Film Reviews by PC

Welcome to PC's film reviews page. PC has written 78 reviews and rated 4026 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Happy Death Day 2U

Enjoyable sequel

(Edit) 22/07/2019

If you enjoyed the first film then you will definitely have a good time with this sequel. it is a shame that they felt the need to explain why the time loop was occurring from the first film, it doesn't male any sense but it has enough humour to keep you interested until the end. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

On the Basis of Sex

Interesting but by the books biopic

(Edit) 22/07/2019

The story of Ruth Ginsberg is a very interesting one, having not watched the recent documentary I knew very little about her but found her grit & determination to be quite inspirational.  The performances are very good throughout but the problem is that the direction is pretty much point the camera without any flourishes or flair. I will watch the documentary as the story was interesting.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

BumbleBee

Much better than the Transformer films

(Edit) 19/05/2019

At last a Transformer film that is not merely throwing as much noise and special effects at the screen until you are bludgeoned into submission. A good cast, funny lines and characters that make sense, fans of the first films may be disappointed at an actual story but film fans should give it a go.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

Best Spider-Man movie

(Edit) 24/04/2019

Forget all the previous Spider-Man movies,luckily the makers of this film didn't as they make many funny references to previous versions. This is clever, funny and clearly loves the comics from which it has come. The animation is a little bright and frenetic but always entertaining, will worth watching even if you are not a normal Marvel follower.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sorry to Bother You

Clever satirical comedy

(Edit) 24/04/2019

Probably best not to give too much away with regards the story and the many twists, some very weird, but this is a highly original film with much to say about the world we live in. The acting is first rate and some of the artistic flourishes are wonderfully do e on a low budget. If you liked Brazil then this is the film for you, has a Terry Giliam feel to it and I cannot give it a bigger compliment.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Christopher Robin

Hard to see who it's for

(Edit) 20/03/2019

This film is far too slow for children and lacking on any great story line to keep adults interested. I thought the acting was fine, however, nobody is given great material to work with. There were pot holes that made no sense, I appreciate that I am talking about a Winnie The Pooh film but how can everybody see them when they are clearly a manifestation of Christopher Robin's mind.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

American Animals

Interesting tale

(Edit) 20/03/2019

This was an interesting way of telling a true story, by including the people themselves it offers a grounding in reality to what occurred. The way they covered the different version of the story given by those that took part is cleverly done, allowing the viewer to decide which they believe, Probably not as gripping as "The Imposter" but well worth a look if you want something different than the usual guns and car chases involved with heist films.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Overlord

More war than horror

(Edit) 20/03/2019

Although I enjoyed the film, it was not quite the fun that was promised in the trailer. At least two thirds of the story is a war film, and quite effective one at that. Those waiting for the horror element may feel a bit shortchanged and when it occurs it's not the most original. I do like the mixing up of the genres and this still as its moments.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Goosebumps 2

Not as good as the first film

(Edit) 20/03/2019

The first film was a big budget enjoyable monster movie but this feels more like a straight to DVD sequel. The special effects are more workmanlike and the story is very thin. However, the actors try their best and it has some funny moments, also Jack Black's role is merely a cameo.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Small Foot

Good family fun

(Edit) 20/03/2019

Though not groundbreaking in any way, this is an easygoing and enjoyable animation with plenty of laughs for children (it makes no allowances for parents watching with their kids). It has a good message and bright animation.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Moonstone

Usual BBC Standards

(Edit) 20/03/2019

This is a good looking and well acted drama with the usual BBC standards in production. I would say that the storyline is a little dated but you have to expect that because of when it was written. If you find it a little slow at the start, stick with it as it picks up in the second half as the thriller elements kick in.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

My Week with Marilyn

Enjoyable 'true' story

(Edit) 13/03/2019

Not sure why all the negative comments about Michelle Williams' portrayal of Marilyn Monroe, I thought it showed all the different aspects of her character, insecure but still quite manipulative. Eddie Redmayne plays Eddie Redmayne and Kenneth Branagh is very good as Laurence Oliver. I think the whole story has to be taken with a pinch of salt, it is one person's view of what happened that cannot be verified by anybody else. I enjoyed it but mainly as an interesting look at film making at that time.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Juliet, Naked

Enjoyable romantic comedy

(Edit) 13/03/2019

As a fan of Nick Hornby, I was looking forward to this adaption and it was enjoyable, if not one of the best adaptions from his works (see High Fidelity for that). All the actors play their parts very well, especially Chris O'Dowd whose character in someone else's hands could have been an unlikeable idiot. Don't watch if you are expecting a laugh a minute rom com, Hornby stories cover much more and are better for it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Othello

Superbly acted adaption

(Edit) 13/03/2019

I was deciding which version of Othello to watch and felt uncomfortable with the older film versions with blacked up actors. I chose this mainly because of Ian Mckellen and it was a good choice, he is great and the other actors are very good. Be aware that this is basically a filmed version from the stage but I did not short changed by this as the story keeps you gripped.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Patrick

Nice

(Edit) 13/03/2019

This is a very simple story, girl gets left a dog and learns to love it, this is it really. The dog is actually very cute and Beattie Edmondson is very likeable as the lead. It's quite nice seeing alot of British TV actors and you will probably be on IMDB checking what else they have been in. This is your basic Sunday afternoon movie for all the family, just don't expect too much.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
123456

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month