Film Reviews by ND

Welcome to ND's film reviews page. ND has written 23 reviews and rated 36 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

De-Lovely

A good story well told, thoroughly enjoyable.

(Edit) 20/01/2021

I'll not plague you with spoilers but I will say that it's pretty surprising when Elvis Costello pops up.

The acting is superb from a very classy cast, the sets, costumes, oh blow this, just watch it, it's hugely enjoyable.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Starts slowly and gets better.

(Edit) 09/11/2020

I was fast-forwarding sections of the film early on and got near to abandoning the viewing but then it picked up and ran, so it's worth watching. It's the script and storyline that is tired and just a warmed-over version with chunks of previous films. Blowing up planets, shplanets. If you want to shock people, look at goings on in our own world.

I've seen people complaining about the end, I thought it good and just about the best part.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ran

It's long!

(Edit) 13/10/2020

I'm not going to rephrase what others have written, they are good reviews and their recommendations are worthy. What they don't tell you is to take an intermission around the 90 minutes mark. There's plenty more to come after that.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Le Mans '66

Long but good fun

(Edit) 28/09/2020

The immediate aftermath of watching this film is a realisation of how good the acting was, the casting, too. Even though the people portrayed were not (even vaguely)as pretty as Messrs Bale and Damon, these are actors at the top of their game.

The story is great but it’s a long film, settle down for a long watch or split it across 2 sessions. Highly recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Philadelphia Story

A class act

(Edit) 06/05/2020

People think that the RomCom started with Four Weddings but back in 1940 they knew a thing or two about how to tell a story well. This film is riveting. The speed of the dialogue is tremendous and when you have a cast like this it’s just magical. The wit is rasping and the comedic acting sublime. Look out for Uncle Willie.

I had never seen this before although I knew it is a famous film, so I went for it. My wife and I sat there riveted and grinning from ear to ear. The Philadelphia Story is famous for a reason, I’ll bet you never even notice it’s in black and white! 

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Avanti!

Great fun

(Edit) 03/09/2019

The nudity is so out of place it's uncomfortable and the film could have been shorter, I suppose. End of criticisms.

There are Jack Lemmon wannabees out there, none have his class. No-one could have played this better, he's a joy to watch in action.

The rest of the cast tries to live up to him and the majority succeed. The locals are all brilliant and the hotel director is a scene stealer, he's so good.

It's a dated film but the sitcom element could be remade today without difficulty.

We loved this film and recommend it to you.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

I Was a Fireman

Amazing films, very well observed, excellent and historic.

(Edit) 21/08/2019

There are four films on this DVD, it is essential that you watch the last one first. It explains a great deal about how these films were made and why. Trust me!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Das Boot

A riveting docudrama that pull no punches.

(Edit) 21/08/2019

AR, the previous reviewer, has in a nutshell. It's so realistic, you can almost smell the sweat. You'll always be glad you watched it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Double Indemnity

Great actors and story. Don't miss this one.

(Edit) 21/08/2019

I completely agree with the reviewers previous, it is a shocking study in evil. Don't miss out on this, all three lead performances are outstanding. You're watching consumate professionals in action, most especially Edward G.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Patton

Madness in action - fantastic acting

(Edit) 04/05/2019

This is not just a great war film, it's much more than that. Scott's performance is extraordinary and if it wasn't for his puzzling views on the Oscar system he would have been an automatic choice for best actor.

The supporting cast and direction, etc. are all as good as it gets.

If you haven't seen this film, treat yourself.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

La Dolce Vita

An academic exercise

(Edit) 04/05/2019

Beautifully made, well acted and fascinating.

Dull, devoid of sympathetic characters and very long, at least it felt it.

If you watch it you will be able to say you have done so and will not forget having done so. Get it out of the way then get on with watching fun films for a bit.

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Calamity Jane

Weird but fun

(Edit) 04/05/2019

Riveting, huge fun with one of the greatest Hollywood songs ever written but the characters are very strange!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The King and I

The costume department was in overdrive

(Edit) 04/05/2019

Great, just great. They don't make 'em like this any longer. A treat and better than you'd expect. The costumes are sensational and the performances just as good. Enjoy.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Death of Stalin

I loved it - don't miss it.

(Edit) 04/05/2019

The cruelty of these people is sent up beautifully, none of them is sympathetic but the acting acting performances are very good indeed. Simon Russell Beale as Beria is terrifying, a bravura performance. Michael Palin, always the best of the Monty Python actors, is brilliant as the idealogue whose wife's trumped-up crimes see her denounced by him.

I loved every minute.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Apartment

A classic for good reason

(Edit) 04/05/2019

Just wonderful. The study of office politics is worth watching and the portrayal of a lack of morals in a moralistic age is not as hard hitting as it would have been at the time but still a bit shocking.

Strongly recommended.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month