Film Reviews by DB

Welcome to DB's film reviews page. DB has written 38 reviews and rated 61 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Lunchbox

Simply Brilliant

(Edit) 26/10/2014

A lovely movie, well made and well shot. A great story which eases you along with the flow of that great continent. What I particularly love about it is that it's a film about ordinary people, not the the usual run of the mill Indian spectacular film with riches abounding. Instead it's about a simple guy and a woman who increasingly finds that her marriage is not what she thought. The idea of corresponding through notes takes us back to earlier pre-email times. The hero displays all the doubts and fears of a man grown old who perhaps finds love in the unlikeliest of places. This is well worth watching in it's original form before Hollywood steals the plot and ruins it in the inimitable fashion of all their imitations.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tracks

Surprisingly Good

(Edit) 26/10/2014

I loved this movie not only for it's simplicity but also for the dogged determination that the Heroine showed for her quest. It's well shot and well made with some poignant moments. Overall I would say it's definitely worth watching.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Help

A Beautiful Film

(Edit) 26/10/2014

I really loved this film. It's interesting how the truth about racism in America is finally coming out. This is a heartwarming film which shows extraordinary courage in the face of a socially repressed and ordered society in which the blacks are right at the bottom. You will hate the perpetrators of this disgraceful racist behaviour but I am sure you will love the film and its outcome. It approaches the subject with a sense of humour and parts of it are very funny and touching. The ostracised white wife who becomes a friend of her black maid and so on. It's great and enjoyable but takes a good swipe at racism in America at the same time. Though I suspect the reality may well have been worse it is still a great watch.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Romantics Anonymous

Fabulous and Delightful

(Edit) 17/10/2014

This is a brilliantly funny film done in only the inimitable way that the French can. It's witty and charming and subtle. A lovely movie and great comedy, thoroughly recommend it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tamara Drewe

Enjoyable

(Edit) 17/10/2014

I really liked this flim. Tamara is the archetypal sexy girl who disturbs the rest and repose of a community very thoroughly and deliberately. It's quite witty in its way and amusing. I liked the Englishness of it and could identify well with some of the characterisations of a typical English vlilage. I would definitely recommend it, it's not at all predictable either and for those that like these offbeat types of comedies it's an excellent choice.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Albert Nobbs

Unexpected

(Edit) 17/10/2014

This film is somewhat unexpected in plot and content. It throws up some interesting social issues that apparently might have pertained to Ireland in the last century or so. Glen Close was very good in the role as were the others although perhaps they would be slightly stereotypical. I nonetheless enjoyed it and would recommend it for something slight different.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Expendables

Rubbish with a capital R

(Edit) 17/10/2014

A seriously bad film with Sylvester Stallone et al. pulling off the usual he-man pointless stunts and trying to outdo each other in the wake of a flimsy plot where they get to kill people. God have we not seen it all before a thousand times and it was pointless even then. What is even worse is that they have made sequels to this when it should have been annihalated at the script stage. You would be better off playing with a bunch of toy soldiers than watching this movie.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Single Man

An OK watchable film

(Edit) 17/10/2014

I wouldn't give this a great rating and it was not particularly moving but rather more sad. I did not feel much empathy for the characters and overall it's a bit so so. Nothing really happens in this movie and if you like that sort of film then it's for you.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Single Man

An OK watchable film

(Edit) 17/10/2014

I wouldn't give this a great rating and it was not particularly moving but rather more sad. I did not feel much empathy for the characters and overall it's a bit so so. Nothing really happens in this movie and if you like that sort of film then it's for you.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Something Borrowed

Feelgood Romance

(Edit) 17/10/2014

This is a nice movie with the usual sort of romantic entanglement and a will the right people actually end up with the right people kind of plot. I liked it and it's quite funny in parts. Kate Hudson plays her domineering friend role very well and hackles do certainly rise on behalf of her friend who is trying to find the courage to be with the man she loves. If you like chick flick rom coms then this is definitely a film for you and I would recommend it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Lovely Bones

Great Film but also quite harrowing in parts

(Edit) 02/10/2012

I think this is a brave movie considering the subject matter. I enjoyed it very much and it was tense and gripping in parts. It's not the sort of thing for an after Sunday dinner movie but something when you want to be moved and yet uplifted at the same time. The characters are well played especially the villain and he did it so well, how did he sleep at night! If you like films you will like this but be prepared to also be a upset at what you see.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Made in Dagenham

Great British Drama

(Edit) 02/10/2012

Once again the Brits pull off a lovely piece of drama laced with comedy and very informative. The movie is reminiscent of the style of Full Monty and other similar successes. It's got a great sense of the period and really evokes the whole mentality of the repression of the female sex during that time, I loved the movie it is very funny and yet poignant also, well worth renting if you like excellent British made films!!

2 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Love Ranch

Movis Horribilis

(Edit) 02/10/2012

I hated this film, even Helen Mirren could not redeem its horrible sleazy no hopers and criminal no goods. I actually couldn't watch it all and sent it back half finished, this is highly unusual. If you like films about sleazy brothels then this is for you, if not then don't bother renting it...

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Little Voice

A nice little film

(Edit) 29/01/2011

I really liked this film and it had a happy ending of sorts plus the various people who deserved got their just deserts.

It's one of those nice little British gems of film making that perhaps gets overlooked.

Micheal Caine plays an unremitting bastard but then what's new and he does it so well.

Overall I can recommend this film if you like British movies with a difference and a respite from the usual Hollywood stuff.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Beyond the Clouds

My reaction to this film is WTF???

(Edit) 08/11/2009

I find John Malkovitch annoying at the best of times but to have to watch an endless series of shots of him wandering around the streets of various towns and locations, spouting a musing spurious script was almost too much. Added to that the random various encapsulated stories which often made little sense and left me exclaming either What the Hell or even WTF!!! did not make this movie an enjoyable experience. This is one of those films which does not live up to the blurb on the cover and leaves you wondering why you rented it. At least it left me wondering that. There is no real redeeming feature that I can think of regarding it and I was exceptionally glad to see the closing credits, although I watched it through just in case there was something worth seeing... there was not. Unless you like incomprehensible stories and endless prosing on and you like John Malkovitch I suggest you don't rent this movie...

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.
123

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month