Film Reviews by AB

Welcome to AB's film reviews page. AB has written 133 reviews and rated 148 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Man Who Knew Too Much

Another great film from the master Hitchcock

(Edit) 06/04/2020

One of those - "what would I do in this situation"? films where no-one really believes what is going on when trying to explain with a bare minimum of facts and only a hunch as to what the situation may develop into. A vehicle for both Stewart and Day to show that they can act (and in the latter's case, sing), with scenes in several countries (albeit as an obvious film backdrop in some scenes) but overall a very good film with a clever backdrop of how the murder will be attempted, as stated, possibly the first time that this 'cover' has been used cinematically.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pixels

Disappointing

(Edit) 28/03/2020

The premise - I like. The film itself - so very disappointing. There was virtually no re-enactment of the gaming scenarios that everyone played when they were younger - the 'taking out' of the invaders was done by a 'light cannon' which eradicated everything it needed to but the fun, enjoyment and graphics that one remembers from Space Invaders, Asteroids etc is completely missing from this. A strong dose of humour would have made this better but even that was missing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Fountain

Another dose of psychobabble

(Edit) 28/03/2020

Even the synopsis to me was confusing - it talked of 3 parallel lives but apart from the Spanish Conquistador one and the surgeon one, the third strand in the actual film bypassed me - was that dream-like scenario supposed to be mankind in the future? Or a dream? Too highbrow for me and far too confusing to be anywhere near enjoyable. One for film aficionados only or those with a degree in psychiatry or those who eat magic mushrooms every day.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Fistful of Dollars

Will always be a classic

(Edit) 29/02/2020

We all know the storyline from this, the first of the 'spaghetti westerns' - the moralistic stranger who has no compunction about killing or helping those in need but even after nigh-on 50 years, it is still a great film, with a superb musical score that leads you on to whistling it for most of the day! Most of the films from that genre have the same storyline but, what the heck. I defy any man to deny that he has seen himself in the Clint Eastwood role

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Iceman: The Time Traveler

Overly complex

(Edit) 27/02/2020

Far too complex to be enjoyable. The film starts in the Ming dynasty and then suddenly jumps to the modern day with only a passing one-liner as explanation, with the same characters in situ. No storyline, explanation or guidance as to what is going on, beyond the time-travelling orb but even that is too simple an explanation as to what we are supposed to be seeing.

Unenjoyable and overly complicated.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

I Was Monty's Double

A Brave man to do all that

(Edit) 21/02/2020

The synopsis is elsewhere but given that this film is based on the memoirs of the real-life man who also stars in the film he was a very brave man to take on the role as Montgomery and he must have been a good actor to try and pick up M's habits, gait and mannerisms to the level that it fooled the Germans. Clifton James in this film probably did just what he did in the 'real' scenario but it does not detract from what he did that in the end probably saved a lot of lives. If you read the WIkipedia page on him, the links with well-known people come out that I didn't know - q.v. David Niven, Dennis Wheatley and the fact that James had to have a prosthetic finger

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ghost in the Shell

Too philosophical and reliant on cgi

(Edit) 07/02/2020

The cgi was good - I liked the giant figures dotting the landscape of the city, but the storyline was a bit too "what does it mean to be human?" to make much of an actual story, the denouement of which become obvious most of the way through. The film is really a cross between the exploits of the Borg, Terminator, Bladerunner and The Matrix with a female Data in the lead. Film was visually too dark to enjoy but left some questions - how many of the 'renegades' were there? Where were they and what were they doing now? Not great but worth a watch as a visual piece of entertainment

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Insider

Would we have the nerve?

(Edit) 01/02/2020

A film of conflicts - does the hero accept his NDA details or do the "right" thing? Given the pressure he is put under by corporate moguls I for one would simply give up or try a better method of releasing the information - dump it in the street? Send it abroad for perusal? Makes you fret for the wee people

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Legend of Bagger Vance

More emotional than you would think

(Edit) 31/01/2020

Despite the genre of stated Drama, Sci-Fi & Fantasy, Sports & Sport Films, only the first and last are true! A film about golf, psychology, love, memories, war and township with some good acting and (probably) correct accents

I liked the film, as it didn't try to ram any details about golf down the viewer's throat, which would have spoiled it and instead made it about trust, help and friendships with a sporting background

I got quite emotional watching it, tears appearing, for no real reason I can fathom but it is a feel-good film that should have been more successful with its release than it was and I highly recommend a watch. The denouement of the round kept me guessing as well.

What I found amusing was that at the end of all the usual spiel about cast, crew, location etc, there was the usual bumpf about characters and events being fictitious and any relation to people, dead or alive, is coincidental. So Bobby Jones and Walter Hagen were figments of Robert Redford's imagination?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Goonies

very poor

(Edit) 25/01/2020

A film so poor that it is almost unwatchable with a soundtrack that comprises mainly of high-pitched, shouty, children making it very difficult to actually pick out what they are saying

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Joneses

Unusual storyline with add-ons

(Edit) 15/01/2020

Liked the premise of the film and how true it all could be, certainly for people way beyond my pay grade.

Couple of nice twists in the story and I would recommend a watching of this film

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Collateral Damage

Arnie against ... part 100

(Edit) 15/01/2020

Arnie doing what he does in a lot of his films, deciding that he alone can rid the world of baddies, this time Colombian freedom fighters who killed his wife and son with a terrorist bomb. Not much surprising, except one twist that I for one didn't see coming (but the clues are there, with hindsight). A lot of explosions, gunfire and people surviving a beating from hell to still be able to get their act together. Passes 109 minutes of your life requiring very little thought as you know what will happen at the end!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Big Fish

Another Tim Burton oddity

(Edit) 02/01/2020

A bizarre, unfathomable mixture of life, metaphor and tall stories that makes you question why you are watching this poor film rather than shampooing the goldfish, as the viewer never really understands what is going on/went on w.r.t. the truth. A selection of good UK actors and actresses showing what they could do (despite having to do a Southern US state selection of accents, but doing so professionally and consummately) and the film is the sort of thing that Tim Burton, the Coen brothers and M NIght Shyamalan do with their odd outlooks on film making. Cannot recommend it at all

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Marie Antoinette

Grandiose spectacular with an annoying feature

(Edit) 02/01/2020

Grandiose settings, costumes and personnel to show the story of Marie-Antoinette and her travails at the French court.

Lots to offer in the historical context, with some additional "what ifs" and "perhaps this" but to me the film could have done with some better speech training so that the players, although not to be made to speak in cod French accents, at least should not be speaking in American accents.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ikiru

Poignant but oh so dull

(Edit) 22/12/2019

A film that shows that living a life of drudgery is no life at all through the experiences of a terminally-ill bureaucrat is poignant in parts, helped a bit by the rigours of Japanese life, by showing that one should live some sort of life. Can only see that this is the sort of film that Guardian-reading film buffs would regard as a 'classic' but even though the sentiments are to be believed in, the film is tediously dull. However, having said that, I have given it 3 stars because it should be a wake-up call to everyone living the sort of life that relies on staying in a rut to encourage them to see life from a different perspective.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
123456789

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month