Film Reviews by AB

Welcome to AB's film reviews page. AB has written 93 reviews and rated 102 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Once Upon a Time in Mexico

A bit of a mess

(Edit) 30/07/2019

A mess of a film - I think that you have needed to watch the first film to understand what is going on...

... it is also very pretentious to make a film that is 80% spoken in Spanish for world release.

I Iost track of who was who and what the hell the whole thing was about

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Wrinkle in Time

If only there was a zero star option ...

(Edit) 21/07/2019

Absolutely pretentious incomprehensible psychobabble drivel. No idea what this was about (bar saving a father) or who thought that this was worth making into a film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Goldstone

Not quite as good as the first

(Edit) 16/07/2019

Not as good a film as Mystery Road and Jay Swan gets to shoot rifles from a distance again!

People have said that it is slow moving but I did not find that a negative - life does not rush about in the Outback and the storyline was very plausible for a remote place. Q: How did Jay get back 'home' after his run-in with security as the plane took off? He was a bit of a physical mess after the car roll and it seemed a long walk to me to wherever he was trying to get to.

Would love to see the details on the map that he used a couple of times to try and find his way round - must be such landmarks as "3rd rock", "big sand dune" !!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sabata

Awful

(Edit) 07/07/2019

I am a fan of westerns, especially the better spaghetti westerns, but this is truly awful - devoid of a real story or plot, any back story revelation and any real acting,and with the ubiquitous shriek of a bullet being fired from every gun in the film, as per every spaghetti western. I can only surmise that Lee Van Cleef needed the money for some reason to star in this

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets

Not great...

(Edit) 06/07/2019

Not great, not even good with a storyline that promised a lot and delivered less. Plus: Cara Delevingne as eye candy and acting better than I expected. Rihanna's role, played with tongue in cheek. Good CGI. Well-formed introductory 10-minutes Minus: a seeming 12-year-old as a MAJOR in Special forces? Lack of real feeling between the two leads, an ending that I still am unsure of (what exactly happened to the Pearls? and how?).

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Predestination

Too complex for a bear of little brain

(Edit) 28/06/2019

Astonishingly complex, and even after reading the Wikipedia synopsis, I still cannot get my head around it all.

Watching it, all my brain was thinking was (a) The Temporal Prime Directive from Star Trek had nothing on this and (b) Dr. Who's statement of "timey wimey". Good luck in trying to understand it all (Without cheating via Wikipedia)

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Kiss Kiss Bang Bang

Amusing and light-hearted

(Edit) 09/06/2019

Amusing (but not *funny*) story about a no-hoper thrown into the world of Hollywood and murder. NIce moments but the character storyline *can* be a bit confusing as to who is what and why and how. However - a pleasant film with more positives than negatives

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Jungle Book

Very very good

(Edit) 09/06/2019

Excellent CGI but the characterisations are spot on - with a hint of musical humour that harks back to the original film. Poignant, heart-warming and a feel-good factor. Very highly recommended

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Avengers: Age of Ultron

Not as good as others in the MCU

(Edit) 05/05/2019

IMO, one of the poorer offerings in the MCU - apart from the fairly wooden acting, my main gripe was the cinematic editing where a lot of the 'action' was filmed in semi darkness, making it difficult to see. Storyline was OK, if a bit tenuous and the film was a bit too reliant on CGI, but the start of the group action that is to follow.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Thor

AN introduction to the Norse part of Marvel

(Edit) 03/05/2019

As part of the MCU, there had to be a film about Thor - he is such a part of Marvel that it would be insane NOT to have one. The nice thing about this film (from an intelligence point of view) is that is introduces Norse mythology to the uninitiated, with a spot of sci-fi thrown in to explain it all (eg the Bifrost bridge, with Heimdall as a gatekeeper, enacting his powers as a seer of all things). Story-wise: not great, acting-wise: average (but enhanced by Anthony Hopkins and Stellan Skarsgard), CGI: OK (not as pervasive/invasive as later MCU films)

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Darkman

Completely OTT

(Edit) 29/04/2019

Poor storyline, poor acting, faux super powers, standard baddies (who like them all, cannot shoot straight). Pretty dreadful over all

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Exit Wounds

Not *quite* your typical thriller with a nice twist

(Edit) 29/04/2019

Another film where Seagal gets to show off some martial arts, but not always the best way and an idea that has been done before (one man + a couple of mates against seemingly The World) but this one has a nice twist to the storyline that makes you change your allegiance

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Jumper

Nice concept spoiled by small things

(Edit) 17/04/2019

One of those - "This is cool, wish I could do that" type of films - a bit like a limited-ability version of "Loopers"

What I found most annoying was Jamie Bell's diction - I couldn't make out what he was saying a lot of the time, lazy acting to my mind, which means poor Directing.

A bit too much (pointless) leaping about

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Parallax View

Humdrum at best

(Edit) 17/04/2019

Storyline been done so many times before and better and this was actually uninteresting, even though it must have been one of the first of that genre.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Shooter

Wanting the good guy to win

(Edit) 08/04/2019

Storyline is not new, action shots neither, the outcome - very guessable.

But, this is one of those films that make you wonder - "what if this was me?".

Enjoyable without being trite.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
1234567

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month