Film Reviews by KW

Welcome to KW's film reviews page. KW has written 158 reviews and rated 159 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Boys on Film 19: No Ordinary Boy

Nothing Outstanding

(Edit) 28/06/2019

The usual mix of films covering all kinds of scenarios, and whilst they were watchable, for me personally, none of them were what I class as outstanding and could lead to a fuller length version being produced!  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The House by the Sea

Family Refocusing What is Important

(Edit) 28/06/2019

Interesting film about three siblings gathering at the family home to visit their father who is slowly passing away.  Various events happen during the course of the film that faces them to focus on what is really important, and brought into sharp focus by the finding of three young children separated from the parents whilst illegally entering France.  Kept one engrossed in the film but fear that it will only cater for a limited section of the members. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Colette

Enthralling to a Point, but for me Miss Fired

(Edit) 02/07/2019

Interesting bio pic of Collette and the problems she faced in getting her due worth being recognised in a society where women were still expected to play the second role.  Great performance by Keira Knightley, but Dominic West at times seemed to red hot one moment and appearing to be going through the motions the next.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sink or Swim

Giving New Focus

(Edit) 03/07/2019

Interesting film about a group of men who are in a rut and looking for something to bring them out of it and at the same time refocus their lives through the medium of synchronised swimming.   Enjoyable once you get passed the intro of each character, when the bonding exercise begins and they are able to refocus their belief in oneself and teamwork.   

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Divine Order

A Look back in Time

(Edit) 26/06/2019

to when ladies in Switzerland were barred from voting and the movement that was gathering pace to have the law changed, and the struggles they went through primarily with their husbands etc, and ladies who had carved a niche for themselves and were doing nicely, fearing what a change could mean.   Well acted and the director avoided trivialising the issue to get story over.  

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Peterloo

Might have been better as a TV Serial

(Edit) 26/06/2019

Such an intense story to fit into 154 minutes, was always going to fall short in places, pity the BBC or ITV did not take it as a serial over 5/6 episodes to give justice to a story that needing telling! 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mektoub, My Love

TOO LONG

(Edit) 22/06/2019

At just under 3 hours this film for me dragged along trying to fill in with extended scenes that could have benefited from some judicial pruning.  Also as it progressed my empathy for the characters waned to the point where I almost stopped watching so bored was I by it.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Desire

Avoid at all Costs

(Edit) 19/06/2019

Ohm Phanphiroj is either the most over indulgent director or the most clueless!  The offerings on the disc appear to be one massive ego trip of his, and there is more of him the movies, so what chance do the actors or people conned into being in one of his movies get to show there talent! 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

He Loves Me

Ruined by the Narration

(Edit) 19/06/2019

For me this film failed due to the actors not being given any dialogue and the drone Thanos Lekkas narration!  If this was easier than dubbing the actors, then for myself more care should have been given to it.  The film is visually good to look at but it did appear to drag at times having to cope with the narration!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

D-Day Assassins

Told in Flashbacks

(Edit) 30/05/2019

Interesting film, nothing special about it, covers an area of WW2 that has been well covered before in films, but is still watchable!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Woke: Series 1

A French view of Gay Liberation

(Edit) 30/05/2019

Interesting set of short episodes highlighting the struggle with being gay,  set in Lyon, with a set of recognised characters enhanced by a brother and sister of the Muslim faith coming to terms with their sexuality amongst the ongoing struggle for Gay Liberation!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald

Watchable when confined with a Heavy Cold

(Edit) 24/05/2019

I watched this film with a heavy cold and the computer graphics were the star of the show, perhaps too much so or were they covering up the weakness of the screen play.  Acting wise the small scenes with Jude Law as a 40'ish  Dumbledore worked well, but I felt the rest of the cast were at time just going through the motions.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Johnny English Strikes Again

Curates Egg

(Edit) 08/05/2019

It is OK but nothing special to shout about. There were laughs, some good visual shots and effects but they do not add up to a great film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Jon Vickers: Early Telecasts from Radio Canada

The Talent that was to Blossom into a Star

(Edit) 04/05/2019

Very interesting insight into the early years of John Vickers career and the talent that was being carefully crafted that would see him conquer the worlds leading opera houses. I myself saw him do many of his signature roles at the Royal Opera House and the passion and commitment were hallmarks off his career. Also interesting to see Louis Quilico in some of the scenes who also followed John to sing in many of the worlds leading opera houses.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Overlord

It sent me to sleep

(Edit) 03/05/2019

Quite what happened I do not know but my partner had to wake me up, so interesting was it I had fallen asleep and when I tried to rewatch I could understand the initial impact it had on me. Could have been so much better with a tighter script and a director who was prepared to run a very tight ship!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
1234567891011

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month