Film Reviews by AB

Welcome to AB's film reviews page. AB has written 124 reviews and rated 135 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Goonies

very poor

(Edit) 25/01/2020

A film so poor that it is almost unwatchable with a soundtrack that comprises mainly of high-pitched, shouty, children making it very difficult to actually pick out what they are saying

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Joneses

Unusual storyline with add-ons

(Edit) 15/01/2020

Liked the premise of the film and how true it all could be, certainly for people way beyond my pay grade.

Couple of nice twists in the story and I would recommend a watching of this film

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Collateral Damage

Arnie against ... part 100

(Edit) 15/01/2020

Arnie doing what he does in a lot of his films, deciding that he alone can rid the world of baddies, this time Colombian freedom fighters who killed his wife and son with a terrorist bomb. Not much surprising, except one twist that I for one didn't see coming (but the clues are there, with hindsight). A lot of explosions, gunfire and people surviving a beating from hell to still be able to get their act together. Passes 109 minutes of your life requiring very little thought as you know what will happen at the end!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Big Fish

Another Tim Burton oddity

(Edit) 02/01/2020

A bizarre, unfathomable mixture of life, metaphor and tall stories that makes you question why you are watching this poor film rather than shampooing the goldfish, as the viewer never really understands what is going on/went on w.r.t. the truth. A selection of good UK actors and actresses showing what they could do (despite having to do a Southern US state selection of accents, but doing so professionally and consummately) and the film is the sort of thing that Tim Burton, the Coen brothers and M NIght Shyamalan do with their odd outlooks on film making. Cannot recommend it at all

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Marie Antoinette

Grandiose spectacular with an annoying feature

(Edit) 02/01/2020

Grandiose settings, costumes and personnel to show the story of Marie-Antoinette and her travails at the French court.

Lots to offer in the historical context, with some additional "what ifs" and "perhaps this" but to me the film could have done with some better speech training so that the players, although not to be made to speak in cod French accents, at least should not be speaking in American accents.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ikiru

Poignant but oh so dull

(Edit) 22/12/2019

A film that shows that living a life of drudgery is no life at all through the experiences of a terminally-ill bureaucrat is poignant in parts, helped a bit by the rigours of Japanese life, by showing that one should live some sort of life. Can only see that this is the sort of film that Guardian-reading film buffs would regard as a 'classic' but even though the sentiments are to be believed in, the film is tediously dull. However, having said that, I have given it 3 stars because it should be a wake-up call to everyone living the sort of life that relies on staying in a rut to encourage them to see life from a different perspective.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Neverwhere

Unusual, weird

(Edit) 15/12/2019

An unusual fantasy world exists below London, populated by quirky characters - The Angel [called] Islington, etc.

Not a great storyline, with some poor sub-plots [even a murderous beast that looked more like a Highland Cow than anything else] with any suspense but watchable as you try to find out what happens next.

My only major gripe would be the series title: Neverwhere is a rubbish title and it should have been something like "London Life Below", "Underwhere" or something equally as odd to try and catch your attention.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Cemetery Junction

Disappointing but oh so British

(Edit) 12/12/2019

A typical British film with subtle humour, nostalgia and quaint observations about the rut that a lot of people find themselves in. A lot of people will nod their head in agreement with the background storyline about the futility of life, especially as seen from restrospective point of view from us 'grown-ups', whereas these characters at least have the gumption to do something about their situations.

I must disagree with the review that publicises this film; "hilarious" it is not - depressing, yes; funny - no; amusing, quaint, quintessentially British - yes

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Idiocracy

Not great at all

(Edit) 08/12/2019

Unfunny, but, horrifically, this could be the future given the level of brain power being shown by mankind at the moment

Very poor storyline, overly-brash and loud and depressingly prescient

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Robin Hood

Not as bad as you think

(Edit) 08/12/2019

Another Hollywood remake of a classic story that had its moments that lent an amusing slant - eg the scene in the Crusade battle where the unit is performing street fighting manoeuvres but instead of rifles they are doing "house to house" using bows and arrows. Not as bad as other critiques here but the CGI of Middle-Ages Nottingham - Just NO. On par with the Russell Crowe version as being 'different' without being ludicrous.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Elseworlds

Far too confusing

(Edit) 04/12/2019

The storyline in itself is not that difficult to follow; what is difficult is, that unless you are au fait with the full back story of the characters Green Arrow, Flash and Supergirl, and their interactions (if indeed they do interact in "DC World") things become a bit confusing as to who is what and, most pertinently, where. Rather disappointing overall but has a clever trick of having episodes from the 3 series interwoven as one storyline, but my original statement overrides that as you could very easily have had 3 standalone episodes of a mini-series, given that all the characters are involved in all 3 'episodes'

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

23 Paces to Baker Street

Nice little thriller

(Edit) 28/11/2019

Enjoyable thriller that has a few twists and turns as a gang of three, with very little information to work with, try and fathom what is going on from an overheard conversation in the pub, with the main protagonist relying on his non-visual senses to try and help and to drive things along.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Secret in Their Eyes

A mix of sentiments

(Edit) 23/11/2019

Firstly, an admission - I had no idea that this was an Argentinian film - I thought that it was from Spain, but that is irrelevant.

A nice mix of love, crime, friendship, memories, ghosts, retribution, wondering, questions - all contained within a single storyline played out over 25 years.

Give it a viewing

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In the Electric Mist

Good thriller but ...

(Edit) 22/11/2019

I enjoyed this and it was a very acceptable thriller but I had two reservations - there were 2 back-stories that were not expanded upon that would have helped understand some of the storyline - the sly comment about baseball and the witnessing of the swamp shooting and, secondly, why did the murderer do the murders? A bit more meat on the bones would have helped the whole thing. Nice little twist at the end with the picture that lent an atmosphere of fantasy/supernatural.

OK - A slight third reservation. The step-daughter's name - why not pick something simple that could have been made out in conversation rather than distract people from trying to work out what the name is?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Seven Men from Now

Slow, ponderous and hardly fulfilling w.r.t the title

(Edit) 15/11/2019

Not a manhunt in sight, more a slow-moving sequence of horses, wagons and a male/female attraction, all preparing for a showdown where you knew what would happen, but there were two twists in the story that made it more interesting than any other standard 1950's B-western.

What was the point of the Indians in the film? Or the Old Timer and his donkey in the way station? Two scenes that were meaningless, irrelevant and a distraction.

This film took far too long to even get started to keep an interest.

Acting was fine from Scott and Marvin but Gail Russell was going through the motions as an irrelevant appendage to the film and you could have imagined Doris Day or any other actress of the period doing exactly the same job, with the same script in the same voice.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
123456789

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month