Film Reviews by Jamielou

Welcome to Jamielou's film reviews page. Jamielou has written 12 reviews and rated 23 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Exterminator

Dated but still effective

(Edit) 23/03/2021

I think this was probably the first VHS I rented back in the early 80’s and I remembered parts of it,  but seeing it again was very worthwhile.  It’s still quite effective in its shockability although I wouldn’t put it in the same category as some of the other “video nasties” of the early 80’s.  Story is pretty basic, man’s friend gets paralysed by a criminal gang and he seeks to hand out his own justice, not only to the gang but to other lowlifes he meets along the way.  Some of the killing methods are quite inventive for the time.  The film has a lot more depth than you would think, and there are some nice extras on the disc.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wild Target

Excellent British film

(Edit) 16/03/2021

Saw a preview of this on a trailer for something else and was surprised I'd never heard of it before as it came out a while ago. It's a decent film, shades of Grosse Point Blank which is never a bad thing. Bill Nighy is excellent as a hitman who can't quite bring himself to fulfill his latest job, and the rest of the cast is excellent including some "cameos" of people you'd never expect in this kind of film. Well worth a look and would definitely watch it again.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Birds of Prey

Another bad Gotham film...

(Edit) 22/01/2021

I watched Suicide Squad and wasn’t very impressed with that, but DC pulled me in with Aquaman and Wonder Woman, even Justic League was pretty good.  In the league of Batman related items there have been the good (TV’s Gotham, Batman Begins), bad and truly awful.  This is somewhere between the latter two, the premise is OK but the delivery lacks anything to really engross yourself in.  Harley Quinne is a decent enough character, even if she is overacted by Robbie, but the support cast is just... hmmm.  Victor Zazz could have been better, like he was in the Gotham show.  In short see this is you’re desperate and have 90 minutes to waste, but seriously check out Gotham.  It’s a visual treat.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

To Wong Foo, Thanks for Everything! Julie Newmar

Love this film

(Edit) 19/01/2021

Amazing to think this came out almost 30 years ago and to see how attitudes have changed since.  The three characters are amazing with just the right balance between pathos and empathy.  To summarise the three “queens” win a trip to Hollywood but decide to buy an old car and drive rather than go in luxury.  Along the way they break down in a back woods town and slowly proceed to change attitudes with every click of their heels.  The film is very funny and makes some social points subtly but effectively.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dolittle

Loved it!

(Edit) 19/10/2020

I wasn't really expecting much from this film as I thought the preview scenes were pretty bad, however they are possibly the worst part of the film. Sure it's a preposterous storyline but it worked for me and the CGI animals are fantastic. I would say just turn your brain off and go and enjoy it!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Rambo: Last Blood

Dumb bloody fun :)

(Edit) 11/09/2020

It's Rambo, come on! I had never seen a Rambo film until the last one in 2008 which I thoroughly enjoyed. I didn't quite know what to expect from this one but it's stupid, the plot is an excuse for more violence and I really enjoyed it. Without giving anything away basically it's a revenge movie, and we all know how those end up. Stallone is his usual slow talking violent self and it's very inventive in showing new ways for people to die horribly so if that's your thing, fill yer boots!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

31

Zombie fare

(Edit) 28/04/2020

I've been a fan of Rob Zombie since the White Zombie days and I loved House of 1000 Corpses, when I eventually managed to track it down... Fair play to him, he's managed to make a lot of what he is, which is horror, gore and all things associated with it. I even liked his remake of Hallowe'en, the first one anyway. However I thought the Devil's Rejects was awful, but being (not very loosely) based on Texas Chainsaw Massacre I wasn't surprised because I thought that was awful as well. So I approached this as a fan, but not expecting very much, and for the first 20 minutes or so I wasn't impressed. But.. it does get better, if you like this kind of thing, which is pretty much mindless gore, and some let's say eccentric characters. There is a plot (people get kidnapped by weirdos, forced to play a game to survive.. so pretty much Saw really), and there is a lot of gore, and a lot of swearing. Whether you think it's worth your 90 minutes or so... depends on how appealing you found his previous movies, and the Saw films (and that genre), if you liked them, you may like this. If not, probably best giving it a swerve.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Murder on the Orient Express

Liked it a lot

(Edit) 14/01/2020

This film seems to be getting a lot of negative reviews and I don't understand why. I thought it was a decent film, Branagh plays Poirot very well and the supporting cast are mostly excellent. Quite a few twists and turns as with most Agatha Christie films! Well worth seeing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Man from U.N.C.L.E.

Better than I was expecting

(Edit) 26/11/2019

Whilst this film wasn't totally mind-blowing it was much better than I was expecting, which is why I didn't see it at the cinema. I didn't even know Guy Ritchie directed it, but you can tell it's one of his (better) films pretty much instantly. The 2 leads work well together, the plot's a bit all over the place but the action is pretty good, reminds me of the Mission: Impossible films, which isn't a bad thing. Shame if there weren't any more films in the (new) UNCLE series, this stands up pretty well against the originals and they made quite a few in that series!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Kung Fu Panda 3

Enjoyable follow up

(Edit) 18/11/2019

Wasn't too sure on renting this as I wasn't really keen on the previous one. This one stretches the formula a little and visually it's pretty good, the story's a bit tricky to follow, especially for younger kids, but it's a decent way to spend and hour and a half.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Interstellar

Much too long!

(Edit) 13/11/2019

When I looked at this film before watching I was amazed how long the running time was. My attention span is pretty limited so a film has to be exceptional to hold my interest for 2 1/2 hours plus, and whilst this has good parts to it overall it wasn't quite gripping enough for me to be totally taken in. It's a decent enough film with a good story, but it's just too long!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Kid Who Would Be King

Enjoyable romp

(Edit) 25/09/2019

I have to admit I knew nothing about this film before it arrived and was a bit ho-hum about watching it, but I'm glad I did. OK the story is obviously ridiculous, but the film is fun and the special effects are very well done, I'm guessing it's aimed squarely at kids (which I'm not..) and for me some things would scare me if I were early teens (or younger!). The young actors are very good, and Louis looks so much like his dad! If you have slightly elder kids they'd enjoy it and you probably would too if you like fantasy type films, give it a watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.