Film Reviews by IG

Welcome to IG's film reviews page. IG has written 37 reviews and rated 128 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

1917

Disappointing

(Edit) 29/05/2020

We found this rather lacking in emotion, bland, sanitised and overall very dull. Suggest you watch Gallipoli or Hacksaw Ridge for a gripping war film, this one isn't.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Catherine the Great

Uninspiring

(Edit) 10/02/2020

With the possible exception that she has Russian ancestry, why cast Helen Mirren in this role, she is around 40 years older than the age of the character she portrays?

For a far more entertaining and closer to history version watch the Russian produced Ekaterina, it is brilliant, unlike this dull effort.

4 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Shiny Shrimps

Very Amusing

(Edit) 25/01/2020

This film will not test your intellectual ability, but, will make you laugh, and, it is certainly not boring. A feelgood movie with some tragic moments, well worth a watch.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Glass

Terrible

(Edit) 22/01/2020

One of the worst films ever, overlong, dull and weak in every sense. Please do not make the same mistake as we did and assume a good cast list list will deliver an entertaining watch, you will be disappointed.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Vanishing

Fails to Deliver

(Edit) 17/01/2020

Promises a lot but ultimately fails to deliver and is rather dull. The plot is fairly simple but had the scope for a more intriguing narrative and some suspense, watch something else.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bad Times at the El Royale

Entertaining Nonsense

(Edit) 25/11/2019

Exceeded expectations, never a dull moment, some interesting plot twists, engaging characters, very watchable.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Loro

Brilliant

(Edit) 18/08/2019

If you liked The Great Beauty this will be right up your street. We found this film informative, offensive, outrageous, but, above all very watchable and extremely amusing. Power corrupts and absolute power in the main gets away with it, with a cast of in the main part willing volunteers. Toni Servillo is impressive and even when his character is being essentially quite ruthless and manipulative, he still amuses.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Holy Lands

We liked it

(Edit) 19/08/2019

An engaging film about the trials, and tribulations of families which is lightened considerably by a lot of humour.

I daresay that some supporters of Israel and/or Palestine will find it annoying or even offensive, but, I don't believe it is meant to be a political statement or a travelogue, it does though, take a satirical stance on the perils of the corporate superstition of organised religion.

Overall an amusing fairly lightweight film, that has it's tragic moments, moves along, with decent acting, interaction between James Caan and Tom Hollander is particularly strong, we liked it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

If Beale Street Could Talk

Pedestrian

(Edit) 28/07/2019

A rather dull film all round that moves at a snail's pace through a story without any discernible merit or purpose, overlong and pointless.

3 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Guilty

Gripping

(Edit) 14/06/2019

Brilliant, well worth a watch: A very moving and evolving drama that holds your interest to the end, Jakob Cedergren delivers a strong performance.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Beautiful Boy

Overlong

(Edit) 24/05/2019

The storyline is not an uncommon one, obviously this was unlikely to be amusing and entertaining, for us there is a limit to how much self-indulgent pity we can enjoy, this film exceeded that, the final chapter should have come around an hour sooner.

On the plus side the acting is first class, small children included, the "Beautiful Boy" gives a stellar performance we hated him in no time.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Old Man and the Gun

Very Watchable

(Edit) 24/05/2019

Filmed through rose-tinted glasses, but, none the worse for that, very entertaining and enjoyable to watch, Robert Redford delivers a strong performance.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wildlife

A People Film

(Edit) 24/05/2019

A well put together film with strong acting, delivers a far more interesting story than the synopsis suggests.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The House That Jack Built

Fails to Entertain

(Edit) 02/05/2019

This is film features unrelenting violence that goes way beyond the realms of black humour, sick, warped and for us unwatchable.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sorry to Bother You

Fairly Ridiculous

(Edit) 02/05/2019

Only watch if you've time to waste; has some funny moments here and there, but, otherwise lacks any meaningful content.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.
123

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month