Film Reviews by DW

Welcome to DW's film reviews page. DW has written 50 reviews and rated 48 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Manchester by the Sea

Do yourself a favour by watching this cracking film, it's terrific!

(Edit) 07/03/2020

Faultless from start to finish, thought provoking, so totally realistic that I expected to see "Based on a true story" in the credits.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Amour

Just superb, I didn't want to miss a single second.

(Edit) 20/02/2020

A beautiful depiction of an elderly French couple's tragic journey through experiences never previously encountered. 100% realism.

I'm becoming a convert to World Cinema sub-titled films: their pace is often slow & dialogue is in short speeches so the sub-titles work splendidly.

Silent scenes call for the actors to "speak" via facial expressions or bodily movements & I enjoy interpreting their meaning.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Hijacking

This got my close attention, from start to finish.

(Edit) 20/02/2020

Despite the scenario "Ship is held to ransom by Somali pirates", there's no comic book hero to carry us through to a predictable conclusion. The atmosphere is fully realistic, especially the filming in the very restricted spaces on board: the camera man (or woman) must be extremely small!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In the Fade

A finale that's conclusive, clear & has "no-loose-ends". (Makes a change)!

(Edit) 18/02/2020

With some solid acting & a sectioned, sequential story line (no flashbacks, bloody or otherwise) this is a fine World Cinema watch albeit with a soft-propaganda message (clarified over the closing credits, in case we missed it).

I think I know how the British justice system works but I was fascinated to watch the section of this film devoted to German courtroom procedures which were the most enjoyable bits for me, quite an eye-opener. A few of the "you don't want to miss a word" courtroom speeches were both longish & fast & I felt the otherwise excellent sub-title function couldn't keep up; just me being picky, I suppose. See what you think.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Guardians

Slow but I like slow so that's ok for me.

(Edit) 16/02/2020

Modern slow-moving films intended for International distribution invariably have minimal dialogue in order to make them entirely compatible with sub-titles: good news for me because I can now enjoy a wide range of non-British films. (Consequently, it's become clear to me that "same old, same old" British films are being left behind in terms of entertainment value).

Minimal dialogue leans heavily on the need for more expressive & interpretive acting: this film is a strong example. From the audience's point of view, we're required to "understand" the film by closely watching the actors (rather than listening to them) & make our own judgements as to the message we're being given. A most enjoyable experience.

The ending felt like the end of a chapter but not the end of the book so I was happy to be left with my own ideas of what subsequently happened to who, when, why & how: a sort of thought provoking after-film guessing game.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Unknown Girl

I was transfixed by this film.

(Edit) 16/02/2020

Faultless acting, inspired direction. I've just watched a "This is how it's done" Masterclass.

A simple story line gave a range of actors a chance to show us the true realism of a slice of modern life: they didn't pass up the opportunity to raise the bar. British film makers, by comparison, are light years away from getting close to entertainment of this quality.

(How I wish UK doctors were as committed to patient well being as was depicted here).

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

World's Greatest Dad

I enjoyed it enormously; a clever combination of humour & pathos.

(Edit) 09/02/2020

Watching this versatile performance from Robin Williams was yet another confirmation of his apparently easy ability to shine. Sadly, we were not to know about his own inner demons. The final ultra-schmaltzy scene is a winner for me!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Keeper

Typical bargain basement British "entertainment.

(Edit) 08/02/2020

Sugar-coated, over- dramatised, populated by drama school drop-outs, child-like dialogue. The only good bits were the archive clips of real football games.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dark Horse

Absolutely terrific.

(Edit) 08/02/2020

This is a documentary, thankfully without a poncey presenter hogging the limelight. Instead, the very personable "talking heads" are some of the ordinary people who were fortunate enough to "ride" this wonderful roller-coaster journey. Top class home entertainment.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Guilty

A sub-titled Danish masterpiece.

(Edit) 31/10/2019

The other 5-star reviews are grossly understated! This terrific film is the first I've seen to be entirely set in a police emergency response room.

The sub-titles (something I normally avoid but will no longer do so) perfectly suited the dialogue: almost all the Danish words were in very short bursts so looked great in written English, especially when simultaneously showing dialogue from 2 people, i.e a question & the answer.

PS. Just kidding about the other 5 star reviews!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Filth

A load of old tosh.

(Edit) 30/10/2019

Don't bother to watch this rubbish. Why the makers thought we'd be entertained by this is a complete mystery to me.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Destroyer

Entertainment value: more than zero, less than 1.

(Edit) 27/10/2019

Rogue corrupt under-cover cop with mental & emotional problems goes out looking for revenge. Sound familiar?

Base-line film based on a generic story line, why did they bother to make it?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Night Of

Wonderfully memorable, 5 star entertainment.

(Edit) 25/10/2019

A respectable young man "borrows" his dad's car & we're treated to a domino-effect drama that involves the forces of crime, drugs, police, prison & the legal profession. Despite being an outstandingly good work of fiction, the realism accent is very strong. Even so, the final scene should raise a smile!

PS. This is said to be a re-make of a BBC effort called "Criminal Justice", typical wishy-washy BBC cop "drama". It seems this far superior American series was a collaboration with a BBC Worldwide arm & HBO in the States. Pity the BBC don't do this more often, I would then get better value for my licence fee.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

True stories are the best stories!

(Edit) 25/10/2019

This is a fictionalised version of a true story so it's truly unique. In recognition of the unusual nature of the subject matter, the filming is also non-conventional so if you like something very different then settle back to be richly rewarded.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Their Finest

No surprises here.

(Edit) 14/08/2019

If you watch it to the end (I didn't) you won't see any scenes that you haven't already seen many times over in other films.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
1234

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month