Film Reviews by LH

Welcome to LH's film reviews page. LH has written 18 reviews and rated 29 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bus 174

Good film but

(Edit) 15/05/2021

I hadn’t heard of this true story before. The hijacker was killed by the police in the back of a police car. It’s a very interesting story, it tells an in depth story in relation to the terrible street kid life that led him to the hijack. However, the film is totally unbalanced. It doesn’t talk to any of the victims about the long term impact it had on their lives. I can imagine it ruined most of their lives and led to serious mental health issues, this wasn’t covered at all. That was wrong. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The True Legend of the Eiffel Tower

Dubbed!

(Edit) 05/05/2021

So sad I didn’t read the other review. It’s dubbed with an American. I want to practise French. Interestingly I read the only place Lupin on Netflix had to be dubbed was America. Very sad. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Secret Garden

Loved it

(Edit) 19/02/2021

I’m an adult. Thought this film was magical. Not that childish and a great watch for adults too. Very true to the original book, only a little CGI. Some top actors and a beautiful garden/outdoor scenes. Perfect feel-good film for lockdown. Also, great inspiration for anyone coming back from illness. Lovely. 

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Babyteeth

Disappointed

(Edit) 19/02/2021

As per previous reviewer. Didn’t live up to the Hype. Boring! Didn’t engage for me. Missed the mark. Little emotion until the end. In short, nothing much happens and it isn’t delicate enough to be a beautiful film. You don’t really buy into the sorrow, as it doesn’t engage until the very end. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

And Then We Danced

Didn’t hold my attention

(Edit) 15/12/2020

I watch many world films, but this just couldn’t hold my attention. Even a film making an important message should have some enjoyment factor.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Dog Called Money

Awful

(Edit) 22/04/2020

This got a very poor review by the Guardian. It is truly awful. Rarely do I turn off a film, but I did with this. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Rosie

Depressing

(Edit) 25/10/2019

Depressing film that may appeal to Leftie Guardian readers. That’s it. I can’t feel sorry for people than choose to have four kids when they have limited income. 

0 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Kindergarten Teacher

Really good

(Edit) 25/10/2019

Edgy but very watchable film, recommended to add to list. Maggie is amazing as lead actress. Great film.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

First Reformed

Excellent

(Edit) 25/10/2019

Always great to have a very watchable but arty film. Really engaging watch and a bit different. Definitely held my interest compared with so many rubbish modern films. 

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tolkien

Very enjoyable

(Edit) 07/10/2019

I really found this very watchable and a little emotional. I don’t know very much about Tolkein so didn’t have clue how much was artistic licence. 

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Le Joli Mai

No good

(Edit) 03/10/2019

I love France and I love the 1960s, but this is far too long, rambling and not particularly enjoyable. I like edgy films, but this isn’t even for me!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pin Cushion

Really enjoyed

(Edit) 24/09/2019

Good little British film. Would recommend a watch. Quite entertaining. Some low budget British films can just feel cheap. This was a good one though. 

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Certified Copy

Awful

(Edit) 24/09/2019

I think the Guardian gave this like one star. I usually check the Guardian reviews before watching any film. This was just a rubbish, not entertaining and stupid film. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Strangeways Here We Come

One of worst films ever seen

(Edit) 03/09/2019

Like it’s done by students. Truly awful. Like a very, very poor man’s Shameless. I love Shameless. Awful.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Thoroughbreds

Awful

(Edit) 15/03/2019

I want to be clear that I love independent films, but this was so incredibly boring. I didn’t like the way it was filmed, more like a home movie feeling. I felt I’d wasted an hour and a half of my life. Having said I like independent films, American ones seem very similar these days, not much of a storyline, always about dysfunctional youths and just a bit boring. This film was unwatchable though. Shame as the lead actress is a good actress, I enjoyed her in Vanity Fair on TV.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
12