Film Reviews by AW

Welcome to AW's film reviews page. AW has written 33 reviews and rated 41 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Fall Series

Held my curiosity all the way thru

(Edit) 08/08/2020

Gillian and Jamie are both outstanding in this series. Just as I thought it was finishing, I discovered there was another series and thought “oh no” but surprisingly it did keep me on the edge of my seat throughout. Well done. 

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hostiles

Bit slow, but worth seeing through

(Edit) 01/08/2020

Off to a good start, then incredibly slow and drawn out emotional saga. However, worth watching to the end and nice to see something a bit different. Both Rosamund Pike and Christian Bale give outstanding performances. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Good Liar

Clever plot, twists and turns

(Edit) 01/08/2020

Highly entertaining, clever plot movie with unexpected twists and turns. We started out thinking “predictable” but we’re then in for a surprise. A great evening’s entertainment. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Guilty

Bit painful, background entertainment

(Edit) 13/06/2020

Bit painful due to the terrible acting, apart from Bill. Mediocre plot and inexperienced actors but ok for background if you’re doing something else.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Affair

A good start

(Edit) 22/01/2020

This starts out really well, is intriguing and Dominic West / Ruth Wilson are just great together. By episode 6 or so nothing more is really happening and you then realise not only is Series 1 ten episodes long but it's a 5 part series. By episode 10 we were starting to wonder if anything else was actually going to happen. Haven't written it off yet but no idea how they can drag one affair on for approximately 50 episodes!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hustlers

Disappointment of the year

(Edit) 01/11/2019

Went to see this at the cinema without any research as we love Jennifer. Very disappointed. The plot was played out within the first fifteen minutes and then just repeated over and over. Her poorest performance yet although you’d have to admire that she mastered the pole! 

3 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Southside with You

Disappointed

(Edit) 24/10/2019

This movie is about their first date. And that’s it. The first date almost word for word and it ends when he takes her home. Yawn. 

I would say only good for avid fans of the Obamas.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Man Who Knew Infinity

Heartwarming, fact based movie

(Edit) 03/10/2019

Once again, Dev Patel excels himself portraying this young mathematician in the most heart warming and humble way. A wonderful story, at times heart warming and at others, heart breaking. 

Very close to my heart as my mother came to the uk 60 years ago from India and I now see how unbelievably brave that was.

Aside from that (!) I’d hugely recommend this movie. Thank you Dev.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Geostorm

A disaster in itself

(Edit) 07/04/2019

Oh dear, what can I say? Not many movies are this deathly dull and the acting is shockingly bad. Gerald, what on earth were you thinking, getting involved in this? For much of it we wondered if it was a spoof, but no, it’s just horrific

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Molly's Game

Disappointing considering the cast

(Edit) 23/12/2018

Chose this due to the cast. Desperately dull is the best description. Iris Elba is good. Jessica’s role was empty and shallow and seemed to consist of a string of appearances in low cut pretty dresses and little else. We fell asleep 3/4 of the way thru and struggled to the end the next day.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hell or High Water

Mildly entertaining

(Edit) 07/04/2018

Cops and robbers movie with a bit of a Bonnie and Clyde theme. Jeff Bridges seems to have a false teeth problem and not that easy to understand! Bit slow but mildly entertaining.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Time Out of Mind

Oh dear

(Edit) 07/04/2018

Don’t know what to say really. Watched the first twenty minutes in which nothing happened. Watched the next twenty on fast forward - Richard Gere wandering around aimlessly. Persisted a bit longer but never got the plot, I don’t think there was one.

Such a disappointment for Richard.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

All the Money in the World

Incorrect description from cinema paradiso

(Edit) 18/01/2018

Kevin Spacey is not in this movie so the description is incorrect - see dvd front cover for correct cast

0 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Smashed

Non existent plot and poor acting

(Edit) 26/02/2017

Combined, the non existent plot and poor acting mean you'd have to be bored to tears to watch this. Sat through a third of it and could t work out why anyone would even make this movie.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Shame

This is what isn't ent being said

(Edit) 22/08/2016

Despite the cast, a disappointing movie. Until you realise why what's happening can't be spoken in words.

This is a tragic and wretched story of a man who is unable to commit to any relationship because he can't have the one woman he wants. The woman who wants him too, but can't have him either, despite her best efforts.

Because they are brother and sister.

He tries to satisfy his desires any which way he can but nothing works. She eventually makes a wretched suicide attempt.

Tragic.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
123

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month