Film Reviews by IG

Welcome to IG's film reviews page. IG has written 49 reviews and rated 243 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In Her Hands

Far From Challenging

(Edit) 29/05/2021

Totally predictable, shallow, feel good story that will not test your intellect or emotions, that said we found it quite entertaining and a pleasant interlude from the grim stuff we usually watch.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Riviera: Series 1

Dull as Ditchwater

(Edit) 12/04/2021

Gave up on this after watching 3 episodes, maybe it gets better, frankly I just don't care. Bond without the humour, McMafia without the style, The Night Manager without the acting finesse, none of these were for me either but they all feature sterotypes, cliches, and simplistic plotlines so are roughly of the same ilk as Riviera.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Immortal

Gripping

(Edit) 06/02/2021

You really need to have watched the series Gomorrah, which is brilliant, to make full sense of this film.

Like the series a simple gangster tale is uplifted by great direction and acting performance into a compelling emotional story.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Whistlers

Dull

(Edit) 06/01/2021

Gets off to a reasonable and promising start but then meanders through a rather formulaic route to a dull ending, passes the time but that is about it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Come as You Are

Amusing and Moving

(Edit) 27/11/2020

Very watchable, a lot of humour intertwined with some touching moments presented in a non-judgemental style. Well worth a watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Personal History of David Copperfield

Not for Us

(Edit) 20/11/2020

This failed for us on many levels, not least the bizarre, almost surreal, mixed race casting.

The style is amateurish, content is not that entertaining, a few good moments and decent performances but generally just dull.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Singapore Grip

Far from gripping

(Edit) 20/10/2020

Downhill all the way after a promising start concluding with the last episode that has all the feel that the money had run out in equal measures to the enthusiasm of the scriptwriters, director and actors. Visually not a bad job as a period piece but there is little else to recommend. The style is confused and often farcical, the characters are all two dimensional at best, a simplistic plot that lacks intellectual depth.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Honeyland

Outstanding

(Edit) 22/08/2020

Stunning portrait of a dignified woman whose life is beyond anything I have experience of, beautiful and very moving.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Emma

Dreadful

(Edit) 03/08/2020

Each to their own, but, we thoroughly disliked this film and turned it off after 30 minutes, maybe it improved, I doubt it and really don't care. I appreciate that the story is intended to amuse and ridicule the social mores of the period but that does not excuse the lightweight style of this film, more to the point the soundtrack is loud, intrusive and totally inappropriate: Worse than a B movie.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Motherless Brooklyn

Good but not Great

(Edit) 03/08/2020

Moderately interesting film, adequately delivered, nicely produced with some stylish moments. That the central character has Tourette's Syndrome is a double edged sword, it adds to the interest but as in real life is a rather irritating affliction all round.

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Informer

Good but not Great.

(Edit) 30/06/2020

Well made film with decent actors that moves along and entertains, downside is a rather predictable storyline similar in many ways to a host of other films of this genre, a good but not great film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Official Secrets

Modern Tragedy

(Edit) 30/06/2020

I thought this would be rather dull and with the benefit of hindsight present a rose-tinted view of events, luckily I was wrong, a quite gripping film that presents the facts succintly. Well worth a watch.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

1917

Disappointing

(Edit) 29/05/2020

We found this rather lacking in emotion, bland, sanitised and overall very dull. Suggest you watch Gallipoli or Hacksaw Ridge for a gripping war film, this one isn't.

4 out of 12 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Catherine the Great

Uninspiring

(Edit) 10/02/2020

With the possible exception that she has Russian ancestry, why cast Helen Mirren in this role, she is around 40 years older than the age of the character she portrays?

For a far more entertaining and closer to history version watch the Russian produced Ekaterina, it is brilliant, unlike this dull effort.

4 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Shiny Shrimps

Very Amusing

(Edit) 25/01/2020

This film will not test your intellectual ability, but, will make you laugh, and, it is certainly not boring. A feelgood movie with some tragic moments, well worth a watch.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
1234