Film Reviews by RC

Welcome to RC's film reviews page. RC has written 28 reviews and rated 31 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Yesterday

Not very good

(Edit) 09/02/2020

One of those films where you think - “how did this ever get made”. Well cast but poor script. Not that enjoyable. And pretty awful in parts. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Booksmart

Too much like The show “Girls”

(Edit) 19/01/2020

Wanted so much to like this but found it quite boring. Got to a scene which felt like a “Girls” scene slightly rewritten and could  watch no more because it gives the feeling that more scenes have been lifted from other shows which for me makes a film not worth watching. Of course this idea is unproven but the scenes side-by-side look quite convincing. 

If anybody wants to check this - the conversation is about an  Electric Toothbrish with the main characters in this film and in Series 5 Girls where Hannah has a similar conversations with Tally. Though not the same words are spoken the “humour” and theme is too close for me for enjoy this film without remembering that it is a script which somebody (who probably likes “Girls as much as I do) has written. So i couldn’t get lost in the plot and enjoy the film like I would with other films. 

  

Original writing only please.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Lobster

Truly don’t waste your time

(Edit) 16/01/2020

What a waste of everyone’s time. Even Olivia Coleman could not rescue this dire film. I don’t enjoy, googled the end and turned it off. Just misery all the way through.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Phantom Thread

So boring

(Edit) 11/01/2020

So bored. Its confusing how people keep describing this film as “beautiful”. It’s awful characters, awful music and very difficult to care. 

Wish I hadn’t bothered.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Frankie and Johnny

Disappointing - feels very much like running through the motions

(Edit) 06/01/2020

Would agree with previous review- no chemistry here. Difficult to believe him when he says he loves her because it doesn’t ring true. Their relationship looks forced all the way through the film. Absolutely no connection between these people for me. Very much like actors running lines. Weird and uncomfortable sex scenes that leave you a bit chilly. 

 Found it a difficult watch. It wouldn’t get released now. There is at least one scene where Frankie tells Johny to leave her flat - but he wins her round with romance and manipulation. This felt quite predatory by today’s standards. Not helped by the lack of believability in their relationship. 

Didn’t do much for me.  

I would give this a miss. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

This Is Us

Thought provoking, gripping and very enjoyable

(Edit) 20/12/2019

I really enjoy this show. Would absolutely reccommend. It makes you question what you believe And what you think is ok. 

Very engaging and believable characters. This is as emotional as greys anatomy but a lot better and with more depth. 

Very emotional and involving. I always look for clues the third triplet is alive. I think they might be. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Molly's Game

Way too long and lots of scenes which should have been cut

(Edit) 04/12/2019

A good storey but Very boring is parts. Far too long and unnecessary storeyline with the dad which may be based on truth but doesn’t fit with the feel of the film. 

It just feels a bit flat and boring. Jessica is amazing though. A very good performance from her and Idris also very good but even they couldn’t make this film enjoyable or one to 

Reccommend. Can see how people could fall asleep watching this. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Late Night

Very tired and flat film

(Edit) 30/11/2019

Not a film anyone could get excited about. A terrible start, picks up in the middle and then Goes on a bit too long. Not remotely funny. Characters unlikable and not real. This feels like a film made by teenagers, very basic script. No depth. And not light enough to be enjoyable. Very forgettable like a film that has been made for telly. I would give a miss. 

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Hustle

Not funny

(Edit) 08/11/2019

Painful like children’s tv from the 90s but not the good ones. Not remotely funny or clever. Give a miss. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

London Kills: Series 1

Avoid dreadful

(Edit) 27/10/2019

Gave this about 15 minutes and that was mostly taken up by people walking around with strange Ill-placed too-lould music which didn’t make a lot of sense and gave it the feel of a school project. A weird show with no direction. 

All of the lines given to the actors told us nothing and didn’t make us feel anything. Not sure where this was going but it didn’t feel like it was worth the effort.

Tried to give zero star but not sure this is allowed as it wouldn’t process. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

River: The Complete Series

Rather rubbish

(Edit) 12/10/2019

Would not reccommend. A departure from Nicola Walkers usual captivating roles. Hard to get into and confusing plot. Hard to know if people are “real” or just seen by him. Very slow. A lot of the scenes are slowed down to a frustratingly low pace. The music is too loud and misplaced. 

A frustrating watch which doesn’t really flow or go together. I watched first episode and knew it wasn’t for me. Very hard to care about any of the characters. And difficult to Belive anybody does not own a telly. Would predict a few further frustrating plot holes ahead and sent it back without completing. 

  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Shape of Water

Boring and Flat

(Edit) 30/06/2019

Unenjoyable and boring. Reminded me of boring children’s programmes from the 90s. 

Have to add myself to the list of people baffled by the awards. Would not reccommend. 

Should declare I turned off after about half an hour.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Life Itself

Unenjoyable and unpleasant

(Edit) 10/06/2019

I have to confess I couldn’t finish it but it really is a film that has nothing to say but is trying very hard to be important and insightful. Like a teenager lecturing about the world when it hasn’t learnt anything. 

Disappointing.  

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Children Act

A film that doesn’t fit together- Emma Thompson wasted in this

(Edit) 10/02/2019

The plot sounds quite moving on paper but isn’t executed very well. Aside from the main theme there is too much indulgent piano playing that non musicians will be bored by.

Annoying scenes towards the end where Emma Thompson needlessly walks home in the rain late at night despite being an absolute millionaire and constantly being in taxis the rest of the film. She arrives home with her wet hair all over her face and doesn’t brush it out of her face. So annoying. Nobody would do this In real life.

Far too many shots of central London which makes it feel like it’s a film made for Americans.

Inconsistency with the husband - or possibly over my head what was going on here.

Very disappointing. Did not get emotional watching this despite the subject matter. Relieved when it finished.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

All the Money in the World

One to miss

(Edit) 26/11/2018

An unpleasant film. Hard to watch, I did fast forward some of the bits especially the ear bit.

I’m not sure what there is to like. It’s quite chilly, a hard watch and very harrowing. Not one to see twice. I think most people could do without seeing this, it’s not really thought provoking, or interesting or breaking new ground. And no suprises.

A bit too long and drawn out. Could have been slimmed down.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month