Film Reviews by OL

Welcome to OL's film reviews page. OL has written 27 reviews and rated 35 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Edge of Extinction

Overly long

(Edit) 19/07/2022

Set 15 years after a nuclear war. This is not mad max. But rather a wet day at the seaside with some action sequences. Avoid. I do not see any politics in it but rather a poor attempt at a post apopaclyptic film with minor horror sequences.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Battle of Britain

Battle of Britain (1969) - Great war film with all star cast

(Edit) 14/06/2020

This Battle of Britain has the most accurate time line. Made before CGI using real ME 109s , Heinkels HE111s, Spitfires and Hurricanes No CGI. Unfortunately, this meant it lost money as on the time asVietnam. If you want large explosions and the US won the war choose a modern film, If you want realism choose this. Film consultants include Adolf Galland and Douglas Bader. Gives a real scope of the size of the battles. as well as the human losses.

An all star cast including Laurence Olivier in probably his last large film, Michael Cain, Trevor Howard, Curd Jurgens. Probably the largest list since the The Longest Day in 1962. Worth at least one watch.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Iron Sky: The Coming Race

Iron Sky 2

(Edit) 01/08/2021

Total Rubbish. Written by Idiots for Idiots. Poorly constructed script. It would of been easier to use a script such as Nazis from Atlantis. Uses every conspiracy theory going. With 19th century Vrill beliefs, Hole in earth, Steve Jobs, Stalin. Hitler et al as aliens. The first film required an absence of common sense. This film requires requires an absense of intellect.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tango One

Awful

(Edit) 17/06/2021

Vincent Regan stars in this generic gangster movie. He tries to be the good guy by claiming crime is just a business. Better crime films out there.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Play Dirty

Play Dirty

(Edit) 17/06/2021

Based around the exploits of the Long Range Desert Group and Popskis Private Army who used similar tactics against Rommel in WW2. Nigel Green as David Stirling, Stirling actually got involved in the fighting....

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Enemy at the Door

Good series. Should of made series 3...

(Edit) 26/01/2021

Set in WW2 Guernsey it charts the occupation from collaboration, fraternisation etc which occurs in occupied countries. This is not an action series but a series about the lives of the Islanders.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Essex Boys

Essex Boys - A film on the Rettenden murders

(Edit) Updated 24/11/2020

Essex Boys is a mediocre fictional film based on the Rettendon murders. Script is adequate if you think swearing in every sentence is a requirement. The Bank Job with Jason Statham is far better.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Downton Abbey

Downton Abbey- A missed opportunity

(Edit) Updated 24/11/2020

Watched the series and the film. Felt is was a missed opportunity. The attempted assassination build up could of been better. Too many actors involvement, felt like cameos just to remind you they were in the original series. On the second film, spend more time on the script.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Midway

More action than strategy

(Edit) 06/10/2020

Too much special effects also tried to cram in too much. Tried to include Pearl Harbour - Tora, Tora does it better, the Doolittle Raid is mentioned. Should of included more on on the planning like the 1976 Film. Too much action, not enough background info. Very realistic on details though.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Rebel Without a Cause

Over rated

(Edit) 21/09/2020

Whilst it may of been shocking at the time. It now sees a bit dated. Basically a bunch of teenage delinquents with James Dean trying to stay out of trouble.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Guns of Navarone

The Guns of Navarone -

(Edit) 07/07/2020

British Commandos raid a Greek island to destroy a target stopping an evacuation of Allied troops. The star is Gregory Peck with a supporting cast of David Niven, Anthony Quinn, Anthony Quayle, Stanley Baker and an early role for Richard Harris. Walter Gotell in something apart from James Bond and 1940s war films.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Journey's End

Journeys End -

(Edit) 06/07/2020

If you are looking for an action film this is not it. Cannot compare it to the original play. More about the sacrifice of the soldiers in the front. Was the basis for Aces High.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

On the Waterfront

On the Waterfront - Classic Elia Kazan film about trade union corruption

(Edit) Updated 06/07/2020

A great film with Marlon Brando and Eva Marie Saint in her first film role. Rod Steiger in a supporting role. Lifts a lid on the mob link with the Unions. Onto the film. Perhaps overrated like Marlon Brando.

A bit slow to get into but classic lines more than make for it. Film lovers should watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hannibal

Hannibal- A disappointment

(Edit) 30/06/2020

The second of Anthony Hopkins Lecter films, this is probably the worst. It seems to exchange plot lines for gore. Gary Oldman's part as the 4th victim was not used properly. His ending- Being pushed to be eaten by pigs was the worst ending for a villain. Jullian Moore replaces Foster. Unfortunately, she seems to confident where as Jodie Foster was a unconfident probationary FBI agent now she is too confident gung ho character which is the opposite of the Silence of the Lambs performance. Ray Liotta inclusion was a bit pointless. A disappointment compared to Silence of the Lambs or Red Dragon.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

The Good, the bad and the Ugly

(Edit) 23/06/2020

The problem with the the Man with no name series is that Leone uses the same actor for multiple characters. Lee Van Cleef is a different character, Leone originally wanted Charles Bronson in Lee Van Cleefs's role. It does not adequately explain it in the film. As much as Lee Van Cleef is a good actor I feel a totally different actor would be better.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12