Film Reviews by CW

Welcome to CW's film reviews page. CW has written 86 reviews and rated 86 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Silence

I wanted to like it

(Edit) 22/08/2019

I had high hopes for this movie having been born in Japan. After a while it just seemed endless, drifting and pointless. I got up and read the plot of the movie and thought okay now I know, so I need not watch. I agree that it could have been edited which surely would have made for a tighter more interesting movie. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The White Crow

Thrilling

(Edit) 22/08/2019

Having seen film clips and read about Nureyev and seen the documentary I Am A Dancer, I had looked forward to seeing The White Crow. First I watched the special features where I learned about the research to make the movie as authentic as possible. Casting was brilliant. There are moments, watching Oleg Ivenko, where he seems to actually hover, to float suspended in the air as Nureyev did. Though I knew the outcome, that he was given asylum, able to defect, still I felt the suspense. I think it is a must watch for ballet lovers but also to people who have never thrilled to a live performance. Simple moments, like when the camera is just played on the dancer’s feet, are remarkable, seeing the excruciating work to achieve perfect turnout. Also in the special features I learned that Oleg Ivenko after a 12-14 hour day of filming, still had to spend 2 hours exercising at the barre lest he get out of shape. Ralph Fiennes directed and acts as ballet master Pushkin. Loved it. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Exiles

Totally depressing

(Edit) 20/08/2019

Indians who grew up on reservations and are now unemployed alcoholics. Grim. Hopeless lives. No future.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fleabag: Series 1

Oddly interesting

(Edit) 09/08/2019

Not for the sexually squeamish. Odd, quirky, fierce, comic, heartbreaking. Sibling rivalry and great love. Using sex to alleviate loneliness. I had first read about the series in The New Yorker. I agree that each episode gets better so I am looking forward to series two.  I also wanted to watch because Phoebe Waller Bridge, the writer of King Eve, wrote and stars in Fleabag. Sian Clifford plays her tense driven sister. Olivia Coleman is marvellous as the mean self centred narcissistic wife of their father. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Horse's Mouth

I couldn’t get interested

(Edit) 08/08/2019

Maybe I just didn’t get it. Unlike movies that are as interesting now as when first shown, to me, this just doesn’t stand the test of time. I wanted it to be funny but it wasn’t. I tried to watch it but after about 20 minutes gave up. Maybe fans of Alec Guinness would appreciate it but I did not. Sorry. I found it boring. Hated the paintings too. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

American Animals

Wow! Incredible story.

(Edit) 04/08/2019

As with some of the others reviewers, I hadn’t heard of this story. Years ago I spent a few weeks at University if Kentucky & Transylvania University & remember the beauty of the campuses. Sadly I didn’t go to the library to see the books in the secure section. Amazing true story, not based on true story, but the real thing. It was interesting seeing the real men who committed the heist. Very well done.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Good Fight: Series 1

Loving it

(Edit) 31/07/2019

Binge watching. To me, this series is as compelling as The Good Wife. I like the court room scenes and the relationships in and out of work. I like that there are strong intelligent women characters with a good sense of humour and I like that this is a drama about blacks and whites. Lest I go through the series too quickly, I limit myself to 2 episodes a day. Looking forward to the next series. Well done.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

BlacKkKlansman

Based on astonishing true story

(Edit) 23/07/2019

Another WOW from the brilliant director Spike Lee. I agree with all favourable reviews. Hard to believe that this outlandish story is true! Script is from the book written by Ron Stallworth. As always with Spike Lee movies, the casting, directing and story are perfect. My gosh what a lengthy career. There are funny moments and shockingly vile moments and at the end you see actual footage of recent racial hatred in the US. Timely. Now Trump firing up the frenzy of racists. A must see.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Lucky

Quiet peaceful exploration of a man

(Edit) 13/07/2019

The reviews detail this short sweet movie. I was touched by the small kindnesses of the characters. I laughed to see David Lynch in his role as just a nice guy whose best friend was a tortoise. The interview with Harry Dean Stanton in the special features is well worth seeing. I believe it was made before the movie. Much of the script is lifted from things HDS said and did. I hadn’t known that he was in about 250 films. Retrospective of his career. In the interview you see and hear him sing several songs. Lovely. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Fearless Vampire Killers

Total yawn

(Edit) 11/07/2019

I like vampire movies - both the “serious” dramatic ones and the funny ones. This is neither. Perhaps writer and director thought it amusing but I did not. Why Roman Polanski made it is beyond me. I thought it was going to make me laugh. After a few minutes I watched on fast forward a bit, continued at regular pace, gave up. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Leopard

Great epic

(Edit) 06/07/2019

Now I understand why Burt Lancaster considered this is finest role. I appreciated that his words were dubbed in Italian. Slow careful study of a grand nobleman, the patriarch of his family. Long luxurious scenes of a huge party with royalty, townspeople and military resplendent in their uniforms. Women in sweeping dresses. Waltzes. Drowsy beautiful hot landscapes. A marvellous study of a time period and Sicilian upper class. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Leave No Trace

A perfect small movie

(Edit) 06/07/2019

Very thought provoking movie, a study of a troubled man and the daughter he adores and cares for. He is her guide, provider and teacher. He cannot live amongst people so they spend their time foraging and living in the woods, often hiding. Their bond is huge. I liked that other characters in the film - social workers, psychiatrists, a farmer and group living in caravans in the woods all treat them with love and compassion. There are no bad guys. Debra Granik was the writer and director. This is one of those movies that makes you decide to see all the others works the writer and director did. Beautiful and slow. Excellent acting.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Swept Away

As exciting now as when first released

(Edit) 30/06/2019

So glad to be able to watch Lina Wurtmuller’s Swept Away again. Lead actors are absolutely marvellous. They worked with the director on several films. She studied with Fellini. Madonna and Guy Ritchy did a remake but the original is definitely the one to see. Shocking, brutal at times, sexual, romantic, sad. We laughed and gasped. Just wish that Lina Wurtmuller’s Seven Beauties was available in UK. Story takes place on a yacht and later on a gorgeous remote island with pale sand and the clearest water.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Book Club

Just for fun

(Edit) 12/06/2019

Okay, not serious important fare. But it provided laughs, an interlude between thought provoking disturbing documentaries and movies (such as the marvellous brave Human Flow which I highly recommend). I was so happy to find a movie with 4 Ab Fab older actresses. It just seemed as though they, and the men, were having such fun acting their parts. Yes, at times silly and predictable, who cares? A pleasant departure from movies starring overly used actors and actresses or the current faves of the year. Good sorbet with talented, hard working, clever, extremely fit actors. Refreshing to watch a movie about older women who are still attractive, intelligent, happy and sexy.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Michael Inside

Based on prison interviews

(Edit) 05/06/2019

Whew. I had to watch this over two nights because it was too depressing for one go. Young kid living with his grandfather because his father is in prison. Gets talked into holding drugs for a thug. Gets caught. Short prison sentence but v rough for him. Bullied and coerced to hold contraband. Grandfather forced to pay value of drugs to thugs. Our kid gets out. Gets into trouble again. Goes back in facing 3 years. Story ends. We know he will either die in prison or be forever in trouble. No hope. No way out. Dark, depressing and since it was well researched including prison interviews, probably accurate depiction of life in prison and thugs ruling the streets. Grim. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
123456

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month