Film Reviews by TB

Welcome to TB's film reviews page. TB has written 139 reviews and rated 227 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Green Butterflies

Excellent narrative, let down by poor acting and filming

(Edit) 22/11/2021

It’s a real shame that this film tackled all of the right and most relevant topics for young people in today’s society but missed a trick by delivering it with a real lack of quality, drive and focus. This was mainly caused by weak acting and filming and was like watching an Australian soap opera; which isn’t a good thing.

To be fair to Deivi Duarte though, he did put in the best performance as Mateo but those around him fell well short of what was required and what would’ve made this a very solid and very good film.

It ticked all the boxes in tackling bullying, homophobia, human rights, oppression, rape, spiking and suicide. It also highlighted the problems caused by people taking no  responsibly for their actions and the devastating affects as seen in this films conclusion.

Apparently it’s based on a true story but I really hope to god there aren’t any head teachers out there like the one portrayed in this film!

Great plot and themes but really missed a trick.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

County Lines

Brutal and powerful

(Edit) 18/10/2021

A stunning performance by young actor, Conrad Khan and a film that depicts a situation that’s all too prevalent for some young people in seriously deprived areas of the UK.

The film is slow paced but captures the raw emotions and the explosive and tense situations around drugs and the grooming of young people. With nowhere to turn, no options and a family life that’s fragmented and hanging on a thread; this sorry and sad tale hits home.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hidden Kisses

Superb

(Edit) 15/05/2021

I really can’t applaud the director enough in his handling and delivery of a moment that many young gay men face in their lives. It certainly jogged more than a few memories for me as a gay man and had me nodding, crying and smiling throughout.

The director nailed every aspect perfectly and it was delivered with great beauty and belief by the two young actors. It also showed both sides of the coin in a fathers reaction, in how the process of acceptance and love for their sons can take different paths. I thought Nathan’s Dad in particular put in a great acting performance.

It showed the pain and doubt that can torture a young gay man at an already tough time in life. Along with the very real sadness, bullying and lack of education or compassion, that thankfully exists less and less in today’s society but was brought into the spotlight and showed perfectly how much it not only effects those involved but those around them.

Bravo!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Duel

Gripping suspense

(Edit) 31/01/2021

The first proper film by Spielberg and a glimpse of what was to come from this director. This is a classic film with gripping suspense and at times an eerie feel to it as a mainly silent film submerges you in a deranged game of cat and mouse.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Shiny Shrimps

Pricilla meets pool

(Edit) 11/11/2020

What a great feel good film that’s full of joyous moments. It’s predictable but who cares as it leaves you with a huge smile on your face. Pricilla takes to the pool!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Now Is Good

Get the tissues

(Edit) 06/10/2020

As a whole it doesn’t hit the levels of ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ and some of the supporting actors performances are a little wooden at times. However, the two leads deliver powerful performances that deliver the narrative of the film with an emotional punch that will have you reaching for the tissues.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Creed II

Ties in well again

(Edit) 01/09/2020

Not as good as the first Creed film but still a worthy watch.

The story is a rather predictable one (aren’t they all) but it ties in nicely with the others and delivers on that front yet again.

I did love his ring entrance also!! 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bubba Ho-Tep

Brilliantly bonkers

(Edit) 31/08/2020

A completely bonkers and bizarre storyline that is almost tarentino-esque in its style and dark comedy.

Something different and certainly worth a watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Cousins

Refreshing

(Edit) 17/08/2020

This seemed as though it was going to be another coming-of-age gay love story and to a degree it was but the ending was superb. I don’t want to spoil it for anyone so I’ll just say that it could’ve been so easy to have a stereotypical ending but the unpredictable and rather moving ending left me beaming and I hope people who ‘need’ to see this film, do.

Love is the most wonderful thing in the world and is more beautiful than anything or anyone. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Blossoming of Maximo Oliveros

Superbly directed

(Edit) 02/08/2020

Tackling the subject of pre-teen sexuality and coming-of-age can be a minefield but the director nailed this with great sensitivity and beauty.

