Film Reviews by JP

Welcome to JP's film reviews page. JP has written 17 reviews and rated 219 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wildlife

Slice of Life

(Edit) 04/04/2019

The acting makes this film.... a simple story of a family that has moved to Montana after many other moves. The mother seems a good one at the start, but life events change her life and perspective. It's really the son's story and how he views the family's life and transitions. One moral of the story - don't marry too young!

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dogman

Felliniesque

(Edit) 04/02/2019

This Italian film took me back to my young days of enjoying the wonderful, Italian films of the 50's and 60's. Dogman won't be for everyone. There is lots of violence and seedy scenes. The film deals with paternal love, friendship, and loyalty. The main character is simple but also complex, and his life revolves around his business caring for dogs and his young daughter. His seaside town is below the poverty line and desolate as are many of the characters.

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The 12th Man

Stranger Than Fiction

(Edit) 04/02/2019

A great, true WWII story. It has a bit too much middle, but the acting and story are wonderful. There were so many heros during the War, and this main character was certainly one of them.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mandy

Don't Bother

(Edit) 24/01/2019

We gave this 10 minutes and bailed. The dark colours and mumbling were awful.I always wonder if the actors knew how dreadful a film would be hen finished.

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Prayer Before Dawn

Be Brave

(Edit) 21/10/2018

I approached this film with caution but am so glad to have seen it. Joe Cole (Peaky Blinders) is fantastic in this true story of a boxer in Thailand. The scenes within a prison are not for the faint hearted. I'm an old granny and maybe I'm tougher than I thought .

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Resistance

A Good Addition To Holocaust History

(Edit) 16/07/2018

We often see films about Jewish people being dragged away to the death camps. But there are other stories not as well known. Instead of,'Resistance,' I would have called the film, 'Hiding.' The real life people tell the story of their survival in Berlin throughout WWII. The acting by their film counterparts is excellent. Yes! There were Good Germans who saved Jews. Why don't we learn the lessons of history? I knew people hidden during the war as children. We went to school together in America. What stories they had.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Phantom Thread

A Look Into A Private World

(Edit) 25/06/2018

Meet Mr. Woodcock, brilliantly acted by Daniel Day Lewis. His is not a regular life we often see. Beautifully set in London of the 1950's, dress designer Woodcock meets his match in a waitress named Alma. The entire cast is perfect, and I highly recommend this film which, hopefully, will not turn out to be Mr. Lewis' last.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Ballad of Lefty Brown

Good Small Western

(Edit) 18/06/2018

Bill Pullman's performance is one of the main reasons to see this small Western. I admit to being a bit jaded when it comes to Westerns, having grown up many years ago in America. The beautiful scenery is a plus, and Kathy Baker is always a plus. The movie is a revenge story with many twists and turns along the way.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Brimstone

Twisted But Spellbinding

(Edit) 04/04/2018

I can't agree with the other review. I found the film powerful and beautifully acted. Yes, the plot is not a sweet one, but there are fanatics and perverts in this world, and Guy Pearce plays one the most loathsome men to hit a movie screen in years. Dakota Fanning is great, and we see her life unfold but not in chronological order which some might find irritating. I loved this ploy. Being an American, I loved seeing the Old West...even if was really filmed in Spain.

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Marjorie Prime

Don't Bother

(Edit) 25/02/2018

Such a waste of good actors. The film starts out with an innovative plot but soon deteriorates into a very convoluted and boring story. Lois Smith, in which I think was her last film, glows, at times, as Majorie. For 50 years or more, Smith had a good career, and I was happy to see her working till the end.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Hero

That Voice

(Edit) 19/02/2018

I somehow think this film will more appeal to an American rather than a British audience, I being one of the former. People of a certain age (like me) will remember Sam Elliott for his good looks and wonderful, deep voice. The hero is facing a lot of problems in his life when he meets and becomes attracted to a much younger woman. I don't want to reveal the problems as it would be too much of a spoiler. Let's just say they are troubles that many face as they age or are divorced.

It was nice to see Elliott and his real-life wife playing characters that are age-appropriate (in their 70's). Elliott is an actor who now is reduced to scrambling for roles in Hollywood movies or doing voice overs from BBQ sauce.

The film made me a bit homesick for California.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Ghost Story

Artsy Fartsy

(Edit) 06/02/2018

A waste of time. As usual, too much middle. I kept wondering if Affleck was under the sheet throughout the deadly dull scenes.

3 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Get Out

Who's Coming to Dinner Revisited

(Edit) 30/01/2018

I'm old...I'm an American. OK...maybe I see films with a different eye. I think Americans get why Race is pivotal to this plot. It's a quirky film for sure, and it held my interest and there were some good laughs. It won't win the Oscar, but it's worth watching.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Zookeeper's Wife

OK But Not Great

(Edit) 14/01/2018

Having seen more than my share of Holocaust and WWII movies in my very long lifetime, I would say that Zookeeper's Wife is in the middle of the pack somewhere. It's certainly not a bad film, although some of the scenes made no sense and weren't historically very accurate. I had trouble understanding the Polish accent that Chastain attempted, but that's what subtitles are good for.

The acting is very good throughout and there is enough suspense to keep one involved. Why the Germans required so many soldiers to be present at the demolished zoo for the time of their stay in Warsaw was something I didn't understand. And why when the wife is leaving Warsaw with her son, is not her baby daughter with them? No explanation is given.

A good reminder of what happened not that long ago.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Odyssey

Too Much Middle

(Edit) 28/12/2017

Beautiful underwater scenes, but, in general, a rather boring movie which went on much too long. A younger generation could gain some knowledge about the wonderful invention of the Aqua Lung, but did we need to know so much about the problems of the Cousteau family. The beginning and end of the film centre around son, Philippe, and he was a much better pilot than portrayed.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month