Film Reviews by None

Welcome to None's film reviews page. None has written 77 reviews and rated 76 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Too Beautiful for You

Art house movie par excellence

(Edit) 06/11/2007

The story jumps back and forwards in chronology so it's confusing at times to figure out what is going on when. Sometimes it's absurd if not bizarre and other times funny - maybe unintentionally. However, if you like the music of Franz Schubert you can enjoy the film from that point of view...

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Atonement

3 Outstanding Female Performances

(Edit) 24/11/2009

A young teenage girl misunderstands things and only years later she finally understands what her doing has caused. Briony is played by 3 actresses and what performances - worth watching just for this reason.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mandragora

Sad story

(Edit) 24/11/2008

Marek has left his village for Prague - he's a naive teenage boy; it seems VERY naive, but he soon learns a lesson about living on his own in a big city, where you shouldn't expect help from anyone, but only abuse and degradation. The film is based on true stories from boys, so it's apparently semidocumentary, although it seems astonishingly that a teenager can be so naive, but OK this is in the 90's in the Czech Rep. Be prepared for some tough stuff when the boys have to do their business with some perverts.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Michael Clayton

Clooney and another political thriller

(Edit) 19/02/2010

Very American story about conspiracies in the business world, but fear not the hero will prevail, so no surprises in the end.

2 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Salò o le 120 Giornate di Sodoma

Tough Stuff

(Edit) 14/08/2008

One can understand why censors in the 70's cut this film - not so much because of the sex and violence, but for the humiliating and degrading treatment of the characters. The teenage victims are even for today's standard treated harshly, whereas the sex and violence seem more tame than in recent films. Watch it in spite of the more unpleasent scenes as it is based on a classic tale by de Sade.

2 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Brokeback Mountain

Strong story and cast = Heart gripping masterpiece

(Edit) 27/04/2007

Forget the misleading ”Gay Cowboy Movie” label, if anything then it’s a Romeo & Romeo-story or as the tagline says “Love is a Force of Nature”. It’s one of the best movies for a decade and you feel the actors have figured that out too, since they all perform at their very best including the supporting roles e.g. Jack’s parents and the two wives. Of course, it’s Heath Ledger’s film playing a difficult character as the introvert and almost wordless Ennis, so he has to express himself using body language and facial expression as the tormented soul he plays. Fabulous acting!

Jake Gyllenhaal has it a little easier with his extrovert and lively character. For both of them it must be the best performance in their career so far.

Although it’s about homosexuality and the reaction from society, the film does not point finger or moralize, you can make up your own mind. A highly recommendable film one can watch more than once. Should you prefer a more upbeat movie with the same subject then ”Latter Days” is a good choice.

4 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Eugenie: The Story of Her Journey Into Perversion

Don't waste yout time..

(Edit) 10/10/2007

The story by Marquis de Sade mey be good, but not this movie. It may have been more interesting in the early 70's, but naked skin these days? The interviews are OK, but else...no. Time can be spent much better than watching this.

2 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Laramie Project

Compelling

(Edit) 25/02/2009

and at times moving reenacting of the account of student Matthew Shepard who was beaten to death in 1998 in Laramie,WY. A theater group wants to stage the story, so they come to the city and interview circa 200 people who knew Matt or who had to deal with his killing (police, hospital etc). These accounts are then spoken by actors - in the film a few well-known US actors - so it really gives the viewer a documentary style experience. Another great HBO production!

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Lives of Others

Must see

(Edit) 02/03/2009

Another German movie about its recent history and thus also European history. The story takes place in the mid-80's East-Berlin and shows to which lengths the regime went to control and sometimes destroy citizens who weren't "good socialist citizens". Excellent actors and GDR details spot-on. After "Downfall/Der Untergang" and "Sophie Scholl" a German film everone should see.

8 out of 9 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

El Mar

Religious fanatism

(Edit) 09/03/2010

Set in Franco's Spain around the civil war we meet a closet homosexual young man in a TB sanatorium. A new patient is his childhood friend who he falls in love with. They share a dark past where two of their friends had a violent death.

Based on a semi biographical novel by a Spanish author, this may still happen in our modern world for people with a conservative view of the bible. Worth watching in spite of the tragedy unfolding.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Lions for Lambs

What does Tom Cruise do here?

(Edit) 09/03/2010

Tom Cruise as a slick US Senator is simply miscast and not credible - senators are older (True Obama used to be a senator). Apart from that an interesting story that gives a nuanced picture of why some decide to sign up for the Army and others would never do. It also gives a precise description of commercial TV in the US and the way news stories are chosen and how superficial and uncritical they are handled and presented. Money before journalistic professionalism.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ex-Drummer

Not for a cosy night in..

(Edit) 19/02/2010

punk music, violence and sex - it's all in this Belgian film. According to the "Making of" getting the financing was a bit difficult due to the content and it's apparently based on a novel by an enfant terrible, however, a popular one in Flanders.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Uninvited

Classical Who dunit

(Edit) 19/02/2010

..but we never know for sure, so make up your own mind which version is correct. Some well known actors and lesser known make up the cast. Be aware it's low budget and has that feeling.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Post Coitum

Confusing

(Edit) 19/02/2010

Franco Nero speaks Czech?! No, just bad dubbing! It's hard to follow the shenanigans of this group of youngish people, but since it's an art house movie there are some surprises at the end and not everyone lives happily ever after.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Eastern Promises

Good story

(Edit) 19/02/2010

Good actors in a thriller with the surprises and twists you should expect in that genre - shot on location in London - and you do wonder if this can happen when we know about radioactive tea being served.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.