Film Reviews by DH

Welcome to DH's film reviews page. DH has written 36 reviews and rated 86 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Children Act

Fail

(Edit) 03/04/2019

A wholly nonsensical plot, with an unconvincing story line . The actions of the Jehovah's Witness boy make no sense and are inconsistent, as are Thompson's reactions to him. The sideline plot around her husband is also not particularly credible and adds nothing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Cloverfield Paradox

Dreadful

(Edit) 17/03/2019

One of those films that you keep expecting to get better, but actually gets worse. You would be advised to give it a miss.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Negotiator

Good Honest Thriller

(Edit) 12/02/2019

Refreshing to see a film that doesn't try to be too clever by half, or relies on CGI to make an impact. Well paced, it portrays the horrors of 1980s Beirut well, and is well acted. Recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

King of Thieves

Excellent Cast

(Edit) 12/02/2019

I think that overall I prefer the earlier "The Hatton Garden Job" film, but to be fair King of Thieves has a better cast, some good lines, and is probably more true to life, being a bit grittier and darker than the earlier film.

Overall a good entertaining romp with some clever flashback scenes, recommended.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Leave No Trace

Obviously In The Minority

(Edit) 06/02/2019

I should haven taken the critical acclaim for this film as a warning, because philistine that I am, it bored the wotsits off me. The usual arty cliches of angst ridden lead character who says little, moody "atmospheric" shots without dialogue, meandering lightweight "plot".

Sorry, but I didn't get it. Nothing happened, no drama, no suspense, no twists, no real conclusion. It beats watching paint dry, but not by much.

3 out of 8 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

First Reformed

Arty Lefty Cobblers

(Edit) 27/01/2019

This film open with a statement that the film has been shot in 1.33 aspect ratio (old school square TV format) because of the directors "artistic intentions". That was the first big hint of the tone of this film. What exactly this choice of format brought to or added to the film is entirely unclear.

Cue all the old arty cliches - Subdued colour palette ? Tick. Long, static camera shots with no dialogue? Tick. Carefully framed interiors, with moody lighting and shadows ? Tick. Angst ridden lead character with a dark hidden past? Tick.

The film is derivative, unoriginal, and most of all, tedious, not being half as clever as it thinks it is. The central premise of the plot is far fetched, and the ending unsatisfactory.

Do yourself a favour and give it a miss.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hotel Artemis

Just OK

(Edit) 27/01/2019

To be frank I didn't see any politically correct agendas in play here. The film starts off promisingly enough, with Jodie Foster's character being strong and interesting.

As it played out toward the end however, it began to unravel a bit. Jeff Goldblum is good though, and it's fairly harmless entertainment.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Prayer Before Dawn

Gritty

(Edit) 25/12/2018

Very graphic and disturbing scenes inside the Thai prison, not for the faint hearted . Well acted and powerful film, gripping and a recommended watch.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Born Racer

Good Insight

(Edit) 17/12/2018

Recommended for all motor racing / Indycar fans, with an interesting behind the scenes viewpoint. Shame however there is no Blu ray option.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Entebbe

A different Take

(Edit) 17/12/2018

Certainly different in tone and action levels from the original film, with an emphasis on the politics behind the event rather than the event itself.It certainly highlighted the naivety and hypocrisy of the German terrorists, supposedly acting in solidarity with the Palestinians. While there has been a lot of criticism of the dancing sequences, personally the biggest flaw for me was the anti climax of the Israeli rescue raid, which was very short and largely glossed over. Overall well made and acted.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Humanity Bureau

Low Budget

(Edit) 21/11/2018

I struggle to understand how they afforded to hire Cage for this film, as already suggested, perhaps they blew the entire budget on his fee. This is apparently a Canadian produced and funded film, and it really lacks the Hollywood bucks that it needed.

A potentially good story was lurking in there somewhere, but this was a disappointing effort. The plot had more holes than a Swiss cheese, and at the end it left you with that "was that it?" feeling.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ready Player One

Good Harmless Fun

(Edit) 21/11/2018

A bit more of a kids film than I expected, so it has to be viewed through that prism. Having said that, it was watchable, good harmless entertainment with some good CGI work.

The only thing that jarred a bit was that the "real life" street scenes of Ohio USA were actually clearly filmed in the UK, which felt kind of low budget compared to the CGI world scenes.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Solo: A Star Wars Story

Good Harmless Fun

(Edit) 21/10/2018

This turned out OK, bearing in mind all the issues with directors being fired during filming etc. My only criticism being that Alden Ehrenreich is totally miscast as Hans Solo - not only is he noticeably too short, but also too nice. I guess you could get away with Solo becoming grumpier as he got older, but he sure as hell wouldn't have grown 5 inches or so,

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Still on the Run: The Jeff Beck Story

Reluctant Star

(Edit) 21/10/2018

Interesting insight into this maverick, gifted guitar player, with plenty of insight from contemporaries such as Jimmy Page and Eric Clapton. A straight no frills documentary, but none the worse for that.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Deadpool 2

Another Disappointing Sequel

(Edit) 15/10/2018

Surprised that general reviews have been positive, while I laughed my socks off at the first one ,this one left me cold. It just wasn't very funny. Agree with earlier reviewers on here, not recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
123

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month