Film Reviews by AL

Welcome to AL's film reviews page. AL has written 21 reviews and rated 643 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Antrum

The executors are posting this review

(Edit) 01/04/2021

As executors of the late Alison Low, who did not heed the warnings and passed away towards the end of watching this film, we have been asked to review the DVD rental as follows:

There is a good film in there about siblings digging their way into hell. It's a bit like Alphaville, only with demons. The viewer has to use their own imagination to appreciate the five levels of hell contained in the film. The guff and hype round the movie was not required. The 3D effects were irrelevant and only proved to be an annoying distraction to the viewing. I ........ (it was at this point Ms Low passed away).

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Twilight Zone: Series 1

Minorities

(Edit) 12/11/2020

I mean me, I appear to be in the minority. I know most folks don't like it, but I think it is great. The episodes are fitting to the memory of the original and Rod Sterling. I hope there will be another series, but I'm not sure that the public have warmed to it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Possum

Would have made a better short

(Edit) 01/04/2019

On paper, this ticked all the boxes: a plot that did not require an explanation; art house and slipstream. In reality it is a never ending series of scenes watching a bloke walk around with a bag with a puppet in it posing as a Harold Pinteresque play. The ending was sadly predictable. Some parts I am sure were unintentionally funny. It has been a long time since I have given a film one star, and I don't like doing it, but struggling to come up with any reason to give it two.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Secret of Marrowbone

The Waltons with scary dad

(Edit) 05/02/2019

Hmm... great idea, and it would have worked if they had skipped the schmaltz. It was a bit too nice. I think the writer started off with a decent ending (incorporating bits of other things) then working the plot backwards. The prologue was rushed, and was more like a preview of something that had happened in previous episodes of a television series, which may have been a better format for this story line.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Quiet Place

The alients were good...

(Edit) 22/01/2019

...shame about the rest of the movie. It was not dreadful, just silly. The first half looked a bit like The LIttle House on The Prairie with monsters.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Red, White and Zero

Two out of Three

(Edit) 08/01/2019

The first two short films are a delight. A good mix of sixties absurdity and flights of fancy. The third film let's it down. It does not appear to have any common ground with the first two, and looks to belong in a different anthology. However, the this is a must for fans of 60's British cinema.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Ninth Gate

Still good on second viewing

(Edit) 20/12/2018

I originally saw this when it was released in the cinema, and wanted to see it again. The film has stood up well and still entertains. The ending is judged just right, and probably not for the hard of thinking.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

P'tit Quinquin

Darkly Amusing

(Edit) 17/12/2018

This came up in my suggested viewing list, and I decided to go with it. I feel an odd feeling of having felt entertained by something that is very un-PC. It's not really about the crimes, more about the very odd characters and their behaviors in different sets of circumstances. I will rent the sequel and hope for something similar to make me feel amused and unsettled.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

You Were Never Really Here

A non genre genre movie (SPOILERS)

(Edit) 11/12/2018

The reasons why I enjoyed this movie was for all the reasons why some people clearly disliked it. It did not have to show every act of violence, and did not spoon feed the viewer with useless conversations explaining what was taking place. I would also put forward the argument that the blokes (expecting a bloke film) were deprived of a macho shoot out or fight as the conclusion. Instead, we had a young girl who dealt with the bad guy off screen, leaving the main character to reflect on the outcome. This film was more concerned with the mechanisms and the complex personality of the main character.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Arrival

An adult film about aliens

(Edit) 06/12/2018

I found this to be a well acted film with a good script. The aliens were genuinely alien and were never threatening. I would give away the ending if I was to voice my thoughts, so all I will say is that this is worth seeing so long as you are not looking for an at war with the aliens film. This is a thought provoking adult film.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Shape of Water

Schmaltzy political correctness

(Edit) 03/12/2018

Too reminiscent of other things (ET, Beauty and the Beast, Amelie, to name a few). It looks good, but at the end of the day, it's just a bit of political correctness dressed up. The main character's best friend is gay, and what seems to be the only other person in her life is a black woman. Lot's of references to repression and a big dollop of schmaltz. Was this really the best film of 2017? I doubt it.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Endless

Original

(Edit) 21/11/2018

This film was like nothing else I have watched. The plot went off in different directions, but made a sort of sense. My recommodation is to just go with the flow, and let what's happening unravel. I never got a second disc, and wonder if there was something on that which resulted in the negative reviews.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hereditary

This is a joke - right?

(Edit) 16/11/2018

I haven't laughed so much in ages. Whas this supposed to be a send up of a horror film? The facial expressions are classic and the dialogue hilarious. All it needs is the canned laughter. I won't be sleeping with the lights on tonight :(

5 out of 7 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

It Comes at Night

Well, I liked it!

(Edit) 14/11/2018

Okay, the title is misleading, but this is a well made film. Thankfully the script did not fell that it had to regail the viewer with the details of whatever had happened to put these people in this situation, and treated the viewer as an adult. The acting is superb, and much is done with a small set. I feel this could even hang together as a stage play. This is more of an observation into human behaviour rather than a horror film.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Falling

Who was this aimed at?

(Edit) 08/11/2018

This is far from being a horror or a decent art house film. I can't imagine an obvious audience or group this film is aimed at. It all seemed pointless, and more of a vehicle for the young actresses and creative team. The only positive thing I can come up with is that it looks good.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
12