Film Reviews by LB

Welcome to LB's film reviews page. LB has written 15 reviews and rated 14 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dangal

Rocky versus the Karate kid

(Edit) 20/03/2018

Sheer brilliance. 3 hours and never realised. it was real entertainment... and true. fabulous story, fabulous acting . very well filmed and executed. A must rental

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Valkyrien

brilliant start and then peters out a bit

(Edit) 15/03/2018

very engaging and worth a rent but without giving the game away it sadly peters out and has a rather weak ending as if thy ran out of steam. excellent acting though as always from the norwegians

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Lucky Man: Series 1

Worth watching for James Nesbitt

(Edit) 23/02/2018

Great premise, let down by some rather mediocre performances in leading roles with the exception of the mesmeric James NESBITT. Worth a watch . if only the script had been a little tighter and the editing better,and the supporting performances stronger this could have been a real winner., hence only giving the 3 stars rating.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Designated Survivor: Series 1

brilliant series. another smash hit for keifer

(Edit) 09/02/2018

whole series is riveting and we can't wait for the next disc. Very well executed . acted and so interesting

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Crown: Series 1

its all already been said

(Edit) 26/01/2018

Brilliant. No wonder it was up for so many awards. Great piece of British history sensitively handled and brilliantly acted.can'T wait for more

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Black Sea

sadly lacking in any tension

(Edit) 21/01/2018

I agree with the above reviews. Jude Law was left unsupported by the other actros and the pace and tension were really poor leading to a film which had not hold. Sad.. because it was a good premise.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Better Call Saul: Series 3

superb yet again a must rent

(Edit) 12/01/2018

Sublime... brilliant series. Love it. so beautifully filmed constructed acted and directed . I can't fault it. highly recommended

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Miracle

Disappointing

(Edit) 08/01/2018

We love the whole theme of underdogs make good and have seen loads of films with the same idea but this one just did not pull it off, and I don't know why. We did not really get to know the team and as such had no simpatico for any of them, nor was the great Kurt Russell particularly well cast in this one. Rather a disappoinment

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Miss Sloane

YET again disappointing

(Edit) 08/01/2018

Despite great reviews from the critics , we found this laborious and very wordy without the tensions to bring out the twists and turns and intrigues involved in the world of politics. Please watch 'Borgen 'and you will see what I mean. I have no interest in Swedish politics as such but this is a gripping series and you will love it. Not so Miss Sloane. Personally I did not think Jessica Chastain held it. I was not a bit interested in whether she won or not. It needed someone with real charisma like Susan Sarandon or Sandra Bulloch. Trudged through it but it was a trudge

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Norman

Very disappointing

(Edit) 03/01/2018

No wonder it only lasted a week at the cinema

. Teious, boring and meandering and Richard Gere was not on form or may be it was the script.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

And Justice for All

Absolute Classic

(Edit) 02/01/2018

The old'ens are the best!!! So powerful. Riveted from the opening to the end and did not even realise it was a long film. You must see this. A powerhouse of a film

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fresh

Not so fresh

(Edit) 29/12/2017

I rate it no stars because we could not engage with any of the characters, and did not even see the film through as we were so bored. Not for us. Sorry

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Walk in the Clouds

Lovely gentle romantic story

(Edit) 29/12/2017

Showing Keanu Reeves talent early on, this is a sweet story with excellent acting from the whole cast and beautifully shot. if you like an old fashioned well executed movies you will love this. Well worth renting

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Feast of Love

a bit iffy

(Edit) 29/12/2017

Perhaps we were not in the right mood or we did not give it long enough to warm up but unless we are grabbed in the first ten minutes we tend to not bother going further. Excellent cast but westill did not engage with the characters. Shame .Worth a try and please let me know your thoughts.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Bear

yhe bear

(Edit) 28/12/2017

A beautifully filmed story of the life of a bear cub told with a real hear and truth. The whole family will love it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month