Film Reviews by KF

Welcome to KF's film reviews page. KF has written 90 reviews and rated 116 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Unhinged

Cinematic menace

(Edit) 22/02/2021

Well, there's nothing subtle or original about this film but you have to admire Russell Crowe doing what he does best. His portrayal of brooding menace is without equal. The film never slows and the momentum is relentless although the ending is a bit disappointing. It's not a film for the arty types and the snowflakes won't like it but I'm neither and I thought it was great entertainment.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Other Lamb

Is it over yet?

(Edit) 22/02/2021

Not much of a story line, not much to say about the dialogue, uninspiring cinematics, not worth watching I'd say. What I found really tedious was the tendency for the camera to linger excessively over a series of nothing scenes, an indication I suppose that there was really not a lot going on in the film. The film's attempts to create mystery, tension and atmosphere failed dismally I thought and just made the whole affair painfully slow and boring.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tenet

My head hurts

(Edit) 12/02/2021

You'll need to swot up on temporal pincers to appreciate this film. You'll also need to use sub titles, some of the dialogue delivery is shameful. Also, for a film that likes to think it's cerebral there are too many bog standard action scenes. Still, I enjoyed the challenge of trying to work out what exactly was going on (not that I succeeded!)

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

UFO

Makes a change

(Edit) 06/02/2021

Usually a sci fi film with a relatively young lead means it will show itself to be a shallow as a summer puddle. On the contrary here, it's really quite cerebral although the complete absence of any action scenes might leave some disappointed. For me though, it was interesting and refreshingly different from the usual Hollywood dross.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

You Should Have Left

Watchable (barely)

(Edit) 28/01/2021

Low budget, poor, predictable, unconvincing plot, uninspired acting. Not one of Kevin Bacon's finest. I hope he's not selling himself short when it come to accepting roles.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Bygone

No interest whatsoever.

(Edit) 15/01/2021

Well, another budget movie, so cheaply made you would think they could have afforded a decent script writer....or elocution lessons....or subtitles. The cast seemed as disinterested in the whole affair as I was!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sleepwalkers

Well, it engaged my interest anyway!

(Edit) 13/12/2020

Ho, ho, ho a Stephen King oldie, it shows its age for sure. No subtlelty, no padding out the story line with irrelevancies, no extravagance on special effects, nothing arty about it. It quickly cuts to the chase and if you can allow for its age and low budget B movie style it's thoroughly enjoyable.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sulphur and White

Rubbish

(Edit) 10/12/2020

I wasn't expecting a child abuse film, I wasn't expecting the actors to be unable to deliver their lines articulately, I wasn't expecting to say that their was nothing about this film that I enjoyed. It was, frankly, rubbish!

0 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Storm Boy

Pre-teen schmalz.

(Edit) 09/11/2020

Painfully schmaltzy, tired, predictable plot but the cinematics and wildlife scenes were good. The cast deserved better.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Line of Descent

Incoherent

(Edit) 16/10/2020

This is a pretty sub standard effort. Overloud, continually squabbling family members, some painfully ridiculous attempts at drama and an utterly incoherent plot. Not for me!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Battery

Tiresome American movie

(Edit) 17/09/2020

"Labelled as one of the greatest zombie films in years" Who's the copywriter? Jeremy Gardner's mother? It's dismal, utterly dismal. No zombie frighteners, no humour , certainly no sophistication, and most annoyingly, no plot! Los of effing this and effing that though which for young Americans seems to pass for dialogue these days. American film making is clearly in decline.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Gentlemen

Entertaining

(Edit) 10/09/2020

A great cast led by Matthew McConaughey. Good fast moving story, with no dead spots. If I have any reservations it was that it was just a bit too theatrical to be taken even half seriously.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Lighthouse

Sack the director!

(Edit) 10/09/2020

Black and white. what a tired old yesteryear luvvie trick to try and inject some atmosphere. And why not wide screen? The pity is is that it could have been more than half decent (if not still rather grim and dark) without the misplaced directorial decisions.

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

We Hunt Together

Budget TV..and it shows

(Edit) 26/08/2020

Won't want the second disc. It's below par, rubbish dialogue, unconvincing story lines. The cast does its best with the poor material they're given though..

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Grand Isle

As expected!

(Edit) 04/06/2020

Well, compared to some of Nicholas Cage's recent offerings it wasn't that bad - watchable but still below par. All at bit contrived and some unconvincing OTT moments. Kelsey Grammar was completely wasted in a non role. Low budget was reflected in the poor script and dialogue -a real problem for American films these days it seems.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
123456

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month