Film Reviews by AS

Welcome to AS's film reviews page. AS has written 42 reviews and rated 53 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sick Note: Series 1

An Abominable and Tasteless attempt at comedy

(Edit) 18/05/2020

One can suppose that there are some people who watched this series and enjoyed the non-stop foul language and sewer-level characters who lie, cheat and deceive each other with ever greater intensity, but this household was not among them. What a waste of potentially good acting talent.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

A Remarkable Story

(Edit) 18/04/2020

The film is exceptional in its plot and how it has been produced. Brilliant low key acting which could be used by drama schools! The end leaves us to imagine our own conclusion from a situation of a totally unexpected alliance. One of the best films I have watched this year.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Official Secrets

Brilliant Political/spy Drama

(Edit) 10/03/2020

How refreshing to watch a brilliant production based on an outstanding true story about the detection and exposure of political corruption of the highest degree. Hint: think tony Blair.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Little Drummer Girl

Below Standard for a John Le Carre story

(Edit) 05/03/2020

Well filmed and produced, I found the characters superficial and hard to believe in. The Israelis were accurately portrayed as ruthless thugs and the Palestinians as the underdogs fighting back. But I lost interest in the espionage theatre. Quite disappointing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Liverpool

Self Indulgence by the Director coupled with close to zero content

(Edit) 13/02/2020

If you are interested in the extreme boredom of the crew's life on a merchant ship, this is the film for you. This level of emptiness is maintained when the lead character visits his parents and nothing happens. If you desperately want to experience this film, it's best to keep your finger on the fast forward button.

The whole content could be put into a short film of 15 minutes or so, rather than the painfully stretched 80 minutes of this unfortunate creation.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Manifest: Series 1

An outstanding Thriller in Depth

(Edit) 28/01/2020

A thriller where the characters are well defined and totally believable. The plot has many subtleties yet maintains its forward progress admirably.

There are a good number of exciting climaxes to contrast with the moments of feeling and depth.

Can't wait for the second series ...

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Thelma

New Depths in Scandinavian Depression

(Edit) 27/01/2020

A well acted but excruciatingly boring and depressing film. If you enjoy watching lesbians, you may get a thrill but otherwise this is a plodder's nightmare.

The original part of the story is in the treatment of Thelma's supernatural powers to get rid of people who stand in her way or otherwise annoy her -- particularly if they are male. Apparently she inherited this talent from her grandmother. So Thelma turns out to be morally deadbeat as well as a lesbian.

Well worth a miss ....

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Let the Sunshine In

Terrible Film

(Edit) 31/12/2019

This is an appalling film, despite Juliette Binoche's best efforts. The scriptwriter needs to be put out to pasture and left there. There is a positive note in the last scene where Binoche's character receives the wise advice to go within herself to find solutions to her life challenges, rather than searching for a new lover as "the answer".

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Aquarius

A Blend of soft Porn and Mediocre Drama

(Edit) 27/12/2019

One of the worst films I have ever sat through for its utter lack of talent coupled with poor taste. How anybody could give this film 5 stars is a mystery.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Salting the Battlefield

An outstanding conclusion to the trilogy

(Edit) 10/11/2019

An outstanding cast bring out the fine nuances in David Hare's brilliant spy story. An exciting and unexpected conclusion to the story unfolding from Page Eight through Turks and Caicos. Strongly recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Brad's Status

Boring and Unispiring Film

(Edit) 06/11/2019

Stiller's character is more in need of a therapist to listen to his ramblings than a cinema audience. Avoid this film ...

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Breathe

Outstanding Drama

(Edit) 23/10/2019

An upbeat dramatisation of a potentially difficult subject of human physical paralysis. Outstanding acting allows us to appreciate the human spirit rising above a tragedy. Brilliant film ....

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

After the Storm

Well acted family drama

(Edit) 03/10/2019

A film for viewers with patience and some ability to accept major imperfections in the characters. But the story surprises with some good insights into the mysteries of personal relationships.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

An Angel at My Table

A Depressing Saga

(Edit) 22/09/2019

What is the point of making a sometimes violent and depressing film, which moves at the pace of a snail? I empathize with what the heroine went through with the appalling abuse by the quacks in the medical "profession", who produced new levels of torture to inflict on this most talented writer. A film for literary masochists only. Such a disappointment.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Durrells: Series 4

Heartwarming and very Entertaining

(Edit) 15/06/2019

The ongoing adventures of the Durrell family provide a delightful story, with many laughs and gasps. Exceptionally well produced and acted, this series can be re-watched with great enjoyment.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
123

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month