Film Reviews by JB

Welcome to JB's film reviews page. JB has written 11 reviews and rated 10 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dark Waters

Gripping story

(Edit) 05/03/2021

The fact that this is a true story made it all the more poignant. We thought it was very well acted and it kept us engaged all the way through.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Favourite

Horrible film

(Edit) 26/02/2021

I foolishly thought this film would be good because Olivia Colman was in it. Of course she is a good actress but we were so disappointed with the film. It was difficult to understand some of the dialogue so we had to resort to subtitles. The story was very unpleasant and quite horrifying in places. The music score was very jarring, which went with the mood of the story I suppose.Not at all an enjoyable film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fracture

Anthony Hopkins at his evil best

(Edit) 19/01/2021

What a great film, it really should have had some awards. The film was riveting and kept us guessing right to the end.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Personal History of David Copperfield

Highly entertaining

(Edit) 02/11/2020

We really enjoyed watching this. It was a very imaginative adaptation of Dickens's original tale and I'm sure he would have appreciated it. I realise not everyone has the wit to understand it, but if you have a reasonable IQ level, give it a go. So good to watch something different. The acting was excellent.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Rocketman

Rocketman Rocks

(Edit) 14/09/2020

Fabulous film. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Great music, excellent acting and singing. I didn't know much about Elton's life apart from his songs, sad but fascinating story. I would love to see this as a musical on stage.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Red Sparrow

Best film we have watched for a long time

(Edit) 22/06/2020

This is a terrific film. Very violent but well done and the story line is excellent. It went along at a good pace and kept us guessing until the last few minutes.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Widows

Different Story

(Edit) 26/03/2020

This was so disappointing. I read the book and couldn't put it down, it was so good. The film bears very little resemblance to the book and the action jumps around so much it's confusing. Very bad screenwriting in my opinion. If you want to try this film don't read the book first!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Gifted

Very good film

(Edit) 18/02/2019

We really enjoyed watching this. Not quite a weepy. It's a good story and we thought the acting was excellent. Struggled a bit with the American drawl and had to put the subtitles on. Would definitely recommend it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sully

RIVETING

(Edit) 21/05/2018

Great film, quite an eye opener. Kept us enthralled throughout. Tom Hanks put in a very good performance, again.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

BRILLIANT FILM

(Edit) 20/11/2017

Pure escapism, great effects, we really enjoyed watching this. I'm not a Harry Potter fan but this was different, a simple story but very entertaining and had me laughing out loud. Eddie Redmayne was very very good.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Doctor Strange

Great entertainment

(Edit) 03/11/2017

The effects were impressive and we loved the humour in the film, which kept our interest. I chose it because I'm a Benedict Cumberbatch fan - not our usual sort of film but us two oldies enjoyed it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.