Film Reviews by PC

Welcome to PC's film reviews page. PC has written 86 reviews and rated 4127 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dora and the Lost City of Gold

Better than expected

(Edit) 15/01/2020

Though slightly long, this is good family adventure with some enjoyable references to the original cartoon.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Anna

Enjoyable and stylish

(Edit) 15/01/2020

Luc Besson's status has definitely dropped over the past few years, with a succession of euro-set thrillers offering little in terms of substance. This would appear to be the same but a more twisty storyline makes this more interesting. Sill not reaching the heights of Nikita or Leon but a step in the right direction. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tolkien

Good Sunday afternoon biopic

(Edit) 15/01/2020

I was expecting a bit more of a controversial look at Tolkien's life after it was dismissed by his family but I really cannot see why they would have issue with it. It is a rather straight-laced look at his life and only really comes to life in the war scenes which show where some of the imagery for his work may have come from. A little bit more of this would have been welcome but the performances are uniformly good.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Angry Birds Movie 2

Fun with inspired moments

(Edit) 15/01/2020

Hard to believe a mobile game could spawn two decent cartoons but this is just as fun as the first one. There are also moments of inspired lunacy reminiscent on the old Looney Tunes cartoons.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Angel Has Fallen

Strongest in the franchise

(Edit) 15/01/2020

It's hard to believe that are there are three films in this franchise, the first one was clearly inferior to White House Down and the second was borderline racist. However, this has more humour and really benefits from Nick Nolte as Gerard Butler's Father. It is still very violent but even these are more effectively executed.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Lion King

Looks lovely but is it needed!

(Edit) 15/01/2020

This is a beautiful film to look at but is there really any point to it, it follows the plot from the original and includes all the same songs. Whereas Beauty & the Beast and Aladdin have mainly human characters this is still basically animation, just an advanced version. Not as bad as Dumbo, but really just watch the original again which has better voice characterisation.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Stuber

Just bland

(Edit) 15/01/2020

Kumail Nanjiani was so good in The Big Sick I thought this would also showcase his comic talents, I was clearly mistaken. The script is almost non-existent and swearing & shouting does not substitute actual funny lines. Dave Bautista struggles with a dislikeable character and clearly Karen Gillan agreed to appear as a favour to her Guardians co-star. 

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fast and Furious: Hobbs and Shaw

More fun version of Fast & Furious

(Edit) 15/01/2020

This is basically another Fast & Furious film but with only the fun characters and clearly the actors are having a good time not having Vin Diesel suck all the joy out of the movie. The action sequences are over the top and good fun, it won't last long in the memory but fun at the time.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Happy Death Day 2U

Enjoyable sequel

(Edit) 22/07/2019

If you enjoyed the first film then you will definitely have a good time with this sequel. it is a shame that they felt the need to explain why the time loop was occurring from the first film, it doesn't male any sense but it has enough humour to keep you interested until the end. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

On the Basis of Sex

Interesting but by the books biopic

(Edit) 22/07/2019

The story of Ruth Ginsberg is a very interesting one, having not watched the recent documentary I knew very little about her but found her grit & determination to be quite inspirational.  The performances are very good throughout but the problem is that the direction is pretty much point the camera without any flourishes or flair. I will watch the documentary as the story was interesting.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

BumbleBee

Much better than the Transformer films

(Edit) 19/05/2019

At last a Transformer film that is not merely throwing as much noise and special effects at the screen until you are bludgeoned into submission. A good cast, funny lines and characters that make sense, fans of the first films may be disappointed at an actual story but film fans should give it a go.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

Best Spider-Man movie

(Edit) 24/04/2019

Forget all the previous Spider-Man movies,luckily the makers of this film didn't as they make many funny references to previous versions. This is clever, funny and clearly loves the comics from which it has come. The animation is a little bright and frenetic but always entertaining, will worth watching even if you are not a normal Marvel follower.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sorry to Bother You

Clever satirical comedy

(Edit) 24/04/2019

Probably best not to give too much away with regards the story and the many twists, some very weird, but this is a highly original film with much to say about the world we live in. The acting is first rate and some of the artistic flourishes are wonderfully do e on a low budget. If you liked Brazil then this is the film for you, has a Terry Giliam feel to it and I cannot give it a bigger compliment.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Christopher Robin

Hard to see who it's for

(Edit) 20/03/2019

This film is far too slow for children and lacking on any great story line to keep adults interested. I thought the acting was fine, however, nobody is given great material to work with. There were pot holes that made no sense, I appreciate that I am talking about a Winnie The Pooh film but how can everybody see them when they are clearly a manifestation of Christopher Robin's mind.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

American Animals

Interesting tale

(Edit) 20/03/2019

This was an interesting way of telling a true story, by including the people themselves it offers a grounding in reality to what occurred. The way they covered the different version of the story given by those that took part is cleverly done, allowing the viewer to decide which they believe, Probably not as gripping as "The Imposter" but well worth a look if you want something different than the usual guns and car chases involved with heist films.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
123456

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month