Film Reviews by TB

Welcome to TB's film reviews page. TB has written 122 reviews and rated 167 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Michael Inside

Depressingly real

(Edit) 10/02/2020

This is a very sad and depressing film about how society and living in a deprived area can so easily swallow up good young people and put them on a path of endless crime.

The young actor who plays Michael delivers a very strong performance that gives you a real appreciation of the circumstances and fraught emotions that he’s faced with.

Unfortunately this is a very real story for so many and shows how difficult it is to break away from a path of criminality that is fed and made even worse by our broken prison systems and the criminals that run the places on the inside.

A grim but honest and excellent film with a young actor who will surely go on to create a wave in the film industry.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Just Friends

A well rounded love story

(Edit) 27/01/2020

A nicely shot love story that’s given a wholeness and a genuine feel to it with the families of Yad and Joris, and the issues within both of their families that play out in parallel alongside their love story.

The acting is good enough, without being amazing but the tender side of the relationship in particular was acted out really well and delivered by the camera superbly to capture the emotion and feeling.

I also thought the grandmother was a fantastic character who added a great level of humour to the film.

A worthwhile watch. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Beasts of No Nation

Stripped of innocence

(Edit) 12/01/2020

This is a powerfully filmed depiction of war with the African war children of the NDF having their innocence stripped away by the horrors they face and are thrown into.

The warlord (Idris Elba) is fantastic but even he is surpassed in his performance by the incredible Agu (Abraham Attah) who at times needed no words in some of the scenes in delivering the power and emotion of the moment. In fact the whole cast of young actors all put in strong performances that drove the reality of the film home.

It’s a film the provides a stark reminder of the parts of our world that seem unreal to most of us but are very real to those involved in war torn countries and those conflict.

A sobering film but a film that also has subtle droplets of humanity to shine some light on a dark side of history.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Unsane

Zero rating

(Edit) 06/01/2020

If the rating system would’ve allowed a rating of zero, then that’s exactly what this film would’ve got.

It reminded me of a god awful film I watched a few years ago called ‘Compliance. That film and this film are so stupid and unrealistic it beggars belief. I know films are over dramatised and exaggerated but please; this was just plain stupid.

Both of these films are based in America and all this film makes you think is that there really must be some dumbasses in America if something like this is even feasible.

Please don’t bother with this film and if you happen to stumble upon it, the film compliance also. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Liam Gallagher: As It Was

God!

(Edit) 03/01/2020

An unflinching look into the life of Liam Gallagher from the very beginning to the present day. A genuine hair-raising rollercoaster ride that reaches the depths of being completely lost and broken before rising higher than ever.

This is a fantastic documentary anyway but it had to be a five for me as during my younger years Liam Gallagher was the first person I ever regarded as an absolute icon, a god and the greatest frontman alive. That opinion has never changed and never will; Liam Gallagher is a rock n roll icon!

Live forever! 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Patrik, Age 1.5

Wonderful

(Edit) 16/12/2019

What a fantastic and heartwarming film.

Yes it has a predictable outcome but the journey and the emotion along the way is what makes this film so wonderful. The relationship between Goran and Sven is just as gripping as the one that builds between Goran and Patrik.

I smiled, I shed a tear and I became totally engrossed in the film from start to finish.

Excellent, uplifting film.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sully

Superstar Hanks

(Edit) 03/12/2019

Despite some of the facts being inaccurate and exaggerated the film delivered on what was a miraculous moment in aviation history.

I liked the way the movie played out with it switching between time frames and as for Tom Hanks, he yet again put in a mesmerising performance as one of the best actors of our generation.

Not a spectacular film by any account but it didn’t have to be in order to bring to life this unbelievable moment in history. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Street Cat Named Bob

Hope

(Edit) 01/12/2019

This is a really uplifting movie and a story of hope and determination to get back on your feet.

Based on a true story, this movie has emotion on various levels and a main character (Luke Treadaway) who puts in a perfect performance to draw you into his life and at times desperate situation.

