Film Reviews by None

Welcome to None's film reviews page. None has written 25 reviews and rated 37 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Adventures of Tintin: Vol.5

Beware NOT The Original Belvision Shows

(Edit) 15/09/2006

If like me you have fond memeories of the Tintin cartoons from the 70's as shown on the BBC (the Belvision shorts) you'll probably be disappointed with this as I was. Gone the loud booming "Herges Adventures Of Tintin..." introduction - shame! What really spoilt this for me was the change to American accents for the characters and I found Tintin's "new voice" to be particularly grating. Perhaps an even worse crime against the show is the replacement of the Thompson Twins posh but idiotic voices replaced by an accent that sounds like they're supposed to be Australian. Final nail in the coffin is the dreadful background music which is typical of rubbishy 80's cartoons. sure the drawings / animation is the same but I'm affraid coupled with the changes to the voices and backround music this only served to spoil the enjoyment of this for me. I certainly won't be renting any of the other discs in this series.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Casanova

Excellent

(Edit) 15/07/2006

I got this for my wife as neither of us had watched this on tv first time round and she rather likes David Tennant from having seen him in Dr Who. I sat down to watch a bit of the first episode and before you know it there we were three hours later having watched and enjoyed all three episodes. Well written by Russell.T.Davis (can he do no wrong?) and great performances from Peter OToole as the older Casanova and David Tennant as the younger. There seemed to be a fair sprinkling of "known BBC faces" in this drama and everybody aquits themselves well. Well worth a watch.

4 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

On the Nose

Expected More Than This

(Edit) 24/07/2006

I like Robbie Coltane, I really like Robbie Coltrane but even he can't save this poor script. With it's slow pace, ridiculous plot (a severed head predicts the next horse to win a particular race) and pretty dull supporting cast there isn't really too much to like about this. Dan Ackroyd is midly amusing in his role but he's certainly far, far from his best. Not complete rubbish then but not far off.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Broken Flowers

Failed To Live Up To Initial Promise.

(Edit) 03/07/2006

Despite the initial promise I felt this movie failed to deliver. Moving along at a snails pace my wife and I initially fell asleep after 20 minutes of watching this. I did try it again hoping that it would pick up once the central character (Murray) got visiting his old flames but it didn't. The dialogue between Murray and old flames is met with stilted silences and nothing of any real interest really came out of these meetings. Coupled with an unsatistactory ending make this film one that I didn't enjoy and couldn't recommend. One point for the story premise and another for a great opening / closing tune.

4 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Signs

Not For Us

(Edit) 11/07/2006

Found this to be slow and to be perfectly frank rather dull. Even my wife who's a Mel Gibson fan found little of interest here. Not one for us.

1 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Dinner Game

Very Clever, Very Funny

(Edit) 11/07/2006

An interestesting concept for a movie that is both hillarious and one that works really well. This movie had us both laughing out loud and I would recommend it to anyone. Superb!

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Aeon Flux

Enjoyable Sci-fi Flick

(Edit) 23/06/2006

I'd not seen any of the previous animated series or read any of the books before but I still enjoyed this movie. I had read that it was hard to follow but I wouldn't say that was the case - providing you're paying attention to what's going on-screen! Visually stunning - especially Charleze Theron - I'd say the plot didn't quite live up to the visual element, but as I say it was still an enjoyable sci-fi flick. I will certainly look into the animated series based on this and certainly hope they follow up this movie with an Aeon Flux 2.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mystic River

Excellent Movie

(Edit) 26/06/2006

Got to admit I'd never heard of this before I came across it here and what an excellent movie! A story that keeps you enthralled from start to finish and moves along at a good pace. Great performances from Tim Robbins, Sean Penn and Kevin Bacon - in fact the whole cast should be proud of their performances in this one. You really should see this movie, it really is that good.

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Walk the Line

You Don't Have To Be A Johnny Cash Fan To Enjoy This Film.

(Edit) 29/06/2006

I don't consider myself a fan of Johnny Cash especially his early period which this film covers (up until the end of the 60's) and as such I initially overlooked this film. What an oversight on my my part! Joaquin Phoenix was superb as Johnny Cash and despite the film clocking in at over 2 hours it really did just seem to fly by. I enjoyed the music too and I'll certainly be either looking for the soundtrack album or a decent JC Greatest Hits. An excellent enjoyable film.

6 out of 7 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Twisted

Worth A Rental...

(Edit) 16/06/2006

Above average thriller (just) with an interesting twist at the end. More than enough possible "suspects" to keep you guessing most of the way through and creditable performances from Judd, Garcia and Jackson. Certainly worth a rent.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Flightplan

Enjoyable Thriller

(Edit) 19/06/2006

Set almost entirely on an aeroplane this suspenseful thriller kept us guessing most of the way through. Of course there are some holes in the the plot (aren't there always) but fine performance from Jodie Foster and cast more than made up for this. A very good 90 minutes viewing.

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Village

Not For Me...

(Edit) 20/06/2006

I don't like horror as a genre and my rental of this title was clearly a mistake. Influenced by the fact that it was written by M. Night Shyamalan and that I'd enjoyed Sixth Sense (Unbreakable was only so-so mind you) I thought I'd give it a try.

If I'm honest I'd say that despite an interesting score reminiscent of Danny Elfman this film failed to tick any of the right boxes with me and after about 20 minutes I'd had enough. Maybe fans of the genre / M. Night Shyamalan might find something of interest here but I didn't. That's not to say it's complete rubbish it just didn't appeal to me and I've rated it accordingly. Needless to say this one's going back asap.

1 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hostage

Bruce Willis By Numbers

(Edit) 07/06/2006

What do you expect from Bruce Willis? Up to his old tricks (yet again) but for some of us that's enough. I've always found his films action packed and entertaining and this one's no different, in fact I'd say slightly better than some of his other movies. Go on add it to your rental list if you haven't already...

0 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Phantom Below

Certainly Not Another Hunt For Red October!

(Edit) 12/06/2006

From the cheap feel of the opening credits and the subsequent unravelling of the story this disc has all the elements of a cheap US "made for tv" movie. The lead actor - Adrian Paul - bears more than passing resemblance to a young Sean Connery but this is no "Hunt For Red October". Yet despite this I still found this "tv movie" to be entertaining - although not as much as I would've liked. If you want to see a good submarine movie see the aforementioned "Red October", "Crimson Tide" or the brilliant "Das Boot". If you've seen these and fancy a reasonable 90 minutes worth of entertainment you could do worse than to rent this.

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Goal!

Good Stuff

(Edit) 13/06/2006

Enjoyable rags to riches football story about a lad from Brazil (via LA) that gets to play for Newcastle. An interesting cameo from Beckham with appearances from Raul, Zidane and the Newcastle first team - even Sven shows up at a party. Stonking soundtrack that'll be greatly appreciated by most people not just the footie crowd. Not really one for non footie fans, but if you're interested or even have a passing interest give this a rent. If you're not a footie fan (shame on you) do yourself a favour and check out the soundtrack album.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.