Film Reviews by CB

Welcome to CB's film reviews page. CB has written 28 reviews and rated 86 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In the Fog

Dour, rather mournful film

(Edit) 18/07/2017

Dour and mournful, but reflecting the side battles going on in the midst of a Great War. I found it riveting, interestingly paced.

Inevitable ending was well presented.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Maze Runner

Better than I thought it would be..

(Edit) 19/04/2017

Having read reviews by the pros, I didn't expect too much from this film. However, I found the action sequences exciting.... cgi good- strangely there was zero romantic interest which was odd considering the confined nature of the kid's existence.

All in all, a good watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

My Cousin Vinny

Great court action!

(Edit) 06/04/2017

Great fun- a good lively cast, Pesci warming up a little for future nastier characters. The court denouement was a lovely moment.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Summertime

Enchanting view of a sublime Venice.

(Edit) 16/03/2017

Beautifully filmed in Venice, a treat of its own. The storyline is predictable, so what, The star is as magnetic as ever. Just the ending though....did they run out of ideas or money? Seemed rushed and deflationary.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Love Like Poison

They do it again!

(Edit) 09/08/2016

A superb coming of age film set in a remote Breton village. Great acting from Clara Augarde as the 14 yr old made to face the realities of life and death while growing up.

No on does coming of age films as competently at the French.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fargo

Wrong order

(Edit) 07/11/2014

Saw the TV series first, then this film.

Now I know why the TV series was so good...it was developed on the back of this film. Both female police officers were excellently portrayed, the out of control roller coaster sent events crashing to the inevitable dire conclusion. Excellent film! And TV series...

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Son

Different!

(Edit) 05/02/2014

Saw write-ups about this film, and they were mostly right.

We do see more of the back of the carpenters head than the front. There is limited conversation..the overall feel of the film is dour.

However,

I enjoyed it..the story is gripping enough and the two main actors are impressive.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

I've Loved You So Long

Screen prescence or what?

(Edit) 09/12/2013

Wow, has any camera been able to frame a dodgy picture of Kristin?

The film has depth and honesty. Teases out the story in a very satisfying manner. The female leads are excellent.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Woman in Black

Commendable effort

(Edit) 08/01/2013

Having seen this story on the stage, I was expecting the film to take me to new heights of ghostly scariness. Apart from when the face appeared at the window at close quarters, nothing much scared me. In fact, the theatre production was more scary. Radcliffe was good.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In Bruges

Funny and Black

(Edit) 08/01/2013

Engrossing film- Colin F magnificent playing literally the innocent abroad.Fiennes plays his part wonderfully too..in fact the ensemble was faultless. Well paced and not boring at all.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

How I Ended This Summer

Heavy weather in all senses

(Edit) 08/01/2013

First rate acting from the two actors, but alas I found myself not totally absorbed as the action ground on. Even resorted to fast forwarding which is WRONG. A rather slow paced, extravagantly photographed tale.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Grandma's House: Series 2

Different and really funny..

(Edit) 06/01/2013

As long as you like the rather wacky style of Amstell, you will love this story of a Jewish family enjoying each others company...

The premise of a writer downgrading his success stories is novel and Rebecca front is wonderful as ever.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

My Father's Glory

Perfect rendition of childhood memories

(Edit) 18/04/2012

A magical childhood summer seen through rose-coloured spectacles. The acting is light and fits the mood. The way French directors are able to make gloriously emotional films is a source of constant amazement to me. This film made in Britain just wouldn't work.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month