The relationship that is built between the leading character and ‘Bob’ the cat is touching and in a way they both end up saving each other’s lives. On top of this an affectionate friendship is formed with a caring young women, while at the same time the leading character struggles with his past life and acquaintances (his drug depend friend and his own fractious relationship with heroin and his deprived life).

A very good movie that touches on all levels of emotion and ties in with a situation that many face in today’s world. Excellent watch! 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Boy Erased

Brings the book to life

(Edit) 29/09/2019

I read the book, which is from the real life memoirs of Garrard Conley, before seeing that it had been made into a film. 

The film visually brings the book alive and adds the required emotions that the book didn’t quite capture fully for me.

The acting of the main character, Jared was very good and even though at times the film felt slow paced, that slow pace was perfectly used to allow you the time to imagine and feel what Jared must have been going through and trying to process in his own mind.

It’s not an amazing film but it’s worth a watch and certainly worth seeing what went on and is still going on in America and so many other countries around the world.

As a gay man myself, it filled me with anger to know that so many countries and people are still so backwards in their thinking and acceptance of homosexuality. 

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Heartstone

Atmospheric

(Edit) 14/08/2019

This film has wonderful atmospherics in its setting and in the way it’s shot. Coupled with two young leading actors, who put in sensational performances, this film packs an emotive punch.

 The performances and storyline have an authentic feel to them and for the final third of this film the powerfulness of whats unfolding really hits you.

The two young male leads were terrific and surely future stars. 

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Angels' Share

Superb piece of British Cinema

(Edit) 06/08/2019

A really well crafted piece of British Cinema that's uplifting, charming and superb in its deliver of a genuine sense of realness throughout. The film doesn't have a star cast and in fact I can't say I've heard of any of the actors or actresses but who cares as they were all superb. Each performance is outstanding and leaves you being completely endeared to each and every characters on so many different levels.

I really can't fault the way that the film captures every characters story, emotional state and beautiful outlook, even from the darkest beginings in some cases.

It takes you on a journey of despair, belief and hope; and with a perfectly balanced addition of comedy this film is a real triumph!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Glue

Hazy adolescence

(Edit) 30/07/2019

There are a number of coming-of-age films out there, which makes it hard for a film to really stand out unless it delivers itself in a unique way to many others.

This film achieved that in three ways. Firstly it was beautifully shot with a naturally relaxed summer vibe and setting. Secondly, the cinematography was very good; especially for the silent parts in some of the scenes which allowed the feelings and emotions of self-discovery, confusion and awkwardness to be played out without the need for words. And thirdly, I really loved the segments which where like a narrated diary as an overlay to parts of the film.

It was realistic, raw, thoughtful and relatable in its handling of adolescent sexual awakening.  

One of the best coming-of-age films I’ve seen!    

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Swimming with Men

Will have you smiling

(Edit) 23/07/2019

I was so close to giving this film a four because it had me smiling throughout.

As has been said in other reviews; the film is literally the The Full Monty but in the swimming pool. All of the characters are excellent with their own personal stories that fit into why these misfits fitted together and rehabilitated each other. It’s a really enjoyable and fun film to watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Favourite

Pointless

(Edit) 19/07/2019

Yes it had the costumes and the vibrant settings to portray its era and it grasped the politics, corruption and scheming that was prevalent during that time. However, that's about all it did have. With the exception of Olivia Coleman there was nothing to impress in the acting stakes and the whole film seemed pointless with no real stroyline or reason. It even forced itself in trying to be funny but fell flat.

I'm a big fan of films and have watched many great period pieces and oscar winning films but how this was even in the shortlist for such awards is beyond me.

To be fair I turned it off after just over and hour, so I may have missed something that made it worthy but I doubt it and I would certainly advise watching paint dry instead!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

House of Flying Daggers

Stunning and vibrant

(Edit) 29/06/2019

The cinematography is stunning and vibrant throughout but on top of this the film has a great plot that interweaves with a love story and well delivered twists.

The action scenes are terrific and mesmerising at times and you also buy into each characters emotions and story, while getting taken on a spectacular and beautiful journey of loyalty, betrayal and love.

A truly superb piece of cinema.

Be free like the wind!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
123456789

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month