Film Reviews by TB

Welcome to TB's film reviews page. TB has written 116 reviews and rated 147 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sully

Superstar Hanks

(Edit) 03/12/2019

Despite some of the facts being inaccurate and exaggerated the film delivered on what was a miraculous moment in aviation history.

I liked the way the movie played out with it switching between time frames and as for Tom Hanks, he yet again put in a mesmerising performance as one of the best actors of our generation.

Not a spectacular film by any account but it didn’t have to be in order to bring to life this unbelievable moment in history. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Street Cat Named Bob

Hope

(Edit) 01/12/2019

This is a really uplifting movie and a story of hope and determination to get back on your feet.

Based on a true story, this movie has emotion on various levels and a main character (Luke Treadaway) who puts in a perfect performance to draw you into his life and at times desperate situation.

The relationship that is built between the leading character and ‘Bob’ the cat is touching and in a way they both end up saving each other’s lives. On top of this an affectionate friendship is formed with a caring young women, while at the same time the leading character struggles with his past life and acquaintances (his drug depend friend and his own fractious relationship with heroin and his deprived life).

A very good movie that touches on all levels of emotion and ties in with a situation that many face in today’s world. Excellent watch! 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Boy Erased

Brings the book to life

(Edit) 29/09/2019

I read the book, which is from the real life memoirs of Garrard Conley, before seeing that it had been made into a film. 

The film visually brings the book alive and adds the required emotions that the book didn’t quite capture fully for me.

The acting of the main character, Jared was very good and even though at times the film felt slow paced, that slow pace was perfectly used to allow you the time to imagine and feel what Jared must have been going through and trying to process in his own mind.

It’s not an amazing film but it’s worth a watch and certainly worth seeing what went on and is still going on in America and so many other countries around the world.

As a gay man myself, it filled me with anger to know that so many countries and people are still so backwards in their thinking and acceptance of homosexuality. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Heartstone

Atmospheric

(Edit) 14/08/2019

This film has wonderful atmospherics in its setting and in the way it’s shot. Coupled with two young leading actors, who put in sensational performances, this film packs an emotive punch.

 The performances and storyline have an authentic feel to them and for the final third of this film the powerfulness of whats unfolding really hits you.

The two young male leads were terrific and surely future stars. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Angels' Share

Superb piece of British Cinema

(Edit) 06/08/2019

A really well crafted piece of British Cinema that's uplifting, charming and superb in its deliver of a genuine sense of realness throughout. The film doesn't have a star cast and in fact I can't say I've heard of any of the actors or actresses but who cares as they were all superb. Each performance is outstanding and leaves you being completely endeared to each and every characters on so many different levels.

I really can't fault the way that the film captures every characters story, emotional state and beautiful outlook, even from the darkest beginings in some cases.

It takes you on a journey of despair, belief and hope; and with a perfectly balanced addition of comedy this film is a real triumph!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Glue

Hazy adolescence

(Edit) 30/07/2019

There are a number of coming-of-age films out there, which makes it hard for a film to really stand out unless it delivers itself in a unique way to many others.

This film achieved that in three ways. Firstly it was beautifully shot with a naturally relaxed summer vibe and setting. Secondly, the cinematography was very good; especially for the silent parts in some of the scenes which allowed the feelings and emotions of self-discovery, confusion and awkwardness to be played out without the need for words. And thirdly, I really loved the segments which where like a narrated diary as an overlay to parts of the film.

It was realistic, raw, thoughtful and relatable in its handling of adolescent sexual awakening.  

One of the best coming-of-age films I’ve seen!    

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Swimming with Men

Will have you smiling

(Edit) 23/07/2019

I was so close to giving this film a four because it had me smiling throughout.

As has been said in other reviews; the film is literally the The Full Monty but in the swimming pool. All of the characters are excellent with their own personal stories that fit into why these misfits fitted together and rehabilitated each other. It’s a really enjoyable and fun film to watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Favourite

Pointless

(Edit) 19/07/2019

Yes it had the costumes and the vibrant settings to portray its era and it grasped the politics, corruption and scheming that was prevalent during that time. However, that's about all it did have. With the exception of Olivia Coleman there was nothing to impress in the acting stakes and the whole film seemed pointless with no real stroyline or reason. It even forced itself in trying to be funny but fell flat.

