Film Reviews by CW

Welcome to CW's film reviews page. CW has written 94 reviews and rated 96 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bad Lieutenant

Even Harvey Keitel couldn’t save this one.

(Edit) 07/12/2019

Harvey Keitel always commands the scene in any movie he is in. I’ve tried to see all of his movies. I saw Bad Lieutenant years ago and remembered it as grim and trashy. Still, I wanted to see it again because of him. Worthless. He plays a vile, corrupt strung out drug addict thief, a totally corrupt detective with no redeeming qualities. He either totally nails the look and behaviour of an addict (speed, crack, cocaine, heroin) or he had a lot of practice to get that tooth grinding demented look. Harvey Keitel must have it written into his contacts that he always gets at least one nude scene. I can’t think of any movie where he doesn’t get one. At times his acting in Bad Little is very good but I do not recommend this movie. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

After the Wedding

Still thinking about it.

(Edit) 07/12/2019

I saw After the Wedding a few years ago. I love Suzanne Bier’s movies and this one stars two of my fave actors, Mads Mikkelsen and Rolf Lassgard. I watched it again last week. This is a movie that keeps playing in my head weeks after seeing it. I love the way that you are led to think of the characters one way and later realise that you misjudged them. The other reviewers have described the movie much better than I can. I highly recommend it. I still plan to watch the American remake because of the lead actresses but there is no way it could compare with this lovely movie. I loved it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Shoplifters

Still thinking about it days later.

(Edit) 23/11/2019

I totally agree with the other reviews. This is an absolutely marvellous movie, an in depth character study of an assembled family. They are not related but they are drawn together, live in tiny cramped rooms and show great affection to one another. It is definitely not a US nor UK movie because no one gets a happy ending. This is a heartbreakingly lovely tragedy. I loved the camera that lingers on the sweet faces. The acting and directing are precise. I want to watch all of Koreeda’s movies. The other reviewers have described the movie much better than I am able so I will just say I highly recommend it. 

  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

My Brilliant Friend

Brill!

(Edit) 16/11/2019

This first series of My Brilliant Friend truly captures the story told in the book. The book comes to life. I was happy to see that the author, Ferrante, was one of the 4 script writers. Casting, acting, sets, costumes all perfect. I think the episodes would appeal to those who haven’t read the books but for those like me who have read them, this series will delight. I wouldn’t change a thing. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Darling

An absolutely perfect movie.

(Edit) 04/11/2019

Darling is one of my fave movies & I watch it again every few years. Everything so well thought out. Brilliant script, directing, cast, sets, costumes. Heartbreaking story with young Julie Christie, Dirk Bogarde and Laurence Harvey. Perfectly cast. Darling and Midnight Cowboy two masterpieces by John Schlesinger. The story is told in an interview with Diana (Julie Christie) who is an unreliable narrator. She takes the interviewer from her childhood to her first interview for a TV show, her modelling career, affairs and reinventions. There are breathtaking scenes with acting as good as it gets. I absolutely love a Darling and highly recommend.   

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Evening

Should have been brill

(Edit) 14/10/2019

Hmmm why didn’t this work? Excellent cast. Good roles, somewhat interesting story but it just felt flat. I did like the vintage clothing from wedding party in the 50’s. I thought oh maybe it is just me with a short attention span for most romantic stories. Then I read Roger Ebert’s  absolutely hilarious review. He felt the same was as I did, just that he of course was able to describe it SO much better than I possibly could. Not a bad movie, just strangely dull. It was fun to see a younger Claire Danes before Homeland.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

First Reformed

Can God forgive us

(Edit) 13/10/2019

The movie is a vehicle for Ethan Hawk. His subtle acting conveys the world weary weight of the priest. Not an easy watch because the themes are huge issues such as climate change, pollution, corporate greed, depression, suicide, alcoholism and despair. One line really made an impression on me. A young man who has lost all hope asks the priest, “...can God forgive us for what we have done to this planet?” Important and brave for the movie to wrestle with these issues.

