Film Reviews by DW

Welcome to DW's film reviews page. DW has written 75 reviews and rated 73 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Unknown Girl

I was transfixed by this film.

(Edit) 16/02/2020

Faultless acting, inspired direction. I've just watched a "This is how it's done" Masterclass.

A simple story line gave a range of actors a chance to show us the true realism of a slice of modern life: they didn't pass up the opportunity to raise the bar. British film makers, by comparison, are light years away from getting close to entertainment of this quality.

(How I wish UK doctors were as committed to patient well being as was depicted here).

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

World's Greatest Dad

I enjoyed it enormously; a clever combination of humour & pathos.

(Edit) 09/02/2020

Watching this versatile performance from Robin Williams was yet another confirmation of his apparently easy ability to shine. Sadly, we were not to know about his own inner demons. The final ultra-schmaltzy scene is a winner for me!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Keeper

Typical bargain basement British "entertainment.

(Edit) 08/02/2020

Sugar-coated, over- dramatised, populated by drama school drop-outs, child-like dialogue. The only good bits were the archive clips of real football games.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dark Horse

Absolutely terrific.

(Edit) 08/02/2020

This is a documentary, thankfully without a poncey presenter hogging the limelight. Instead, the very personable "talking heads" are some of the ordinary people who were fortunate enough to "ride" this wonderful roller-coaster journey. Top class home entertainment.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Guilty

A sub-titled Danish masterpiece.

(Edit) 31/10/2019

The other 5-star reviews are grossly understated! This terrific film is the first I've seen to be entirely set in a police emergency response room.

The sub-titles (something I normally avoid but will no longer do so) perfectly suited the dialogue: almost all the Danish words were in very short bursts so looked great in written English, especially when simultaneously showing dialogue from 2 people, i.e a question & the answer.

PS. Just kidding about the other 5 star reviews!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Filth

A load of old tosh.

(Edit) 30/10/2019

Don't bother to watch this rubbish. Why the makers thought we'd be entertained by this is a complete mystery to me.

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Destroyer

Entertainment value: more than zero, less than 1.

(Edit) 27/10/2019

Rogue corrupt under-cover cop with mental & emotional problems goes out looking for revenge. Sound familiar?

Base-line film based on a generic story line, why did they bother to make it?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Night Of

Wonderfully memorable, 5 star entertainment.

(Edit) 25/10/2019

A respectable young man "borrows" his dad's car & we're treated to a domino-effect drama that involves the forces of crime, drugs, police, prison & the legal profession. Despite being an outstandingly good work of fiction, the realism accent is very strong. Even so, the final scene should raise a smile!

PS. This is said to be a re-make of a BBC effort called "Criminal Justice", typical wishy-washy BBC cop "drama". It seems this far superior American series was a collaboration with a BBC Worldwide arm & HBO in the States. Pity the BBC don't do this more often, I would then get better value for my licence fee.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

True stories are the best stories!

(Edit) 25/10/2019

This is a fictionalised version of a true story so it's truly unique. In recognition of the unusual nature of the subject matter, the filming is also non-conventional so if you like something very different then settle back to be richly rewarded.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Their Finest

No surprises here.

(Edit) 14/08/2019

If you watch it to the end (I didn't) you won't see any scenes that you haven't already seen many times over in other films.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Leave No Trace

It's reassuring to know that there's room in the modern film industry for gems like this.

(Edit) 04/08/2019

From an ultra-slow start to a thought provoking finish, this film brings total entertainment. I knew nothing of the director, Debra Granik but I know that I'll enjoy her other films. Perfect casting; I normally shy away from a cast list of unknown names but I'm glad I didn't fall into that trap this time. In fact, there was only one familiar face throughout the entire film..............which I did not want to end!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Rillington Place

Turgid BBC drama.

(Edit) 31/05/2019

Only the BBC drama department can take a fascinating true crime scenario & turn into unwatchable rubbish.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hope Springs

What a wonderful entertainment this film is.

(Edit) 18/05/2019

***The end is NOT the end! Keep watching whilst the closing credits roll by: you will see a mini-sequel.***

Terrific restrained performances from Meryl Streep & Tommy Lee Jones: we're used to seeing these two going at it full throttle to portray the extremes of their characterisations but both actors have dialled it right down to create this fine film. Their superlative acting was a fitting response to a non-formulaic story line. (I was greatly amused by the corgi dog woman: see if you agree with me)!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Negotiator

Pretty boring, totally predictable.

(Edit) 27/05/2019

Zero out of 10 for originality.

Wisely, you may not have watched this particular film before but you will recognise oh-so-familiar scenes from other films & hear dialogue that is best described as "Here's some I made before". You know you're in uninspired company when an alcoholic character is seen pouring a bottle of booze down the sink merely to indicate to us that he is resolved to kick the habit.

Pathetic!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Conspiracy

Almost too painful to watch.

(Edit) 26/04/2019

I'm unable to add anything to the millions of words already spoken about the horrific awfulness of The Final Solution, as it was called. Suffice to say that accurate though the title "Conspiracy" is, I feel "Revulsion" would be far more accurate.

20 or more old-ish men sitting around a table talking about something on which they already (to greater or lesser degree) already agree. Where's the cinematic value in that? I wonder why anybody bothered to make this film. At a push, it may have made a reasonably good radio play because the visuals were non-existent.

Some weird casting was a slight distraction for me whilst waiting for the closing credits to finally roll by. Poor old StanleyTucci was reined in completely: I wonder why he decided to accept a role so undeserving of his fine acting abilities. And who'd of thought it in a film as sinister as this one, up pops the big corpulent bloke who plays the village idiot in the the TV series "Doc Martin". His agent must be one hell of a salesman.

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.
12345