Film Reviews by JR

Welcome to JR's film reviews page. JR has written 11 reviews and rated 131 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Alita: Battle Angel

Best sci-fi movie ever?????

(Edit) 17/02/2019

This is genius film making arguably James Cameron's best film since Terminator 2. This is the best sci-fi movie i have seen since Bladerunner 2049 in 2017. Looks amazing but has Robert Rodriguez imprint all the way through it..great fight scenes,imagary..storyline and a superb cast. Absolutely mindblowing.

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Journeyman

Knockout movie

(Edit) 19/02/2019

Wow! what a great boxing movie. Not only is Paddy Considine arguably one of the best British actor's since Gary Oldman but he's turning into a formidable director as well. This is an emotional tearjerker of a film about the sometimes grim realities of boxing. Reminds me of the tragedies that happened to Michael Watson and Gerard Mclellan. Its a brilliant film and well worth watching.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

J.J. Cale: To Tulsa and Back

Very Laid back JJ Cale documentary zzzz

(Edit) 13/02/2019

I have alway's been a big JJ Cale fan but this documentary is quite dull and boring. The concert footage could of been better as well..check out his wonderful music instead.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ghost Stories

A return to old fashioned Hammer horror

(Edit) 20/01/2019

1st thing is this is not a Horror film. Its a welcome return to the short Hammer syle stories of the 70s, you watched on fear on friday as a kid. I hope this film starts a renaissance in films that scare you or make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up. Its a much better watch than the usual torture porn horror and endless teen slasher flick that bore me to tears.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

I, Daniel Blake

It's grim up North

(Edit) 08/01/2019

This is absolutely brilliant. Ken Loach at his very best. Don't think it's the most cheerful film you will ever watch..it will make you feel sad and angry at times. Raises a lot of questions about the benefit system. Heartwarming and essential viewing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hostiles

Epic in scenary, story and performances.

(Edit) 16/08/2018

This film is the best western made since Clint Eastwood,s Unforgiven. Christian Bale is exceptional but it's the story and direction by Scott Cooper(Black mass, Out of the furnace) that's truely class..maybe the Western genre isn't dead after all.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Elle

Elle :What a mad sick movie

(Edit) 17/05/2018

I am a big fan of Paul Verhoeven(Basic Instinct,Black book)but this is his strangest film yet. Isabelle Huppert gives a fantastic performance.I certainly wouldn't recommend taking your girlfriend to watch this..its grim at times.Quite shocked but its worth a watch.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Daredevil: Series 1

Daredevil Disappointment

(Edit) 27/04/2018

I got recommended this...The fight scenes are pretty good but the episodes story wise are a bit on the dull side.Verdict there's much more interesting TV dramas out there..its not awful but its not great either.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bleed for This

Out for the count

(Edit) 25/03/2018

There's been a lot of great boxing movies Raging bull,Rocky,Rocky 4 and Creed..sadly this isn't one of them.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

American Assassin

American Assassin gives Bond a run for its money.

(Edit) 14/03/2018

This is an excellent thriller,has an excellent cast and worthwhile story.Fight scenes are realistic and well choreographed. The best of its genre i have watched since Taken and the Bourne films.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Deepwater Horizon

Deepwater Horizon

(Edit) 07/03/2018

This is an excellent movie based on real events.All the cast are great especially Mark Wallberg effects are top notch.Well worth seeing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month