Film Reviews by IanF

Welcome to IanF's film reviews page. IanF has written 17 reviews and rated 17 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fisherman's Friends

Warm hearted, and unlikely true story.

(Edit) 16/09/2019

Fisherman's Friends feels similar in tone to 4 weddings and a funeral, and deserves to be as big a hit!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Man Who Invented Christmas

Magical, moving 'backstory' for 'A Christmas Carol'

(Edit) 20/08/2019

A really lovely drama imagining the pressures the literary superstar Charles Dickens was under following two novels that failed to sell by the truck load. Gives a touching picture of how difficult life was in the early Victorian era. Dickens really was born in the workhouse to a spendthrift father.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Peterloo

Excellent piece of history

(Edit) 11/04/2019

Peterloo gives you a powerful impression of it's time in history - 1819 - a strange, long ago time when we do not really understand how hard and different things were. This is a powerful, big scale film of a little known story. Well acted, well filmed, long but engrossing. They should show it in history lessons in secondary schools. It was a time when demanding one man/ one vote could get you locked up, shot, or as in this film, run through with a sabre by a charging cavalryman.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

1945: From this Day

Not a proper war film

(Edit) 27/03/2019

I agree with the previous reviewers. I have never fast forwarded so much, could not believe how little happened. Think it was made by a bunch of weekend re-enactors - most unprofessional. Cinema Paradiso - do you vet the films you release? This was far below a standard worth distributing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

First Man

Moving portrayal of a marriage under strain - and incidentally the first moon landing!

(Edit) 27/03/2019

Much enjoyed this film. Not gung ho, gave a realistic portrayal of life was like for those guys, and their wives. The procedural space rocket stuff was well done, walking on the moon felt heart stopping and realistic, but what stayed with me was the relational scenes.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

12 Strong

12 Strong a cracking war film

(Edit) 12/03/2019

Enjoyed this film very much, felt authentic to me. The facts at the end strongly suggested a strong basis in truth. If you like a good war / special forces feature - see it!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Crown: Series 2

The Crown - a triumph!

(Edit) 23/11/2018

Series 2 is at least as great as series 1. Perhaps better - the story line with Princess Margaret embracing the spirit of the 60s in meeting Tony Armstrong-Jones is particularly well portrayed. Clair Foy and Matt Smith will be an extremely hard act to follow in series 3, when it comes.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Goodbye Christopher Robin

Charming/ dramatic back story to much loved children's stories

(Edit) 24/07/2018

I was aware of the lovely Winnie - the - Pooh poems and stories. The moving story was a surprise, but not a bad one. The stories proved an incredibly popular antidote to WW1 trauma, but are still a world worth visiting today. A lovely film!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Phantom Thread

A strange, disturbing film

(Edit) 24/07/2018

Vicky Kreips is apparently a German movie star little known in UK/US. She holds the film together, in the unlikely role of ingenue/ poisoner! A strange film, that looks good, but doesn't give a lot away as to where it is going, which turns out to be not a very good place in the end. Don't expect light hearted romance!

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wind River

Gritty modern western with epic shoot out

(Edit) 02/05/2018

Unlike other reviewers I enjoyed this movie. The presence of a female FBI agent under dressed for the cold was not out of place. I found the drama very moving, and uniformly well acted. The plight of the native Americans, particularly the women - whose disappearances are apparently not recorded - is well portrayed. I was left with a profound message, from an exciting and entertaining film.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Promise

an epic tale of love and war with a very serious message

(Edit) 11/01/2018

A great, thought provoking film. The Armenian genocide by Turkey during WW1 is not widely enough known. Because the Turks 'got away with' murdering 1.5 million people - it led directly to the Jewish holocaust in WW2. It is also a very touching love story. It is presented in big scale, Holywood style. A must see.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hampstead

Hampstead - a good place to go!

(Edit) 04/01/2018

Have enjoyed this film more than I expected. The lead actors are charming and the true story is quite touching. Do watch it.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Becoming Bond

An outrageous - but true - story

(Edit) 04/01/2018

I much enjoyed this film - much more than I expected. At the time he was Bond there were rumours, its good to get the unbelievable truth after all these years.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Lost City of Z

'Lost City of Z' review

(Edit) 27/12/2017

I was hoping for an Indiana Jones type film with perhaps a tad more realism. What we get is a bit dark, a bit hopeless, a bit boring. The most interesting thing in it was Robert Pattinson's beard! I guess this is more like what archaeologist/ adventurers actually do. Hard to sit right through it. Good point a previous reviewer made - if you want to find out more about the real person portrayed, the 'extras' had quite a lot about him. Missed doing that as I couldn't wait to send it back.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tracks

Tracks

(Edit) 02/11/2017

Enjoyable film, some nice photography. Mia 'Polishperson' was good throughout, made me want to know more about the true story, almost, but not quite, wanted to read the book. Worth a watch.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month