Film Reviews by HE

Welcome to HE's film reviews page. HE has written 17 reviews and rated 20 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ordeal by Innocence

A bit too long....

(Edit) 30/10/2019

It was alright-did not inspire or excite as a whodunnit. An interesting scenario and colourful characters; helpful prompts that we were rewinding to explain certain characters' stories in the build-up to the murder. I did like the 50s feel about the story but it is not one i would re-visit.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mary Queen of Scots

Great costumes and beards

(Edit) 09/09/2019

You would need to know your history of the time and who all the main characters are. Impossible not to smile at the hair and beard worn by David Tennant as John Knox. I think the film attempted to give an idea of what it was like for both Queens, Mary and Elizabeth as monarchs and as women managing 16th century politics for very high stakes in a man's world of the time. I enjoyed it for what it was as I like historical drama but several scenes didn't quite come off, especially the fictional meeting between the two women, a very "Braveheart-like" distortion of the facts, but then I enjoyed Braveheart very much!

0 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fried Green Tomatoes

A "must-see" film

(Edit) 03/06/2019

A story of love and friendship told in an engaging way which had me hooked from the start. Images and sentiments that I will remember for a long time.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Apartment

Comic genius and a moral tale

(Edit) 07/01/2019

Quite a daring plot for the early 1960s I thought. Jack Lemmon's acting was marvellous. The dark side of morals and behaviour of the time explored, especially the role of women in the home and the work place. Not the impact of Some Like it Hot but still very watchable.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

A fable for our time

(Edit) 26/11/2018

A deeply moving story for our time about people caught in circumstances that bring out the best and the worst in them. Life is complicated and messy and there are times when you just have to make a stand and do what you can. Realistic, sympathetic and at times brutal, I couldn't help but be drawn into the dilemmas around the characters. One of the year's best films.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Beast

Intriguing film

(Edit) 13/11/2018

I found myself really drawn to the different characters, especially Moll played by Jessie Buckley. Superb acting from all the characters involved. The plot was irresistible and the tension well sustained to the last. You could hear every word spoken and there were no gimmicks to distract. it kept me thinking and absorbed. I will look out for future films from this director.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ferdinand

A different animation

(Edit) 17/10/2018

This was a refreshing change from the usual animation films around. Strong characters, good plot and an unexpected setting in southerm Spain. Quite strong emotionally for a U? I would not think it suitable for very young children. I thought it extremely clever to have the bull and the matador change roles in the bull ring to get the message across and the bull in a china shop scene was marvellous. Spoiled a bit by the strong American accents of some of the characters. I expected to be bored but was gripped.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Film Stars Don't Die in Liverpool

A fascinating story

(Edit) 17/10/2018

Well worth watching at lots of levels: an insight into the fate of perhaps a number of Hollywood actresses who, after a certain point in their lives, became redundant from the Hollywood scene at that time. She chose to continue acting mainly in theatre which is interesting but in Britain which is even more intriguing. I thought the performances were strong from all the characters. The scene from Romeo and Juliet with Bening and Bell moved to tears. I had no knowledge of Gloria Grahame beforehand but I enjoyed this film very much.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Dinner

A meal out I could have done without

(Edit) 24/09/2018

A very disappointing film about a fascinating moral dilemma about being a parent, a citizen, a spouse etc. I was aghast that the characters chose such a public setting to discuss the really grave issues that both families faced. I could not engage with any of them, so had no sympathy at all. The politician could only be a politician, not a Dad, etc. Surely all these fine actors can find better material than this?

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Murder on the Orient Express

The DVD extras are better than the actual film

(Edit) 01/09/2018

Having finally finished watching this film, vastly disappointing though it was, I enjoyed a lot of the extras: interviews, how the film was made but most of all about the life of Agatha Christie herself and this made up for the film itself. Such a fascinating story about a real star of a lady. So I find it difficult to see why, with such attention to the life of the author and respect for her work, that this remake did not work in my humble opinion. I can only agree with the majority of the reviews as above.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Call Me by Your Name

A beautiful film

(Edit) 28/07/2018

Lulled by the beauty & nostalgia of early love so elegantly portrayed, I enjoyed every minute of this film. You could just feel the heat of the long summer days & the sadness of the final parting when he breaks down and phones his mum to collect him from the train station was so natural a reaction, I felt I was seeing a piece of real life. No violence was a welcome relief from the norm. As a film, a tad long perhaps; the different languages I thought a little pretentious at first but as English was the main medium, I rather enjoyed hearing French, German and Italian as well-in Europe people do speak more than one language!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Victoria and Abdul

Costume drama fatigue

(Edit) 25/05/2018

I found this drama sad and disappointing. You sort of knew there would be the inevitable culture clash between the Victorian court and the Indian servants & that Victoria and Abdul would hit it off & that it would all end badly. Not to say that the acting wasn't good, it was, and that the costumes and the location & occasional humour weren't appreciated, they were, but I just didn't see it was a piece of history worth making into film drama.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Local Hero

A wee gem

(Edit) 17/04/2018

Everything about it is so good: the dialogue by Bill Forsyth shines, the music by Mark Knopfler is knockout, the story, the cast, the setting....it's Scottishness was so on the money...the only bit I find tedious is the psychoanalyst..... it's not really a criticism, just doesn't add anything to the plot in my view.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fargo

Yah, a gem of a film

(Edit) 10/04/2018

What a plot, great acting, great writing, loved it. It deserves all the accolades it got. Everyone gets their just deserts-just the poor wife and the boy, who were the most tragic of all; their fate as victims of greed and nastiness really made me sad. I hope it was all a story.....

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wind River

A perplexing film

(Edit) 06/04/2018

I thought the suffering of the North American Indians was very well played, historically and from the film's present day context. I found the dialogue difficult to follow so I got lost at times. But the setting was bleakly beautiful, making the events of the film all the more sad and futile.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month