Film Reviews by DB

Welcome to DB's film reviews page. DB has written 31 reviews and rated 356 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Train to Busan Presents: Peninsula

So Disappointing - Don't Waste Your Precious Time

(Edit) 18/01/2021

Terrible CGI, awful story, woeful acting, no characters that you can relate too, plot holes aplenty. Please please please take my advice and don't waste your time with this. So disappointing after the first film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Orange Is the New Black: Series 7

A Exceptional and Worthy end to a Startling Show

(Edit) 18/09/2020

The previous series of OiTNB pushed the boundaries in terms of what the prison inmates could be put through, and this series doesn't let up in many ways. Expanding out to include a U.S. Immigrant detention centre, if even half of what is shown is true, well, it will get you thinking a lot about just how unfair some aspects of the world can be. This series also shows the messed up probation system in the U.S. and you will be flabbergasted at some of the things that are shown. A truly heartbreaking, uplifting, informative and entertaining end to a wonderful show. I personally think this is the best series yet and has an ending that is in line with the shows ethos. A triumph!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Late Night

You know what you're going to get!

(Edit) 06/06/2020

Thoroughly enjoyable, well acted and believable story. You know where it is going to go, but it is still an enjoyable ride. Emma Thompson and John Lithgow are superb, as is the whole cast. We really enjoyed it, a great choice for an easy watch on a Friday evening after a long slog of a working day.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Doctor Sleep

Worthy Adaptation

(Edit) 04/05/2020

Love Stephen King, not a fan of the original The Shining, but recognise that it is beloved by many. Loved the book Doctor Sleep but was a little put off by the lukewarm critics reviews when it was originally released. Thankfully I was very surprised. The film follows the book very closely and has an extremely good cast. I enjoyed this film from start to finish and thought the ways in which it tied back to the original story without the use of flashbacks was very good. If you like Mr Kings work and enjoyed the book, this film is worth watching.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Orange Is the New Black: Series 6

Persevere - Takes some time

(Edit) Updated 04/05/2020

This series of OiTNB starts off very slowly and can be quite tough to watch at times as some of our favourite characters are put through the wringer. But persevere. It does get much better to provide an ultimately uplifting and devastating ending at the same time. Cannot wait for the final 7th series to be shown and released.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Kon-Tiki

Beautiful, interesting and absorbing film

(Edit) 02/01/2020

Based on a true story, this film is beautiful to look at with some great set pieces. We found the story to be absorbing, well acted and well balanced. Disagree with the previous review that this is a boring film. Yes it is about 6 men on a raft, but it is not about action set pieces, though it does have some excellent small moments of action. It is about the hunt for understanding our planet, the history of it and the drive for knowledge. Highly recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Searching

One issue nearly derails the film

(Edit) Updated 27/09/2019

Very interesting and thoughtful film in the way it is presented. A little like Unfriended from a few years ago but using many more tools to weave through the story. Performances are very good from the key cast members except for Debra Messings character. Completely unbelievable, static and woefully miscast. It does look like she cannot be bothered most of the time, which nearly derails the film completely. Fortunately, the other cast members are watchable and the story holds your attention very well and you genuinely care about what happens. Highly recommended.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Kid Who Would Be King

Abysmal!

(Edit) 16/09/2019

Don't wish to be harsh but this film was truly terrible. The script was poorly written with lots of explanation exposition, the 'acting' was non-existent and the story itself was plodding, predictable and offered no surprises at all. I couldn't recommend this in any way, shape or form.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Lion

Stunning

(Edit) 17/05/2019

Absolutely stunning! Wonderful film making, superbly acted and an extremely emotional film. A must see!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Downsizing

Entertaining

(Edit) 11/06/2018

Very interesting and entertaining film. The concept is a good one that hints at bigger questions but doesn't really look to answer them. The film is about unlikely relationships and the impact of humans on our planet and environment. The film is funny, touching and emotional with some great ideas. It is not really open to a sequel but I wanted to see more of the in film universe after the film had finished.

An accomplished, entertaining and enjoyable film with a great cast and a very interesting concept.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Colony: Series 1

Excellent, well thought out Sci-Fi

(Edit) 14/03/2018

Pleasantly surprised by this series. Cannot remember why we added it to our list but so glad we did. Nothing is spoon fed to you and going in blind is an excellent way to watch. Nothing is really shown and you have to piece together what is happening yourself, especially during the pilot episode. But it is a well thought out, intriguing and interesting show. It is firmly based around the main family but also the politics of the Colony, which you gradually learn more about as the series progresses. It doesn't give you a history lesson as to how everything came about and is not full of special effects and big explosions (though there are some). It is about the family unit, the wider society and doing what it takes to survive. A very good series and I'm looking forward to watching the second one soon to try and find out more answers to what actually is going on and the motivations behind everything. Highly recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Small Foot

Disappointing

(Edit) 12/04/2019

After reading some good reviews for this film, I was ultimately disappointed. A couple of laugh out loud moments aside, the story is predictable and just a little bit dull. I admit, I'm not the target audience, but normally with this type of film, there are more layers or depth, but not with this. And please, can we not let James Corden get anywhere near another film for voice acting. Woeful performance which made his character totally unbelievable and annoying.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom

Extremely disappointing

(Edit) 31/01/2019

Much like The Lost World following the original Jurassic Park, this is ultimately an extremely boring, unoriginal follow-up which is only worth watching for the CGI dinosaurs. Boring story, no jaw dropping set pieces and only hints at what could've been something good. Ultimately, if you like the JP franchise, you'll get some enjoyment out of this, but don't get your hopes up.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Molly's Game

Interesting story

(Edit) 14/01/2019

Disagree with the negative reviews for this film. Engaging story with excellent acting. You don't need to know the mechanics of poker to enjoy the film. We thoroughly enjoyed the film and felt sympathy for the lead character from the beginning. Would recommend completely.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Backtrack

Worth sticking to the end

(Edit) 14/01/2019

Enjoyed this film eventually. Started very, very slowly and was quite dull until about midway through when it became much more interesting. Not the most startling or surprising film we've ever seen, but actually pretty good. Does get better towards the end.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
123