Rent The Changes: Series (1975)

3.8 of 5 from 70 ratings
4h 6min
Rent The Changes: Series Online DVD & Blu-ray Rental
  • General info
  • Available formats
Well-remembered for its unsettling depiction of a society in meltdown, the 10-part series 'The Changes' was first broadcast on the BBC in early 1975 and is now available on Video for the first time. When a strange noise is emitted from machinery and electricity pylons, previously placid and easy-going folk violently turn against the technology that surrounds them, ruthlessly attacking radios, TVs and other domestic appliances. In the devastating aftermath, young Nicky Gore (Victoria Williams) is separated from her parents and finds a surrogate home with a group of Sikhs. But they soon are dubbed 'The Devil's Children' by superstitious locals and Nicky is accused of sorcery by a witch-finder.
In grave danger, she is forced to find a way to escape, find her parents and uncover what caused the world to become so unbalanced. This highly acclaimed series was adapted from Peter Dickinson's best-selling trilogy by Anna Home (who would later become chief executive of the Children's Film and Television Foundation), and features music by the BBC Radiophonic Workshop's Paddy Kingsland (The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy). The Changes paved the way for the likes of Survivors and The Day of the Triffids and the gritty depiction of a near-apocalyptic world, and its integration of Sikh characters make it as progressive and fascinating now as it was when it was first broadcast.
, , , , , , , Jeremy Carrad, , Sahab Qizilbash, , Rebecca Mascarenhas, Gopal Bhanot, , , , , , ,
Anna Home
Peter Dickinson, Anna Home
BFI Video
British Films, Children & Family, TV Sci-Fi & Fantasy, TV Teen Dramas
Release Date:
Run Time:
246 minutes
English Hard of Hearing
DVD Regions:
Region 2
Aspect Ratio:
Full Screen 1.33:1 / 4:3
  • "At Home in Britain (1983)": A short film made by the COI to educate a wide range of UK viewers about the everyday lives and different faiths of Asian residents living in Britain
  • Stills Gallery
Disc 1:
This disc includes the following episodes:
1. The Noise
2. The Bad Wires
3. The Devil's Children
4. Hostages!
5. Witchcraft!
Disc 2:
This disc includes the following episodes:
6. A Pile of Stones
7. Heartsease
8. Lightning!
9. The Quarry
10. The Cavern

Rent other films like The Changes: Series

Reviews of The Changes: Series

Currently there are no reviews for this title

Unlimited films sent to your door, starting at £9.99 a month.