Film Reviews by CB

Welcome to CB's film reviews page. CB has written 28 reviews and rated 86 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Toy Story 4

Keeping up the standard!

(Edit) 08/01/2020

What a great series of movies Toy Story has become. Everyone a winner with wonderful characterisations. Forkie in 4 just adorable.

The film a winner alltheway. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Greatest Showman

Good vocals

(Edit) 08/01/2020

Mmm...was looking forward to seeing and hearing this movie.

After 20 minutes my brain was numb through the incessant repetition of song and Moulin Rouge type of presentation , but nowhere near as good. Disappointed.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Esteros

Totally predictable and......

(Edit) 04/12/2019

A totally predictable storyline and outcome, and none the worse for that!

It’s a gentle, beautifully worked story of the awkwardness and societal problems of gay love. I thought  the acting was spot-on in all parts, the kid’s especially. Thoroughly enjoyed this film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Heartstone

Me too

(Edit) 11/11/2019

I can only endorse what the other reviewer TB has said.

A special film that will live in my memory. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Forbidden Games

Typical!

(Edit) 11/11/2019

Typical French film....wonderful portrayal of rural life during the 2nd World War. The kids are excellent, and uneven casting of the adults doesn’t seem to undermine the film at all. 

As ever with old French films.......charming. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Eastern Boys

Sympathetic study of gay relationship

(Edit) 25/06/2018

Wow, didn’t know what to expect from this film. What it delivered was a story of a man who morphed from base sexual desires with hustlers, to a father-like figure once he understood the travails of the young guy he initially hooks up with. Considering the direction the story takes, it is somewhat underplayed and all the better for it.

Two leads are excellent.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Moonlight

So many layers...

(Edit) 21/05/2018

A film which justifies its Oscar ratings!

The reviewers who got depressed or angry watching this film must have a heart deficiency. For sure the main character was going through a hard time being gay, and bullying is common in schools...but the care and love shown by two of the main characters shone through, and the ending was redemption....not depressing! Sheesh

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

God's Own Country

Exceptional..

(Edit) 19/04/2018

This film is not ‘shite’. In any way.

A story of a tough rural upbringing and the strains of relationships therein.

The way the director develops the relationship between Johnny and his love, and his dad, is masterful.

And...there is the ending, which to avoid spoilers, is untypical of gay themed movies.

Terrific film.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Call Me by Your Name

Poignancy demonstrated!

(Edit) 18/04/2018

What a beautifully made film. Perfect lead casting, easy pace, top cinematography and music. Disagree with the reviewer who thought being gay would give an extra oomph to the film.....I thought the theme would totally resonate with anyone who has experienced the anguish of a love lost.

10 out of 10

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Nights of Cabiria

Exquisite!

(Edit) 12/04/2018

Rented this film because of its high rating on Rotten Tomatoes.

Did it justify the praise, yes indeed. The story is one of resilience against the odds, beautifully filmed and edited, and the lead actress, Fellini's wife in real life, was absolutely superb, very believable. You have to have a sympathetic nature to enjoy a classic European offering like this. Enjoy!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

My Neighbour Totoro

Charm personified

(Edit) 11/10/2017

Beautifully drafted, pleasing story and Toronto and the Cat Bus. Another clever contribution from this venerable studio.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

My Life as a Courgette

Beyond me.

(Edit) 11/10/2017

Love this genre of film, but this one simply passed me by. Can’t explain my reticence really, but I simply lost interest after 20 minutes.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Grave of the Fireflies

Collateral damage..

(Edit) 17/08/2017

When countries go to war, the forces know what to expect, how to cope with traumas as best they can. The public of the country attacked don't have this resilience built-in, and their world is turned upside down, inside out and lives lost called collateral damage. This film is wonderful- capturing the foulness of wars and it's effect on joe public.

Rent it and shed a tear or three.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dunkirk

Odd mix!

(Edit) 27/07/2017

Read a less than glowing review of this film by Kevin Maher of The Times. Surprising considering almost every other critic gave glowing reports.

Well,

I got to side more with KM. The action sequences, well noisy and accompanied what I thought was a great score by Hans were good but mainly strangely uninvolving- there were even short periods when I got bored. There was a distinct lack of emotional involvement with the main characters, excepting the RAF crews who were better portrayed.

I gave it 4 stars because it had drama by the bucket load and was well filmed.

3 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Manchester by the Sea

Riveting.....after a bit!

(Edit) 20/07/2017

A very accomplished film.

From a slow start it develops into a story of loss, retribution and resolution of sorts. The acting of uncle and nephew makes the film, the relationship is so endearing in its own way. The ending.....well, best not to spoil it!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month