Film Reviews by None

Welcome to None's film reviews page. None has written 14 reviews and rated 1015 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Walking on Sunshine

Silly but its fun!

(Edit) 05/02/2015

I don't care what the critics and other reviewers say about this film, it was silly, it made me chuckle and it was fun to watch.

And yes, it was predictable, and yes it was a simple story, but who cares there were no big names in the film, and the stars could actually sing! if you enjoy 80's songs and just wish to sit back and not take anything seriously then give it a go!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Cashback

Worth a watch

(Edit) 21/01/2015

First off, I enjoyed the film more than I expected. A young art student breaks up with his girlfriend because he feels he won't make her happy, as a result, he suffers from insomnia and gets a job at a local supermarket to kill time and pursue his 'art' to celebrate? the the female form (and this perhaps is where the film feels a little more like one for the boys). Here he not only falls for the beautiful Sharon (Emilia Fox) but retreats into his imagination to freeze moments in time. There are numerous scenes of female nudity but I felt at least they were not gratuitous and there were some genuine funny moments. Overall a very enjoyable low budget movie.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Under the Skin

Obsessed with Scarlett

(Edit) 26/11/2014

I had looked forward to receiving this film but was sorely disappointed. It felt like I was watching both the writers and director indulgence with SJ. The central character failed to engage me throughout, it was supposed to be an alien's view of earth and yet she spent the whole film seducing young men to consume and survive. Where was the story? Where was the character development? For me a wasted opportunity particularly having persuaded a leading actress to star in the film.

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Gravity

Another Space Void

(Edit) 22/06/2014

I despair at American popular cinema. The scriptwriters for these so called 'blockbusters' seem to constantly rely on visual stimulus to the almost pathetic attempt at generating any emotional drama. Result - yet another boring, unemotional, ridiculous storyline to create a disaster movie for the sake of creating a disaster movie! American independent cinema can be so much more interesting.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Gosford Park

Disappointing

(Edit) 08/12/2013

With such an exceptional British cast I thought this cannot go wrong but although the acting was superb and Altman captured the 'business' of the servants, the film lacked a focus until a murder was finally revealed. I found the characters did what they could with the script but no real warmth developed between them and I felt it lacked an emotional impact, which coupled with an aimless storyline, the film was almost about nothing but the daily lives of those 'upstairs' and those 'downstairs'. Could have been much, much more!

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Romantics Anonymous

Wonderfully quirky

(Edit) 07/03/2013

No-one can produce quirky romantic comedy like the french. If you loved Amelie you will love this film. The two leads play painfully shy and anxious people that come together through their love of chocolate. Simple story, its all been done before but who cares its a wonderful, funny, quirky film with the right ending!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Green Hornet

Aka The Green Yawn-it

(Edit) 21/07/2012

With the Superhero genre coming thick and fast this one should have stayed on the cutting room floor. Seth Rogen (who starred & co-wrote the film) basically plays himself. Too much schoolboy humour, too much of his fave word s..t, too little style, too little chemistry between the leads resulting in a cringeworthy film with oh so much unoriginality. Wait for it to come on TV (but have a standby ready)

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Dark Is Rising

Tired Good v. Evil Flick

(Edit) 11/03/2009

Apart from trying to compete with umpteen good-v-evil films, this film suffered from 2 major problems. Firstly, for a 'family' film it is a little scary in parts for smaller children but not scary enough for adults, and secondly, the acting (apart from Ian MacShane) was unconvincing particularly in the leading parts.

A laboured film that didn't really know which audience to target.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Journey to the Center of the Earth

Stay at Home

(Edit) 06/03/2009

Dreadful remake of the infinitely better original. Lacks depth, originallity, too much time spent on effects and not on the story.

Don't bother unless you suffer from insomnia!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Across the Universe

The Beatles Refreshed!

(Edit) 16/07/2008

If you enjoy characters bursting into a Beatles song midway through a scene, a beautiful but unlikely love story, brief reminders of 1960's events and nothing too deep, then this is one of the most refreshing and unexpected films I have seen year.

I will admit I am a fan of Julie Taymor (Director) & the writers, Dick Clement & Ian le Frenais, but the film was beautifully shot & acted with no big names in the lead parts, Eddie Izzard & Bono doing a couple of cameo spots and a few nods at rock stars of the time.

A refreshing change which I really enjoyed.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer

Fantastic Bore!

(Edit) 07/05/2008

I remember reading the Fantastic Four comics as a kid and loved them. Unfortunately this hasn't translated itself onto the big screen. I found the characters even more irritating than in the first film, the storyline was flawed from the start, and the evil baddies just didn't do it for me. Hopefully this will be the last in the F4 series.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Frida

Great Performances

(Edit) 22/03/2008

This is the real life story of Frida Kahlo (Salma Hayek), the determined and uniquely talented Mexican artist. It follows her life from a student through her marriage to Diego Rivera (Alfred Molina), her crippling life long injury from a tram accident and her numerous bisexual affairs to her death.

I knew nothing about Frida Kahlo before I saw this film, so was unsure what to expect. If you enjoy biopics and strong performances, then don't miss it! It left me wanting to find out more about Frida Kahlo

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

300

Visually Stunning

(Edit) 23/03/2008

The story is simple - 300 Spartans have to hold off the numerically superior Persian army. The film is excellently put together, the graphics are top notch, the actors & characters are convincing tinging on the gothic but the end result is a powerfully visual film. I'm not a big fan of graphic violence but this kept me (and my partner) gripped to the end.

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Il Postino

Stamped with Love

(Edit) 23/03/2008

A wonderful romance, excellently acted with a gentle humour running throughout. Yes, it has subtitles but it really is worth getting past them because this is a film to curl up on the sofa with a glass of wine. A gem!

6 out of 6 members found this review helpful.