Film Reviews by TF

Welcome to TF's film reviews page. TF has written 18 reviews and rated 27 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Disraeli

Not impressed

(Edit) 16/11/2020

I did watch this DVD but didn't learn anything from it that I don't remember from my history class 40+ years ago, just broad stereotypes.

The emphasis of the production seemed to be on costume and drama - polite gossip and inuendo, lots of waving fans, wigs and powder.

Historically and politically they were exciting times for an upstart Jew - as I am too - but none of that came across.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

By the Grace of God

Maybe you need to be Catholic

(Edit) 31/07/2020

This was an interesting film about historic child abuse in the Catholic church, specifically the French Catholic church.

The focus was on the victim's attempts to reconcile their personal experience with their faith.

It also set out the Church's response, to look after and forgive the perpetrator.

However, for those of us who are not Catholic, the film is interesting for what it did not cover: the legal or state's response, the lack of child focus of state and Church, the lack of consequences for actions, the lack of lessons learned.

As a non Catholic, I couldn't fathom why. Maybe you need to be Catholic to to understand that.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Princess Bride

Weirdly funny

(Edit) 31/07/2020

Ok, I certainly thought this was a weird film. Every time I thought I knew where it was going, it went somewhere else!

By the end of the film I felt weirdly positive and optimistic, not like me at all!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Just Mercy

Plodding gobsmacker

(Edit) 31/07/2020

I have the film 4 stars not 5 because it plods along in an emotionally restrained way, with a lack of spark, maybe too concerned about veracity than drama.

But it is a real eye opener about the outrageous cynicism of the American " Justice " system brought in to even sharper focus by the Black Lives Matter campaign. Watch it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Roma

Great - watch this film!

(Edit) 17/05/2020

A compelling portrait of society in 70a Mexico through the life of a young woman servant. All the relationships and characters are lovingly shown as individuals.

The film quietly but powerfully dissects issues of class, power, gender and religion without losing any of its humanity and complexity.

Brilliant! I loved this film!

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Galaxy Quest

Highly recommend watching

(Edit) 17/05/2020

Be patient, it takes a while to get into but this film is great fun, a warmhearted and thoughtful send up of the star trek genre. Sigourney Weaver really has the right to star and I loved this film.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Boyhood

Rounded, understated

(Edit) 13/04/2020

Yes this film is different in that it follows one person's development over a long time frame, rather than having a traditional plot. As a result you get a well rounded, detailed picture of him, that is sympathetic and revealing. An excellent if low-key film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

24 Hour Party People

a bit pointless but entertaining.

(Edit) 13/04/2020

I didnt get on very well with this film, I couldnt see what it was "about". Maybe the pointlessness Was the Point, but it was lost on me.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hornblower: Duty

Doesnt do the books justice

(Edit) 13/04/2020

I am a great fan of the Hornblower series of books, covering in depth the different aspects of life in the British Navy when it was supreme. This film didnt convey the depths or cover the more serious issues that the books tackle so adeptly. Maybe it was aimed at a teenage audience?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Judy

Sympathetic portrayal imaginatively presented

(Edit) 13/04/2020

Yes I liked this film, and would recommend it, the costumes and sets were very evocative, all the actors well cast.

It portrayed the particular problems for female solo artists and the wrenchingly unfair choices that had to be made.

The singing was great, though I would have liked more - maybe that's the point - to encourage us to listen to her music.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Surprisingly darkly funny

(Edit) 04/11/2019

I thought this was going to be a depressing, worthy film that I 'ought' to watch.

I was wrong. It Was bleak, but it was also really funny in parts, particularly the firebombing incident.

The acting was completely compelling, and I loved the ending.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Argo

Worth watching

(Edit) 26/09/2019

Making a film about an event or period of trouble and suffering, while still making it pleasant to watch, is difficult. You have to simplify complex things, create empathy, we have to identify with the protagonist to care what happens. All of which this film does.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Justified: Series 1

I love this series

(Edit) 26/09/2019

I love Elmore Leonard and I love this series, it has strong, convincingcharacters, tons of plot, complexity.

Watch it!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Private War

Witness

(Edit) 15/08/2019

This film is excellent at what it does, which is to convey a sense of the person she was and what motivated her, the need to be witness.

It isn't an analysis of the conflicts she covered, but a good film nonetheless.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Snowden

Excellent

(Edit) 22/07/2019

Perhaps that should be Excellent but not Brilliant!

Seen through the prism of 2019, with Cambridge Analytica, Russian manipulation of US and possibly UK democratic processes, Fake news etc, this film seems terribly dated, and innocent in its belief that exposing truth is always a good thing.

Still, Snowden shocked us into beginning to think more carefully about uses and abuses of information, so is worth marking.

I agree that the film fails rather to capture the high drama of the events that followed the leak, or the bravery of those bringing it to light.

A good, honest film

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12