Film Reviews by DH

Welcome to DH's film reviews page. DH has written 59 reviews and rated 114 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hope Gap

Don't bother

(Edit) 22/02/2021

2 people split up - the end. There you are I have saved you an hour and a half of you life. This film is not good. 2 great actors using clunky dialogue and both of their deliveries are so flat that it is incredibly dull. You actually feel like these 2 people actually deserve each other as they are both tedious and uninspiring.

It is a depressing film I'm afraid. The dog is nice and I liked the scene in the solicitors but that's it!

Avoid avoid avoid.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The High Note

Surprising film

(Edit) 08/02/2021

This was a nice movie. We googled Grace at the end to see if she had done her own singing. Discovered she is Diana Ross's daughter so yes she did sing! Very enjoyable, won't change the world but a feel good movie.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Last Christmas

Really lovely film

(Edit) 04/01/2021

I think people have been a bit hard on this movie. If you like Love Actually then you'll enjoy this. It is beautifully acted and has a beginning, middle and end which is not always the case! Emma T is a great script writer. Kate is a tricky character as she is difficult to like at first but you need to stay with it to find out her back story!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Astronaut

Garbage

(Edit) 18/11/2020

The 2 executive producers (the ones who put up the money) are Dreyfus and the guy who plays his son in law! Enough said!

This is so bad and clearly a vehicle for them both. You are supposed to believe that no one checks anything. If you want to be on X Factor they check your passport but no we don't bother if you are going into space and feel free to just wander around a top secret establishment and join the CEO in the boardroom. Who wrote this rubbish?

Always a disaster when the star is involved in the decision making as they are too close!

Avoid avoid avoid

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Roman Holiday

Fabulous film

(Edit) 19/10/2020

This is an absolute classic! A fabulous film. Ms Hepburn is stunning in it. If you want a feel good movie then they don't come much better than this.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Keeper

Very good movie

(Edit) 28/09/2020

Did not have high hopes as I hate war movies and I also hate football so the combination did not bode well for this film. However it is well done and struck a balance that I could cope with.

The base of the story is true. I checked it out afterwards and it seemed pretty factual. The romance is of course layered on so who knows what is true there but it didn't matter.

There is also the fact that they made him a sympathetic character, from what I've read if they depicted him as he really was then you would not have liked him as much and been routing for him. Stories like this always embellish to produce a rounded story.

I thought it was a good watch and would cleverly appeal to those who like war/football and those who like romances.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Giver

OK but left a lot of unanswered questions

(Edit) 14/09/2020

I had to read the full book synopsis online after seeing the movie and it filled in a few gaps which were problematic. Interestingly it states that this should be a story about an 11 year boy, the film depicts him as much older but they wanted a love story so I can see why they did that! This is basically a new take on Logans Run from the 70's. Don't know how the author got away with calling it a new piece of fiction, it wasn't. This isn't bad, it just didn't feel very new. Meryl Streep had more than a bit part and is always watchable. They crammed too much into 93 mins. If they put some more flesh on it by making it a normal 120 mins then it might have been a better movie. I shouldn't have had to read the book review to get the answers I needed about where the babies came from (sounds odd but you'll realise what I mean if you see the film) and why they couldn't keep them all. The book explains it.

Our main problem was not the film makers fault at all. They were talking about a society where they were being told what to do, told they couldn't touch, couldn't meet people, couldn't go out at night. They showed memories of better days when people were at large weddings, travelling the world and he looks with tears in his eyes. Well so did we! All the things we are currently being denied. Their sterile world felt very familiar to our world post Covid and it made it really sad so lost a bit of the magic. I wouldn't watch until these horrible times have passed! I'm sure it will land better in the future as it should show you stuff you take for granted except we don't at the moment.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Charlie's Angels

Dull

(Edit) 10/08/2020

OK I made a mistake here. When I get a movie I usually check that someone in the movie is not involved in the production as they are incapable of being subjective. Sometimes it works but not on too many occasions, mostly it turns into an ego trip. Who should I cast? I know! Me!

One of the leading members of this cast was not satisfied that she take a large role in a screenplay that she WROTE but she also directed and produced it too!!!! The end result is an abysmal film.

We didn't care about any of the characters. All the nostalgia of the original series has gone.

If you like car chases then you might like it otherwise avoid as it is pretty rubbish and thoroughly disappointing!

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Heaven Can Wait

Ego trip

(Edit) 22/06/2020

Beatty wrote the screen play, directed, acted and produced. This is an ego trip for him and it's not even very good. To get as many Oscar nods as it did means that standards were not very high in the 70's or maybe we now just expect more.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sleepless in Seattle

Love this movie

(Edit) 22/06/2020

This is a timeless romance and one of my all time favourites. Hanks and Ryan work beautifully and all the references to 'An Affair to Remember' are special. Wonderful easy romance to watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Destination Wedding

Absolute rubbish

(Edit) 16/04/2020

We gave this an hour. There is no-one else in this movie apart from Keanu and Winona, they do not inspire and you are desperate for someone else for them to talk to.

We decided we'd wasted enough of our life on this miserable offering. Avoid.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Judy

Good movie

(Edit) 02/03/2020

Really gets to the heart of why Judy was such a mess. This is a really good movie and Rene deserves her recent Oscar for this role. Loved revisiting the Talk of the Town as I remembered my visit their in years past! Well worth a watch.

5 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Late Night

Nothing special but an enjoyable watch

(Edit) 06/01/2020

I've seen far worse lately. Total waste of John Lithgoes talents but an easy pay check I suppose. Devil wears Prada was much better.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Star

Well worth a watch

(Edit) 23/12/2019

I've seen a lot of naff animated movies lately and didn't have high hopes for this one but it was really lovely. Well told and the characters were nicely developed. Clearly it helped seeing it the Sunday before Christmas! Children and adults alike will find something special in this film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Rocketman

Dragged - felt like 4 hour film

(Edit) 02/12/2019

Ok, I'm not a fan of Elton John, this certainly did not change that. If someone had made this movie about him he'd have gone mad and sued them for every penny but as he is the exec producer of Rocketman he is clearly happy with this version! Can't think why? If I'd been the emotional wreck as he seems to have been then I'd have not wanted to expose it to one and all but clearly he thinks differently. He has turned his life around now, all credit to him but his early days are quite pitiful. I wanted to like him and feel sorry for him, but I just didn't. I loved the Queen biopic, but this just feels like jumping on the band wagon with less success. Perhaps you need to be a mega fan of Elton John to enjoy this!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
1234

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month