Film Reviews by KG

Welcome to KG's film reviews page. KG has written 12 reviews and rated 35 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Shooting Party

Authentic in regard to acting and scenes.

(Edit) 31/12/2020

Well cast.  Countryside scenes well chosen and authentic.   Representation of the period generally excellent.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Edward and Caroline

Back to the Fifties

(Edit) 18/11/2020

When this film appeared in the early Fifties I was at university and it rapidly became a cult in so far as everyone I knew went to see it at the Arts Cinema.   What can be said about it now?  Only that they don't make 'em like that any more.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Favourite

Tedious

(Edit) 04/11/2020

Tedious and tiresome.  Ambitious, but to what end. Much of it shot in the dark. Little scope for the actors to develop their roles, indeed they ended just as they began.  So much was over the top, as with the incessant display of theatrical wigs, and the poor naked bloke being bombarded with fruit, and the emphasis on vomiting and close ups of other bodily functions.  Sitting through it was boring and stressful but highly unrewarding.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Magic Flute

Good concept

(Edit) 25/08/2020

To present The Magic Flute as to an audience of children was a good concept, and it was beautifully performed.   The fantasy of the trial scenes is notoriously hard to depict however, and in this version it did become somewhat incoherent.    Nevertheless, an interesting and worthy endeavour. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Little Women

Not the novel, sadly.

(Edit) Updated 25/08/2020

Disconnected from the novel, so It’s a disappointment to anyone hoping that it might actually be a version of the novel rather than the director's commentary on the novel.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Picnic on the Grass

Ghastly remake

(Edit) Updated 25/08/2020

Not the original film which was unfinished.   It's a ghastly remake.   Unfunny.  Film and dialogue are mysteriously fast.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mr. Smith Goes to Washington

A Classic.

(Edit) 17/03/2020

A Most Excellent film.   The USA has changed in various ways since then, but clearly not in all !   Jimmy Stewart at his memorable early best.   Jean Arthur also fine ( and no surprise that she was able later to reach her magnificent best in Shane ).   

We did actually find the final 10 minutes to be quite confusing however.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Artist

TopDog

(Edit) 12/11/2019

Very very clever.   We kept waiting for them to break into speech.  Consistently moving but surprising.  It would help to know more about the early cinema.   All this plus a remarkable award winning dog.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fanny and Alexander

Masterly direction

(Edit) 21/05/2019

3 hour version. Despite being diffuse and unpredictable throughout, I felt that at all times the director was able to achieve precisely the effects he was seeking, no matter how elaborate or complex his demands were. We knew we were in the hands of a confident master.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Bookshop

Riveting

(Edit) 01/05/2019

We enjoyed this even more than Penelope Fitzgerald's novel. Riveting playing by Bill Nighy who is never afraid of being still and by Emily Mortimer. Enhanced by the calm, unhurried tempo, free from irrelevant distractions such as intrusive music. And free from the trendy sensationalism so prevalent in current American/English cinema.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Gosford Park

Gosford Park

(Edit) 01/05/2018

Interesting and pleasantly meandering film. Main problem was inaudibility. Many lines were thrown away as passing comments with the actors turned partly away from the audience, except of course for Clive Owen and Kristin Scott-Thomas.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

My Night with Maud

Only the French

(Edit) 15/12/2017

Only the French make films like this. A leisured development, yet utterly watchable throughout. Thoughtful dialogue and no sensational incidents in the plot.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month