I'm a big fan of films and have watched many great period pieces and oscar winning films but how this was even in the shortlist for such awards is beyond me.

To be fair I turned it off after just over and hour, so I may have missed something that made it worthy but I doubt it and I would certainly advise watching paint dry instead!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

House of Flying Daggers

Stunning and vibrant

(Edit) 29/06/2019

The cinematography is stunning and vibrant throughout but on top of this the film has a great plot that interweaves with a love story and well delivered twists.

The action scenes are terrific and mesmerising at times and you also buy into each characters emotions and story, while getting taken on a spectacular and beautiful journey of loyalty, betrayal and love.

A truly superb piece of cinema.

Be free like the wind!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Land of Storms

Laboured

(Edit) 24/06/2019

I found this film very laboured and at times hard to stick with. The storyline was easy to grasp but it had no energy or any real emotion to it, in order to grab you. On top of this the acting was mediocre and all that saved it from getting a 1 star rating was the setting and the filming of it in places.

Overall though an absolute bore-fest! 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Star Is Born

Harrowing love story

(Edit) 17/06/2019

Two different people, living two very different lives are brought together in a love story that’s beautiful but also harrowing.

Both Gaga and Cooper put in excellent acting performances with Gaga in particular showing that she’s truly a multi talented woman.  The soundtrack is incredible from both Gaga (Ally) and Cooper (Jackson). The tale of stardom and love, sees a crossing over and reversing of fortunes for both characters and is done in a way that’s completely believable and delivered powerfully in this dramatic love story.

The film is also filled out by the relationship between Gaga and her father and the relationship between Cooper and his father-figure manager; which has some touching moments.

I thought the pacing of the film was on point but I did feel the ending was a little rushed and would have like to have seen more time spent on the fall out and the effect between Ally (Gaga) and her manager, who ultimately played his part in the very sad ending.

Great soundtrack, great acting and a beautiful on-screen partnership. Make you you have the tissues near by! 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sexual Tension: Volatile

Dreadful

(Edit) 13/06/2019

The six short films all contain sexual tensions but they are very poor overall with poor acting, odd and not very believable storylines and nothing much in the way of anything erotic or overly sexual.

I wouldn’t bother if I was you! 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Beautiful Boy

Carell and Chalamet are outstanding

(Edit) 08/06/2019

Both Steve Carell and Timothee Chalamet produce sensational performances in this deeply traumatic battle between a heavily drug addicted son and his desperate father.

I agree with other reviewers in that the film is a little dragged out but in a way this emphasis the concern and endless worrying that the parents were going through, which at times must have felt like every minute was an hour.

The fact this is based on a true story makes the film even more impactful and brings home the reality that sadly there are many families and people going through this same and awful struggle. 

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Passion of the Christ

Deeply moving

(Edit) 05/06/2019

The deeply moving film is hard to watch with the brutal and sickening scenes throughout. It’s incredible upsetting, especially when it flashes back to his childhood and left me in tears as to the suffering Jesus endured.

A powerful film! 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hot Summer Nights

Intoxicating

(Edit) 21/05/2019

Yes the story could have been slightly stronger and packed out a little more but for me this didn’t take away from what ultimately was a great movie.

The slight negative of that mentioned above was outweighed by many positives that made this film an intoxicating watch. Great performances from the young actors, including Timothee Chalamet, of whom I’m a big fan of, were coupled with a great early 90’s setting that was delivered and shot in a way that was thrilling in its nostalgic nod to that era. While the soundtrack added to the ambiance of the film and it’s setting.

The story was thrilling enough to keep you hooked though and with an ending that was dramatic and conclusive, I couldn’t help but reflect on how much I enjoyed it as the credits rolled.

So sit back and take in a heady mix of 90’s music and a coming-of-age drug dealing drama.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12345678

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month