Film Reviews by SD

Welcome to SD's film reviews page. SD has written 9 reviews and rated 14 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Christopher Robin

A gentle watch

(Edit) 29/05/2020

Watched this with my 13 year old son, I think it was a bit too young for him, probably best for under 10's. I have fond memories of enjoying the Pooh stories from my childhood so that is what made me want to watch this film. It was not as good as I thought it would be and I felt that Christopher Robin was miscast. We did both enjoy it though but its not a film I would watch more than once!.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Replicas

Enjoyable watch

(Edit) 25/05/2020

Watched this film with my 13 year old son. If you just watch and don't get caught up with, is this really possible, then you will enjoy it. My son really liked it and I don't think it deserves such bad reviews. Acting is not Oscar standard but we did like this film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

On Chesil Beach

Interesting film.

(Edit) 25/05/2020

This film was a little slow in parts but overall I am glad I watched it, good acting and an interesting story about young love and how it sometimes doesn't always go to plan!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dune

Unwatchable

(Edit) Updated 07/05/2020

Tried to watch this but turned off after an hour, really rather boring and not worth watching in my opinion.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Stan and Ollie

Surprisingly enjoyable

(Edit) 25/04/2020

Has this film on the side to watch for ages but never got round to it as I thought it wasn't my thing, I ended up watching it twice! I didnt know anything about stan and Ollie so watching this film was a real eye opener. Amazing acting, fantastic costumes and effects, would recommend!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Simple Favour

Worth a watch!

(Edit) 11/02/2020

Enjoyed this film, lots of twists and turns, sometimes a bit unbelievable but that all adds to the fun. The two female leads were very good.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Mercy

Interesting story

(Edit) 05/02/2020

I had never heard of this man and his story, interesting watch, Colin Firth is very good in it. Film was a bit too long however as most films tend to be now, lost my attention a little towards the end. Would recommend to you to watch this if you like films based on true stories.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The House with a Clock in Its Walls

Disappointing watch

(Edit) 05/02/2020

This film looked good via the trailer however I was disappointed with it, it didn't keep my attention at at all. Would not recommend this film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Bookshop

Nice gentle storytelling

(Edit) 14/07/2019

I watched this twice and picked up a lot more of the finer details on 2nd viewing. If you like films that are fast paced and lots of action this is not for you. Good acting from the leads. I was drawn to this film as I love books and I wasn't disappointed in my choice.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.