Film Reviews by None

Welcome to None's film reviews page. None has written 14 reviews and rated 315 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Vanishing

One of the Most Chilling Films I've seen in Years!

(Edit) 07/07/2008

The Vanishing opens with a young, Dutch couple who after a trip to Paris end up having their lives taken in one way or the other.

The girl 'Saskia' disappears and her boyfriend 'Rex' becomes obsessed into what happened to her. This leads him to a chilling encounter and one of the most disturbing endings I've ever seen.

This is a terrific, horrific film and far superior to the 1993 remake. I strongly recommend this film!

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

There Will Be Blood

The Citzen Kane of the Oil Industry

(Edit) 09/09/2008

Paul Thomas Anderson's 'There Will Be Blood' quite simply is astonishing. Full of mood and dark themes, the film seems to evoke films like 'Bridge over the River Kwai' and 'Aguirre the Wrath of God' as well 'Citzen Kane' (which was an obvious influence).

It follows Daniel Day-Lewis, in one of the greatest performances ever committed to film as he searches for enough fortune to completely seperate himself from those he hates - which happens to be everyone.

The tone is bleak and could be too slow for those with shorter attention spans. But if you can sit through two and half hours of brilliant atmosphere, perfect acting and one of the most famous ending in recent history then you're in for a treat. Can't recommend it enough!

6 out of 8 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hot Fuzz

Shaun of the Dead in Uniform!

(Edit) 06/08/2008

Edgar Wrigh and Simon Peggs seconds collaboration, after the outstanding 'Shaun of the Dead' is more of the same and then some!

It concerns PC Nicolas Angel (Pegg) sent to the sleepy town of Sandford because he was so good as his job he was making the his colleagues look bad.

There he is teamed with the overweight, lazy but loverable Danny Butterman (the hilarious Nick Frost) as they investigate apparent 'accidents' weeks away from the village of the year awards.

The film is one of the funniest I've seen since 'Team America' and is very much of that humour as 90's action films are spoofed throughout.

I cannot recommend this enough. Great to watch with a few beers with your mates or even with your missis if she has a funny bone! If you're not laugh then it's probably because you're dead!

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Donnie Darko

Like Nothing Seen Before or After

(Edit) 10/07/2008

Richard Kelly's masterpiece is an achievement like no other film. Great 80's soundtrack accompanies a story that is so bizarre and fascinating I couldn't keep my eyes from the screen.

It follows Donnie a rebellious but brilliant teenager who is visited by a giant bunny called 'Frank' who tells him when the world will end. Sounds strange and it is but it is handled so well that it doesn't detrack from the amazing performance - Jake Gyllenhaal: a star is born!

I cannot recommend this film enough! Watch it! Rent it! Own it!

7 out of 7 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Gone Baby Gone

Go Baby Go and watch it!

(Edit) 02/09/2008

Ben Affleck has shown great promise in a story about the abduction of a young girl and the twisting and turning investigation.

The younger Affleck also does an admirable job though think the character needed to be older (as in the Lehane's book from which it is based).

This a throughly enjoyable film with good performances and a multi-layed plot that just when you think is resolved twists again.

8 out of 9 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Martyrs

End of your seat, Nerve-shredding Terror!!

(Edit) 26/05/2009

I'd heard alot about this; 'disturbing', 'bloody' and one of the most 'horrific' films I've ever seen. I loved it!

It starts as a simple revenge thriller that ends half-way and becomes 'torture porn' that is probably not anymore gory than hostel but so much more terrifying. This is due to the atmosphere and the knowledge that we never really know what's next in store.

Apparently there will be an american remake, so this needs to be seen before it's butchered by Hollywood hacks! And the ending really needs to be experienced!

Very disturbing! Very moving! Very good!

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sweet Sixteen

Kes of the Abso Generation

(Edit) 21/07/2008

30 years after Ken Loach's defining film 'Kes' was made he's outdone himself with one of the most gripping dramas I've seen in a while.

The film follows Liam, played by the terrific Martin Compston as he tries to raise money for his mothers impending release.

