Film Reviews by RW

Welcome to RW's film reviews page. RW has written 8 reviews and rated 97 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Money Monster

Entertaining and fast-paced

(Edit) 09/03/2017

Good little story, well told. Decent tension throughout. Would have had four stars were it not for Clooney's typically average acting.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Anthropoid

Nothing special

(Edit) 09/03/2017

Much, much better than the dire and pointless Son of Saul which is the last WWII film I watched, but still not a great film. The love interests seemed very stilted and completely lacking in chemistry, the story sauntered along, rather than racing, but at the assassination itself does seem to be what actually happened.

Watchable, but not memorable.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Brand New Testament

Quirky, like Amelie on steriods

(Edit) 04/01/2017

Totally bonkers film that tells of God's daughter wanting to annoy her dad, to escape from her home and come to earth.

Didn't go where I expected it at all and was full of wonderfully quirky characters and a crazy plot. Some good laugh out loud moments, some emotional moments and something that made me smile almost all the way through.

Loved it and will definitely buy it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Son of Saul

Cleverly shot but completely unengaging

(Edit) 15/12/2016

This is a film about the horrors of the concentration camp and a hard-to-understand quest of one of its workers; it's bleak, cleverly shot and truly horrifying. Some scenes are more like a slasher film such as Hostel than the kind of war film usually made.

The big problem with it is that there is absolutely nothing to engage the viewer, the basic premise of the main character's drive throughout the film just seems crazy (even allowing for the insanity of the place he's in and the madness of the Nazis). It's unremittingly depressing, nothing to cheer you in the way of, say, La vita รจ bella, absolutely nothing to lift the spirit anywhere in the film at all. All that is left at the end of the film is a feeling of utter futility; coupled with the lack of coherent story and the confusing shallow depth of field it's a deeply unsatisfactory watch.

I really could not recommend this as a film to watch and I struggle to understand why this has won so many plaudits.

2 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Most Wanted Man

Dull, slow and annoying casting.

(Edit) 15/12/2016

A really disappointing let-down of a film. Characters you don't care about, fail to understand, a total lack of tension and terribly slow-paced. However good some of the actors may be, it's unforgivable that English-speaking actors spoke English with cod German accents when alone with other supposed German natives. Not casting German-speakers and using subtitles jars horribly.

Homeland does this kind of thing a thousand times better.

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Lobster

Great fun and quite surreal

(Edit) 25/05/2016

Hugely enjoyable and entertaining film. A large serving of surrealism, both in the subject matter and the wonderful humour. The scene with the manager and her husband singing on stage, the bizarre animals wandering around in the background, the hilarious dancing were all great laugh out loud moments.

The basic premise that if you don't find a partner within a period if time you get turned into and animal of your choice is, of course, bonkers, but if you go along with it, it's a lot of fun - the film rushes by, never drags and is brilliantly done. Thoroughly recommended film, not at all pretentious, doesn't take itself too seriously, just surreal and bizarre!

1 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

45 Years

Slow, never bursts into life

(Edit) 24/03/2016

Although I liked the two lead actors' portrayals of the characters, this was a rambling, uninteresting story that didn't really go anywhere.

Odd film.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ida

Gentle film, which doesn't quite draw you in

(Edit) 24/03/2016

A story about a post war orphan in a nunnery who discovers a "terrible" secret, that is not so terrible at all.

The story is quirky, the characters not quite believable, the plot meanders a little with odd interactions between most characters. Maybe it's a cultural thing, although I often love foreign language films.

Not something I'd urge people to see, but not terrible.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month