A lovely and innocent story of young emotions and the feeling of love and infactuation. Maxi was a great character and really well played by the young actor. The story delivered on lots of levels being filmed amongst the criminality in the slums of Manila and the struggles of families and the crimes that they turn to in order to survive. While interweaving with a story of love that culminates in a powerful scene towards the end of the film (the whistling; you’ll know when you watch it).

I really enjoyed the depths of this film and the great directing in not flinching away from showing the raw truth of the ways of life in these slums and the beauty of love.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

My Life as a Courgette

Short but packs an emotional punch

(Edit) 31/05/2020

What a wonderful animation film that stands out from the crowd. Right from the very beginning the emotional connection to Courgette is cemented by the well directed and filmed movements and expressions of the animated character, without any real need for words.

The stories that bring all the children together are harrowing. However, after the initial moments of exclusion and feeling like the odd one out in a strange place, Courgette finds the love he’s never really had.

The friendships, love and understanding from the eyes of a child is portrayed with great beauty and this really is a superb animated film that left me not only feeling warm inside but wanting to adopt each and every one of them.

Great viewing for adults and children (probably 8 or over) 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Boys on Film: Youth in Trouble

One of the better collections

(Edit) 18/05/2020

This is one of the better collections in the ‘Boys on Film’ offerings.

There are eight short films and once you get past the first two films, which are rather poor, the quality improves. The third film ‘Together’ has everything to make it a good short film but it was let down by leaving you asking why and who?

The best film of the selection was the superb Easy Money but I won’t spoil it by giving away anything; just watch it! As for the others, they were all watchable and I rated all eight films as follows:-

Deep end 2/5

Family affair 1/5

Together 2/5 (Could’ve been a 3)

Easy money 5/5 (superb)

The wilding 3/5

Colonial gods 3/5

It’s not a cowboy movie 3/5

Prora 3/5

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Man Called Ove

Beautiful and uplifting

(Edit) 03/05/2020

I can’t really add much more than what’s already been said in other reviews.

Superb acting, superbly directed and so beautifully touching in so many ways.

You HAVE to watch this film. One of the best I’ve seen. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wonder

Wonder-ful

(Edit) 26/04/2020

This really is a wonderful heartwarming film which for some will act as a reminder and for others a lesson in what we should be as human beings.

All of the leading characters put in superb performances and right from the off I felt an instant emotional connection with the main character ‘Auggie’ and the loneliness, nervousness and worry of not just a young child but a young child with a beautiful difference.

Yes it’s gooey in places and it made me smile and cry throughout but that’s because it’s such a beautiful and touching film.

The film is also given an added depth with the characters that surround Auggies life, presenting their own lives in cleverly woven in segments.

Humans can be judgmental and nasty but they can also be kind, warm and loving. Never judge a book by its cover and never accept bullying as it’s such a destructive force.

This film lit up my soul and reminded me how much love and acceptance we can bring to each other and the world.

A stunningly heartwarming watch. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Akron

Misdirected curveball (warning, slight spoiler)

(Edit) 01/04/2020

This is a great romantic film about two gay students (Benny and Christopher) who fall in love. It’s a genre that’s flooded with films that have the same love story backbone but nothing else. However, some films do add something to give it depth and to make it stand out from the crowd. This film does that with a great curveball that adds drama and another level of emotion and strains that relationships can face in the real world. However that same curveball is what made me rate this film lower than I would’ve done if it had of been more realistic instead of being overplayed and exaggerated. I don’t want to give away too much but I felt that the reactions at times, especially from the mother and father of Benny were a little OTT over something that was effectively an accident. I’m not claiming to know how I’d feel in that situation but I think awkward and shocked would have been the right pitch and enough to add to the story without the harsh words and hatred at times towards Christopher and his mother.

The somewhat rushed ending goes some way to address this and deliver a more real feeling to it all but this could have been done throughout instead of right at the end.

An opportunity missed that with better direction could have delivered a very powerful film. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12345678910