Film Reviews by AS

Welcome to AS's film reviews page. AS has written 35 reviews and rated 46 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Let the Sunshine In

Terrible Film

(Edit) 31/12/2019

This is an appalling film, despite Juliette Binoche's best efforts. The scriptwriter needs to be put out to pasture and left there. There is a positive note in the last scene where Binoche's character receives the wise advice to go within herself to find solutions to her life challenges, rather than searching for a new lover as "the answer".

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Aquarius

A Blend of soft Porn and Mediocre Drama

(Edit) 27/12/2019

One of the worst films I have ever sat through for its utter lack of talent coupled with poor taste. How anybody could give this film 5 stars is a mystery.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Salting the Battlefield

An outstanding conclusion to the trilogy

(Edit) 10/11/2019

An outstanding cast bring out the fine nuances in David Hare's brilliant spy story. An exciting and unexpected conclusion to the story unfolding from Page Eight through Turks and Caicos. Strongly recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Brad's Status

Boring and Unispiring Film

(Edit) 06/11/2019

Stiller's character is more in need of a therapist to listen to his ramblings than a cinema audience. Avoid this film ...

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Breathe

Outstanding Drama

(Edit) 23/10/2019

An upbeat dramatisation of a potentially difficult subject of human physical paralysis. Outstanding acting allows us to appreciate the human spirit rising above a tragedy. Brilliant film ....

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

After the Storm

Well acted family drama

(Edit) 03/10/2019

A film for viewers with patience and some ability to accept major imperfections in the characters. But the story surprises with some good insights into the mysteries of personal relationships.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

An Angel at My Table

A Depressing Saga

(Edit) 22/09/2019

What is the point of making a sometimes violent and depressing film, which moves at the pace of a snail? I empathize with what the heroine went through with the appalling abuse by the quacks in the medical "profession", who produced new levels of torture to inflict on this most talented writer. A film for literary masochists only. Such a disappointment.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Durrells: Series 4

Heartwarming and very Entertaining

(Edit) 15/06/2019

The ongoing adventures of the Durrell family provide a delightful story, with many laughs and gasps. Exceptionally well produced and acted, this series can be re-watched with great enjoyment.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tanamera: Series

A well produced film which lacks character

(Edit) 02/06/2019

The story became boring, despite good acting performances. I really could not find anything of interest after the second episode.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Gloria

One of the most boring films we have ever watched

(Edit) 17/04/2019

A film with a badly written screenplay about boring people stumbling around and learning nothing. Not worth watching.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Lost in Paris

Hilariously Funny

(Edit) 16/04/2019

A happy and very amusing film which carried me along in cheerful mode. Yes, it has some hints of Monsieur Hulot but goes off along its own original path.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

1900

A beautifully filmed but weak story

(Edit) 09/04/2019

The director was so self-indulgent as to not edit all the scenes he shot. So it runs for an unbelievable 345 minutes.He exalts the Communist factions while denigrating the Fascist Blackshirts, while anybody who has suffered under a murderous communist regime knows that their is little difference for the victims or others who may oppose the dictatorship.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

I Am Not a Witch

This is not Entertainment

(Edit) 26/02/2019

However authentic the story maybe, it is not rewarding to watch except, perhaps, for a documentary function or to reassure women all over that they too are really victims of men.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Julieta

Appallingly Boring and self-indulgent

(Edit) 07/02/2019

Don't waste your viewing time with this non-entity. There is nothing to engage with if you are looking for a quiet, sensitive film and certainly nothing happens in general.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sphere: Special Edition

A politically correct Hollywood film which lacks meaning

(Edit) 28/01/2019

Very disappointing for a film directed by Barry Levinson and starring Dustin Hoffman. Implausible hi-tech scenario and inconsistent narrative, with ghastly music half drowning out the often poor diction of the actors.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
123

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month