Film Reviews by IG

Welcome to IG's film reviews page. IG has written 31 reviews and rated 88 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Loro

Brilliant

(Edit) 18/08/2019

If you liked The Great Beauty this will be right up your street. We found this film informative, offensive, outrageous, but, above all very watchable and extremely amusing. Power corrupts and absolute power in the main gets away with it, with a cast of in the main part willing volunteers. Toni Servillo is impressive and even when his character is being essentially quite ruthless and manipulative, he still amuses.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Holy Lands

We liked it

(Edit) 19/08/2019

An engaging film about the trials, and tribulations of families which is lightened considerably by a lot of humour.

I daresay that some supporters of Israel and/or Palestine will find it annoying or even offensive, but, I don't believe it is meant to be a political statement or a travelogue, it does though, take a satirical stance on the perils of the corporate superstition of organised religion.

Overall an amusing fairly lightweight film, that has it's tragic moments, moves along, with decent acting, interaction between James Caan and Tom Hollander is particularly strong, we liked it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

If Beale Street Could Talk

Pedestrian

(Edit) 28/07/2019

A rather dull film all round that moves at a snail's pace through a story without any discernible merit or purpose, overlong and pointless.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Guilty

Gripping

(Edit) 14/06/2019

Brilliant, well worth a watch: A very moving and evolving drama that holds your interest to the end, Jakob Cedergren delivers a strong performance.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Beautiful Boy

Overlong

(Edit) 24/05/2019

The storyline is not an uncommon one, obviously this was unlikely to be amusing and entertaining, for us there is a limit to how much self-indulgent pity we can enjoy, this film exceeded that, the final chapter should have come around an hour sooner.

On the plus side the acting is first class, small children included, the "Beautiful Boy" gives a stellar performance we hated him in no time.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Old Man and the Gun

Very Watchable

(Edit) 24/05/2019

Filmed through rose-tinted glasses, but, none the worse for that, very entertaining and enjoyable to watch, Robert Redford delivers a strong performance.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wildlife

A People Film

(Edit) 24/05/2019

A well put together film with strong acting, delivers a far more interesting story than the synopsis suggests.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The House That Jack Built

Fails to Entertain

(Edit) 02/05/2019

This is film features unrelenting violence that goes way beyond the realms of black humour, sick, warped and for us unwatchable.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sorry to Bother You

Fairly Ridiculous

(Edit) 02/05/2019

Only watch if you've time to waste; has some funny moments here and there, but, otherwise lacks any meaningful content.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Zama

Slower than Wood

(Edit) 27/03/2019

Gave up on this, subtitles are not that easy to read, plot meanders around with some vague attempt at surrealism, and, overall the subject matter is fairly dull and uninteresting. There are moments that entertain, but, not enough to hold our interest to the bitter end.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Cold War

Worth A Watch

(Edit) 27/03/2019

A good, but, not great film, that holds your attention and is worth a watch. Delivers a very authentic period feel, with very capable direction and acting, far from boring.

Subtitles are a let down, small font, white characters often against a light background, and not always on long enough to read in full.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

First Reformed

Compelling Watch

(Edit) 15/12/2018

A bleak, humourless, depressing film that treads a different path and is surprisingly compelling to watch.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Black Butterfly

Slow As Wood

(Edit) 25/11/2018

Gave up on this one third in, too dull and uneventful, with lacklustre uninteresting acting. Maybe it gets better later on, we'll never know or care for that matter.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Happy Prince

Decline and fall of a literary emperor

(Edit) 31/10/2018

A brilliant piece of work by Rupert Everett all round, intelligent, interesting and a delight to watch, amazing really focusing as it does on the morally questionable and rather seedy last years of Wilde's life: Thoroughly enjoyed it.

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mary Shelley

Entertaining

(Edit) 22/10/2018

Whether this accurately represents the actual life and motivations of the people involved, or genuinely presents any insight into Mary Shelley's intentions as to how her novel was to be perceived appears to bother some viewers of this film, for me, it is an entertaining period drama that was an enjoyable watch.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.
123

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month