Film Reviews by CC

Welcome to CC's film reviews page. CC has written 10 reviews and rated 123 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

High-Rise

I got bored and gave up.

(Edit) 21/10/2016

This started well and looked fantastic but as time progressed I found myself more and more bored and distracted.

An hour in, I was finding it difficult to continue to care. I checked the run time and found I had another hour.

I gave it five more minutes.

I switched it off.

The problem is this - the depiction of the social order and its evident breakdown is far too repetitive and ought to have been cut drastically. I'm sure I missed some interesting drama at the end - but I just couldn't be bothered to wade through more stylish but hollow repetition.

Not for the first time I find myself thinking that Ben Wheatley makes half of a good film and half of a terrible one and cut and shuts them together.

Shame - I had high hopes for it - no pun intended.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Deadpool

I just laughed all the way through

(Edit) 06/09/2016

It's nice to see a film that manages to both send up and yet be a crucial cog in its format, at the same time. This is a great addition to the Marvel universe and yet it relentlessly rips the **** out of X-men franchise all the way through.

It's funny, sweet, crude, exciting and generally all round great.

Warning - contains several shan pop-earworms of the eighties which will haunt you for days. I'm still trying to eject Careless Whisper from my brain's internal jukebox.

Loved it.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Youth

Didn't make it all the way through.

(Edit) 22/08/2016

Just. So. Very. Very. Very. Tedious.

Pretentiousness masquerading as style, boring and a complete waste of Caine And Keitel.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dad's Army

Nowhere near good enough to justify its existence

(Edit) 03/08/2016

There are some nice moments but I was essentially bored and not laughing throughout most of this

It suffers from looking very nice and cinematic but not really being funny, or having any real tension.

I can't fault anybody's performances - it's just somehow much less than the sum of its parts.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mississippi Grind

Doesn't know what it wants to be.

(Edit) 14/06/2016

A comedy could get away with this plot but this film really isn't funny.

As a serious tim, it seems to be deeply irresponsible.

And frankly, it's pretty slow.

Wouldn't bother again.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

'71

Gripping, tense and human.

(Edit) 19/04/2016

71 is a very visceral and unafraid portrayal of the troubles that neither takes sides or turns its eyes away.

I was deeply unnerved by it and found it utterly gripping. A must see.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Brooklyn

Simply beautiful.

(Edit) 19/04/2016

The trailers had lead me to expect a slightly different film to the one I got - and I was much more pleased with it that I expected to be.

The ability of Saoires Ronan to act her socks off with the slightest twitch of her face makes this film into an amazing insight into one person's fear, longing and growth into confidence.

A wonderful, wonderful film which is as beautiful as it is powerful.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Intern

Too long, too twee

(Edit) 28/03/2016

I suppose this will provide eyewash for De Niro fans who've foolishly subjected themselves to Dirty Grandpa but I'm toiling to see much else to recommend it.

The performances are ok but this just doesn't have enough about it to carry the themes it's aiming for.

And the last half hour felt interminable.

Mostly quite sweet but predictable, not actually carrying the feminist message it thinks it is when you consider the plot and really a bit dull.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Lobster

Great first half hour but alas....

(Edit) 04/03/2016

I was hoping for so much more.

This started really well and I was enjoying it up until a point at which I can't discuss without plot spoiling - but it involves animal cruelty and frankly I just found myself appalled.

From that point onwards I found the twist of the plot took the film into seriously tedious and pretentious territory.

I only didn't switch off because I think I was hoping for some sort of denouement which would redeem it.

My hope was in vain.

In summary, there are some decidedly nasty parts in this film which I don't feel it had earned the right to portray because it was so bereft of any soul.

Avoid.

9 out of 9 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Enemy

Don't Bother

(Edit) 15/08/2015

You're going to be tempted because of Jake Gyllenhaal.

But seriously, trust me, just save yourself the tedium and DO NOT BOTHER.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month