Film Reviews by None

Welcome to None's film reviews page. None has written 13 reviews and rated 580 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pacific Rim

Robots Punching Monsters

(Edit) 14/11/2013

Was really looking forward to watching this film but to be honest was disappointed.

The special effects are amazing but that's all that's good here - the acting and script is dreadful and very 'cliche' you have the guy with the troubled past, his love interest and the 'maverick'

None of this is very good to watch and the actors seem to shout at one another which is a pity because if this had a good writing team then it would have been one of my favourite monster films

But if you want a popcorn movie with little else then this is for you as the fighting scenes are incredible

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Cloverfield

Well I enjoyed it

(Edit) 11/08/2008

Having only seen the trailers for the cinema was interested to see what this film was like. Made me jump a good few times.

The fact that the camera is done in such a way in the 'first person' really makes you part of what's happening.

I watch alot of horror movies / sci fi and for some reason ( bit like War of the Worlds) it really affected me as is done NOW

Ok so people complain about the acting and the monster but its the fact that this is what it would be like if anything happened and you or I had a camera

Yes could of been alot more than it is but still a dam good movie for a night in !!"!

Watch it and see your yourself

2 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Whisper

Dont waste a rental on this

(Edit) 23/03/2009

Don't bother if you have seen The Omen then this is so predictable . It is not scary, the acting is dreadful and I turned it off and sent it straight back.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Alone in the Dark

Dont bother

(Edit) 10/07/2008

Started to watch this film as looked quiet good and was interested as had Christian Slater in. Managed to watch maybe 10 mins of the slowest fight scene I have ever seen and then thought nah not for me

Would not bother with this one - waste of time

1 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Premonition

Was it worth it ?

(Edit) 30/05/2008

This film starts off fairly promisingly as you cannot tell what is real and what isn't but then doesn't explain why anything happened, goes off and you will be left thinking WHAT ????

Nah don't bother its a waste of time trying to understand why they made this film at all

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Day the Earth Stood Still

rubbish

(Edit) 09/06/2009

So much hype about this film so decided to give it a look.

Its a film of Keanu Reeves walking slowly mostly towards the camera, in a suit.

Typical Amercians against the aliens

The original is a masterpiece this is a cheap remake.

Not original not special watch the original not this rubbish.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mr. Brooks

recommend it

(Edit) 11/08/2008

At first this film is quite mellow but if you liked American Physcho then you will like this too. Made me laugh and also made me go 'uurgh'

Well worth a view . If you like a film thats a bit more intelligent than your average 'Serial Killer' movies then this is it

Enjoy

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Strangers

watch it

(Edit) 09/02/2009

This film is quietly chlling, more so as is based on a true story. Starts a bit slowly but stay with it... you will not be disappointed. The only thing i would say is lets see another one maybe Strangers 2?

The ending isn't brilliant but lets the guys do a 2nd film...

Watch it and you will never answer the door at night again !!!!

0 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Outpost

Poor imitation !! dont bother

(Edit) 02/03/2009

This film starts off positively and initially is very creepy. Well acted in some parts.

However it is a very poor imitation of Event Horizon /Dog Soldiers so would recommend you watch these excellent films and not this.

Lost interest half way through as became slightly stupid Turned it off and sent it back.

Don't waste one of your rentals on it.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Quarantine

Its ok

(Edit) 23/03/2009

Thought this would be like Cloverfield and up to a point it was. Unfortunately the film is quite badly acted with a very slow story line and characters that you really don't care if they die.

After a while the film started to bore me as is not as good as some others I have seen.

Upto you if you want to rent it but you might be disappointed - I was :(

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Burn After Reading

dont bother

(Edit) 18/05/2009

Heard alot of great things about this film. The trailer looked good too.

Dont waste a rental... Could the story be any slower. unlike the Coen brothers previous films I did not find it remotely funny - just rather sad especially George Clooney and Brad Pitt what were they thinking staring in this?

So I was totally disappointed and switch it off after about 20 mins

Total rubbish

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mirrors

Dreadful

(Edit) 19/05/2009

Whilst the pretext of this movie is brilliant. The trailers draw you in. However the film its self is dreadul

Tries to be frighening but is not!!

The acting is good, and the suspense does build up however at the end of the day nothing of what is happening or why it is happening is explained at all...Leaves you confused and a bit let down and wondering why you had wasted your time watching it.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Broken

befuddled mess!!! wot not to watch

(Edit) 09/06/2009

reading the write up on the film description looked like this could be quite a good Brit horror.

The only sustained threat was waiting for one of the cast to cut themselves on the increasing number of broken mirrors !!! Unfortunately this did not happen :(

It moved at a tortoise like pace from beginning to end.

It is similar to Mirrors with Keifer Sutherland which again was rubbish !!!

The acting was robot like and everyone kept a serious face through a farcial film..

At times it tried to be Hitchcock like with certain camera angles but dont be fooled this film is a waste of time.

The badly timed 'atmospheric' music does nothing to heighten any tension - there is none.

The only thing you are left with is feeling very confused as to what you have been watching and not helped by the sudden ending of the film which does not explain ANYTHING that you have been viewing for so long.

So my advice is do not rent - only if you like watching films that have no meaning, explanation or substance.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month