Obviously things don't go well and is left a different character by the end of the story.

Ultimately it's about consequences of desperate actions, and is handling so well by Loach that it packs a real emotional punch. Highly recommended!

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Picnic at Hanging Rock

A Mystery wrapped around an Enigma

(Edit) 25/07/2008

Peter Weir 'Picnic on Hanging Rock' is one of the most hypnotic and haunting films ever to come from Australia.

It concerns the vanishes of three girls during an afternoons picnic and the people who become obsessed by the incident.

The film is tense and really gets under your skin. I loved the music that created a tangible atmosphere, accompanied by sublime visuals that pulled me into the story.

When the credits rolled I was felt thoroughly satisfied. Though to be warned it's not a hollywood film so don't expect ever question to be left answered - but this added to the enjoyment.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street

Bloody Musical!!

(Edit) 05/08/2008

Tim Burtons 8th film with Johnny Depp is a bloody fest for the eyes and even if you're not too keen on musicals well worth a look.

The story follows Sweeney Todd (Depp) plotting his revenge on Judge Turpin (the superb Alan Rickman), the man responsible for destroying his life.

The film is great at slowly showing Todd as he becomes blinded by revenge - sacrificing a better life without vengence for a souless one with in.

If you prepare yourself for characters bursting into song every five minutes this is a dark, disturbing journey into the mind of a madman and highly recommended!

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Kes

Realistic Slice of Life

(Edit) 08/07/2008

Acclaimed as Ken Loach's best film 'Kes' is a dark, depressing story of one boy who is given hope by training a rescued kestrel.

We really feel for Billy Casper as he seems destined for failure; both at school and with his family - particularly his brother who shows only hate to his younger sibling.

Loach creates a very plausible and realistic world that is hard to bear but almost impossible to pull away from.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hour of the Wolf

Bergman's Blunder

(Edit) 09/07/2008

This is the weakest of the Imgmar Bergman films I've seen but still blessed with disturbing and hallucinatory that made the short running time worth my while.

It opens with Johan Borg, played by the superb Bergman regular Max Von Sydow, as he shows his wife drawings of his graphic visions.

This sets the film really well but takes a nose dive as the images become more upsetting, blurring the boarders between reality until we aren't sure what is real ourselves.

'Hour of the Wolf' is enjoyable to a point but as the plot progressed I lost interest in the protagonist and when the ending was in sight I was willing it on!

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Rashomon

A Well Crafted Story

(Edit) 26/06/2008

Akira Kurosawa's Rashomon is one hell of a story. It follows one story from different points of view so the audience is unsure of who is telling the truth, who is lying or who doesn't realise they are lying.

Told in flashback it constantly intrigues and surprises and becomes something quite profound.

Added to this are the visuals. Filmed in 1950, is still looks better than a host of Hollywood films I've seen this year.

I'm off to get the rest of Kurosawa's work!

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Persona

Plays out like a Lynchian Nightmare!

(Edit) 03/07/2008

Igmar Bergman's bizarre trip into the mind of insanity, deals with identity and guilt with wild flashes of imagination.

Apparently, Bergman was hospitalised during most of the writting process and it shows as images get stranger but as the story evolves I felt I wasn't sure of what was going on - then maybe that was the point.

If you like David Lynch's 'Mulholland Drive' or 'Inland Empire' you will love this, but if you're looking for a more consistent story then Bergman's 'Wild Strawberries' leaves a better taste.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Through a Glass Darkly

One of Bergman's Finest

(Edit) 04/07/2008

I must admit I was beginning to find Bergman's other works slow and ambiguous, but 'Through a Glass Darkly' has restored my faith in enjoying so called 'mastepieces'.

It begins by slowly drawing the viewer into a world confined by four very well defined and flawed characters, then creates a tension between them and the story.

This intensifies leading to frightening conclusion, that I found more startling then so called 'horror' films.

I recommend this film to anyone who enjoys bizarre, frightening thrillers with characters that you really care about.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.