit) 21/11/2020

This is a decent film that is worth a watch. Ben affleck does a good job in the lead role but overall this is a rather standard sports film with a troubled head coach. It wont break new grounds but it's harmless enough to watch.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Blackbird

Great actors but not for me

(Edit) 21/11/2020

This film has some fine actors and the performances are well tuned. Aside from that this isnt the most interesting of films. The story is rather dull and feels like it would be more suited to being a play rather than a film.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Max Richter's Sleep

5 stars for the music

(Edit) 11/11/2020

As a big fan of Max Richter's music I was looking forward to seeing this.

Sleep is a stunning and relaxing album and this is a really interesting documentary around trying an experiment of how people can come together with a concert.

Would of given this 5 stars if they showed more of the performances.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Enola Holmes

Not for me

(Edit) 08/11/2020

Sherlock Holmes has always been done fairly well whether its the BBC Sherlock, the films recently with Robert Downey Jr or the american take Elementary.

However this is a new take with a sister that im not awarehas even been mentioned before and follows a fairly unlikeable lead as she works out a rather bland mystery.

Millie Bobby Brown lacks the acting chops to pull of the lead role and make her character anything other than slightly precocious.

However it's not just the lead that doesnt work. Cavill makes for a rather dull Sherlock and Claflin does a rather alright job with the little material he is given.

The biggest issue is that it doesnt feel fun or interesting but more a cheap mystery film using the Sherlock name to gain interest.

Not to say people wont enjoy it but I was quite disappointed with this film.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Secret: Dare to Dream

Its alright

(Edit) 08/11/2020

This wont win any awards for originality. However if you want a sweet watchable film with likeable leads then give this a chance. I guessed the end but didnt take away from the experience. Worth a watch during lockdown.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Can You Keep a Secret?

Passable

(Edit) 06/11/2020

If you want a watchable fluff of a film then give this a try.

It's not bad just not very memorable. The 2 leads do a decent job but it very much stays in its lane.

On netflix at the moment so give it a spin on a rainy day or the next 4 weeks of lockdown.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

River Runs Red

Sounded good but quite bad

(Edit) 25/10/2020

This sounded like a promising film but wow is this bad. The acting is average at best but the film is so bad. The need to play random music in certain scenes doesnt fit and the plot ambles along slowly with little interest. Overall a bad film not worth recommending.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Spaceship Earth

This wasnt good

(Edit) 25/10/2020

Like the other reviewer said this wasnt a good documentary. Theres something in this that could of been insightful but ends up being random boring.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Scoob!

Quite fun

(Edit) Updated 06/10/2020

I've been a big scooby doo fan since I was little and have to admit I was expecting this to be really bad.

It was actually not too bad. It's more of a blue falcon film with the mystery inc gang joining them on an adventure so dont expect any solving ghost crimes.

The animation is average and the new voice actors do a decent job however does make you miss the original shaggy voice.

Cameos from other Hanna and Barbara creation like captain caveman and Dick Dystarty and Mutley are fun but does make you itch to watch a classic episode of scooby doo.

Wonder if Flinstones or Jetsons may be next.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bulletproof

Decent but likely forgettable

(Edit) 06/10/2020

This film was slated by the (wokey) guardian so I knew it had to be fairly watchable and I was right.

Bulletproof is one of those fairly watchable cop films. It features 2 police officers on patrol and features plenty of stereotypes like pumps, drug dealers and people generally being shifty.

Will this film win awards for being a classic? most likely not but is it film promoting white machoism? Not really it's just a passable film that goes along at a decent pace.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sulphur and White

Interesting film

(Edit) 05/10/2020

This is a well acted and engaging film. The storyline is both moving and powerful. The acting from all is great and it's a film that makes you think after.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Unbroken

Great film

(Edit) 05/10/2020

It's taken me a while to watch this but I'm glad I did. This is an engaging true story that shows how someone can carry on through the loss and highs. The strength of Louis from his success at the Olympics to being a prisoner of war and the courage to battle his demons is very powerful. Highly recommend.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Unbroken: Path to Redemption

Continue the story but feels rather cheap

(Edit) 05/10/2020

This carry on the story of the life of Louis from the Unbroken film and focuses on his life after being a POW. Sadly this felt rather flat and the cheap filming and bland acting made this feel like a real channel 5 tv movie.

Shame as theres some interesting parts of the story but the main actor struggles to replace Jack O Connell.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Hunt

Bit of a mess

(Edit) 05/10/2020

I wasnt expecting this to be a classic horror movie but hoped it would be more like belko experiment/purge style.

It starts with the unpredictable who will be the lead character and then sort of ambles along with a fairly bland lead and some forced political ramble mocking both sides (good to see) but it doesnt really add much to the film as a whole.

Seems this film doesnt know who its audience is and it shows. Its not the worst film ever, but it was still a bit of a let down in my opinion.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.
1234567

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month