Film Reviews by PC

Welcome to PC's film reviews page. PC has written 95 reviews and rated 4149 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Crawl

Enjoyable monster romp!

(Edit) 19/03/2020

Not sure what some reviewers problem is with having a strong female character in an action/horror creature feature, probably says more about them! This is actually quite good fun, a nice short running time with some shocks and fun death scenes. Actually manages to spend most of the time in one basement and keep it reasonably tense. If you enjoyed Shallows, another effective cheaper creature feature, then give this a go.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Addams Family

Nice animation

(Edit) 19/03/2020

The animation is refreshingly quirky but the storyline & script are disappointingly bog-standard. The series and the previous films were much funnier and it's a shame that with all the vocal talent used they couldn't spend more time to make it funny.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Rambo: Last Blood

Overblown nonsense

(Edit) 24/02/2020

I can only assume the previous reviews for this film were tongue in cheek because this is really the worst kind of xenophobic revenge nonsense. You would have thought you could at least rely on the action scenes but the defending your home from villains was much better in Skyfall and even Home Alone (at least that was fun and had decent actors).

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Little Monsters

Good zombie fun

(Edit) 24/02/2020

Zombie comedies are a popular genre but were probably done better in Shaun of the Dead and Zombieland. However, this is still quite entertaining and has some great comic moments. It doesn't hurt having the great Lupita Nyong'o who shines throughout but the film is an easy watch if not particularly original.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Supergirl: Series 4

Fun but lacking

(Edit) 24/02/2020

There is more politically aware storyline running through this season which was very interesting but it really suffers from the lack of a super villain. I understand the need to keep a more grounded human level to the drama but it really had a mid-season slump until picking up with the inclusion of Lex Luthor at the end.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Brightburn

Evil Superman

(Edit) 24/02/2020

This is an interesting concept, what would happen if a Superman like being was evil. That idea gives it a fun factor and some of the death scenes are quite entertaining. Unfortunately, that is about it with very little in the way of character development beyond that.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Skin

Thought provoking true story

(Edit) 24/02/2020

This may cover similar ground to American History X but it is still an extremely well told true story with a great performance from Jamie Bell. Some of the story is extremely uncomfortable, as it should be, but it needs to be told and offers a glimpse of a life we have no idea about.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

IT: Chapter Two

Too much CGI

(Edit) 24/02/2020

I enjoyed the first film and the relationship amongst the young cast really worked. Although they have got some good actors for the adult roles, they are swamped by CGI monsters that are not remotely scary at all. What makes It Chapter 1 so good is Pennywise, who is scary without the need for special effects on top of that. A real shame because Bill Hader and Jessica Chastain are great.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Parasite

Worthy oscar winner

(Edit) 24/02/2020

I was unsure whether I would enjoy this film and I cannot say too much without giving away spoilers. Suffice to say that it is well acted, hugely original, funny and uncomfortable in equal measures. Give it a chance even if you do not like subtitles you will not see another film like it.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dora and the Lost City of Gold

Better than expected

(Edit) 15/01/2020

Though slightly long, this is good family adventure with some enjoyable references to the original cartoon.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Anna

Enjoyable and stylish

(Edit) 15/01/2020

Luc Besson's status has definitely dropped over the past few years, with a succession of euro-set thrillers offering little in terms of substance. This would appear to be the same but a more twisty storyline makes this more interesting. Sill not reaching the heights of Nikita or Leon but a step in the right direction. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tolkien

Good Sunday afternoon biopic

(Edit) 15/01/2020

I was expecting a bit more of a controversial look at Tolkien's life after it was dismissed by his family but I really cannot see why they would have issue with it. It is a rather straight-laced look at his life and only really comes to life in the war scenes which show where some of the imagery for his work may have come from. A little bit more of this would have been welcome but the performances are uniformly good.  

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Angry Birds Movie 2

Fun with inspired moments

(Edit) 15/01/2020

Hard to believe a mobile game could spawn two decent cartoons but this is just as fun as the first one. There are also moments of inspired lunacy reminiscent on the old Looney Tunes cartoons.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Angel Has Fallen

Strongest in the franchise

(Edit) 15/01/2020

It's hard to believe that are there are three films in this franchise, the first one was clearly inferior to White House Down and the second was borderline racist. However, this has more humour and really benefits from Nick Nolte as Gerard Butler's Father. It is still very violent but even these are more effectively executed.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Lion King

Looks lovely but is it needed!

(Edit) 15/01/2020

This is a beautiful film to look at but is there really any point to it, it follows the plot from the original and includes all the same songs. Whereas Beauty & the Beast and Aladdin have mainly human characters this is still basically animation, just an advanced version. Not as bad as Dumbo, but really just watch the original again which has better voice characterisation.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
1234567

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month