Film Reviews by None

Welcome to None's film reviews page. None has written 9 reviews and rated 61 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Master

Master-less

(Edit) 17/11/2013

I wish I had seen the (only) review instead of relying on the synopsis there's a laugh. It is one of the worst films I have seen for some time. I had some sympathy for the two male leads who struggled with a nebulous story and in the end I gave up before it finished.Little attempt to hold an audience apart from gratuitous nudity and sex and maybe a passing wave to scientology.

Perhaps the Venice Festival is some kind of backscratching contest?

1 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Five Minarets in New York

Starts with a bang,ends with a gasp.

(Edit) 22/06/2012

I wondered if there had been a change of director during the making of the film, as the pace at the start was fast but then it seemed that the plot was lost about half way through.The stilted acting from Patrick and Glover was almost embarrassing at times and I know they are better than that.

Perhaps the last third or so could be condensed? It appeared that more attention was being focussed on non pivotal aspects and the action was smothered in subtitles as it lurched toward the end.

A shame, as the idea has legs but was not exploited .

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Centurion

Romans v Picts,disappoints.

(Edit) 04/12/2011

On the plus side the camera work is excellent,the scenery and fight sequences magnificent but perhaps this was a missed opportunity to be a first rate film. The story of the ninth legion is widely known and I guess this particular resolution is plausible,just. The interpretation of Pict history and behaviour is imaginative I'm not sure how accurate,but I felt cheated by the rather cursory treatment. The Picts seem left with the remnants from the make-up and costume department!

Several attempts to portray camaraderie provided the worst scenes, appearing to have been added as an afterthought.

Some fine individual acting ,mainly by the Romans,but the opportunity to really develop the Pict character storyline was missed ,a pity.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Red Road

The road less travelled.

(Edit) 07/06/2011

I guess if you live in a narrow world it is likely you begin to believe it is the only reality.This is not the only view of Glasgow as much as some may wish to have us believe.

Jackie is a voyeur with an agenda,perhaps that of Andrea Arnold.

After viewing the film I thought what a waste of acting talent,an attempt to show purpose in an aspect of the seamier side of city life.Perhaps the involvement of the BBC was the kiss of death,there are a lot of cctv cameras.

If I was a native I would not consider this entertaining unless I had a certain political agenda.As a viewer it was patronising and at times boring and formulaic. I guess Arnold the Frog and Bafta have a lot in common.

Some of the flats are now used by the YMCA and others for business.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Road

Ultimate road movie.

(Edit) 31/05/2011

Unexpectedly moving in parts. The bleak atmosphere created by the the filming really pervades everything right up to the end.Each step in their journey is dictated by dire circumstances until you begin to think that the end is a foregone conclusion.

The son, in my opinion, has the better part to play,and there are some heart rending scenes which were played so authentically that I defy anyone not to have a tear to wipe away.

Equally some really evil situations some of which are suggested rather than in your face ,will give everyone pause for thought.Recommended.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Reader

Food for thought

(Edit) 23/03/2011

From the beginning there is a urgency to this film that does not allow a minute for relaxation or reflection. The story progresses but not in an expected way and at times I found it very moving particularly as the young man approaches maturity.

This will keep you thinking for days,weeks or maybe even longer.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

One in the eye for CSI

(Edit) 25/02/2011

This must be the best film I have had from Paradiso for a while.

My interest was maintained for almost the whole time( which is rare ) by clever shot angles and a fast paced script, with help from the the cast the action never stopped (for long) The plot is convoluted but not Chandleresque.

I have a criticism,I dont see that the tattoo adds,in fact it detracts.

I am still thinking a week after!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dead Man

Dead Loss

(Edit) 30/08/2010

With such a cast how could it go wrong?

Following a very thin plot ,each scene punctuated by an irritating use of fade-to-black. The dirge like sound track was in keeping ,but I think was another missed opportunity, as with the overall depressing depiction of the country at that point in its history.

Best part has to be the scene with Robert Mitchum.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Revolutionary Road

PAINTING BY NUMBERS

(Edit) 11/04/2010

Watching this film I felt there was perhaps,something I had missed earlier. I kept waiting for it to fall into place. It didnt. My conclusion was this is a series of average cameo performances only loosely connected. Maybe some parts were cut and this has affected the continuity for me. Insufficient weight was given to some pivotal/symptomatic points that could/would have qualified subsequent events.

0 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month