I thought the disc was damaged because the beginning of the film has a grinding noise but it stops as soon as there is speech. It is part of the film. Too bad it sounds like a problem with the dvd.

Cedric the Entertainer is also excellent.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Green Book

Absolutely brilliant

(Edit) 15/09/2019

I totally agree with the 5 star reviews. This is an amazing story, based on true story, written by Tony’s son, based on interviews with his father, family, letters his father wrote and from interviews with Dr. Shirley. I spent some time in Virginia during this period and nothing in the movie is exaggerated. Acting absolutely the best. I had seen the movie at the Cinema but wanted to see it again and to watch the special features (thank you Cinema Paradiso!). To me, this was a perfect movie. Tony’s son said that Viggo Mortensen’s portrayal of his father was so authentic it was almost scary. I highly recommend Green Book. 

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Silence

I wanted to like it

(Edit) 22/08/2019

I had high hopes for this movie having been born in Japan. After a while it just seemed endless, drifting and pointless. I got up and read the plot of the movie and thought okay now I know, so I need not watch. I agree that it could have been edited which surely would have made for a tighter more interesting movie. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The White Crow

Thrilling

(Edit) 22/08/2019

Having seen film clips and read about Nureyev and seen the documentary I Am A Dancer, I had looked forward to seeing The White Crow. First I watched the special features where I learned about the research to make the movie as authentic as possible. Casting was brilliant. There are moments, watching Oleg Ivenko, where he seems to actually hover, to float suspended in the air as Nureyev did. Though I knew the outcome, that he was given asylum, able to defect, still I felt the suspense. I think it is a must watch for ballet lovers but also to people who have never thrilled to a live performance. Simple moments, like when the camera is just played on the dancer’s feet, are remarkable, seeing the excruciating work to achieve perfect turnout. Also in the special features I learned that Oleg Ivenko after a 12-14 hour day of filming, still had to spend 2 hours exercising at the barre lest he get out of shape. Ralph Fiennes directed and acts as ballet master Pushkin. Loved it. 

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Exiles

Totally depressing

(Edit) 20/08/2019

Indians who grew up on reservations and are now unemployed alcoholics. Grim. Hopeless lives. No future.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fleabag: Series 1

Oddly interesting

(Edit) 09/08/2019

Not for the sexually squeamish. Odd, quirky, fierce, comic, heartbreaking. Sibling rivalry and great love. Using sex to alleviate loneliness. I had first read about the series in The New Yorker. I agree that each episode gets better so I am looking forward to series two.  I also wanted to watch because Phoebe Waller Bridge, the writer of King Eve, wrote and stars in Fleabag. Sian Clifford plays her tense driven sister. Olivia Coleman is marvellous as the mean self centred narcissistic wife of their father. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Horse's Mouth

I couldn’t get interested

(Edit) 08/08/2019

Maybe I just didn’t get it. Unlike movies that are as interesting now as when first shown, to me, this just doesn’t stand the test of time. I wanted it to be funny but it wasn’t. I tried to watch it but after about 20 minutes gave up. Maybe fans of Alec Guinness would appreciate it but I did not. Sorry. I found it boring. Hated the paintings too. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

American Animals

Wow! Incredible story.

(Edit) 04/08/2019

As with some of the others reviewers, I hadn’t heard of this story. Years ago I spent a few weeks at University if Kentucky & Transylvania University & remember the beauty of the campuses. Sadly I didn’t go to the library to see the books in the secure section. Amazing true story, not based on true story, but the real thing. It was interesting seeing the real men who committed the heist. Very well done.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Good Fight: Series 1

Loving it

(Edit) 31/07/2019

Binge watching. To me, this series is as compelling as The Good Wife. I like the court room scenes and the relationships in and out of work. I like that there are strong intelligent women characters with a good sense of humour and I like that this is a drama about blacks and whites. Lest I go through the series too quickly, I limit myself to 2 episodes a day. Looking forward to the next series. Well done.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
1234567

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month