Film Reviews by TJ

Welcome to TJ's film reviews page. TJ has written 32 reviews and rated 168 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Victoria

Why?

(Edit) 19/09/2016

So it was shot in one take.... makes you wonder how many more tedious hours we were saved from by the editor hours .... as other reviewers have said... why bother

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Falling Skies: Series 5

Great series start to finish

(Edit) 06/08/2016

I have enjoyed the 5 seasons great character development and effects better with each season. My only grumble is it felt a bit rushed to teach conclusion.… sad ?? to see it go

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Inside Out

Really clever way to explain complex ideas

(Edit) 15/12/2015

Ok... before I go any further I watched this through the eyes of a 47 year old.... and to be honest I was impressed. They manage to explain a very complex ideas in a people friendly way.

Look it ain't FROZEN and for that I am thankful... not every movie Disney push out the door is going to be to everyones taste... but both myself and my wife loved it....

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

John Wick

Unexpectedly brilliant

(Edit) 06/11/2015

Didn't know what to expect from Keanu as clips I'd didn't really elude to plot or film genre. Nice characterisation and unexpectedly brilliant performance by all.

The best film Keanu since Point Break... Matrix aside obviously??

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Pigeon Sat on a Branch Reflecting on Existence

Disappointed and confused

(Edit) 25/09/2015

The title of this movie is the only intresting or amusing thing about this movie. After watching the movie it's quite clear that this title could be applied to any movie and would equally apply.

Avoid unless fan of directors work.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Falling Skies: Series 4

Great series just keeps getter better

(Edit) 22/09/2015

The thing that impresses me most about Fallen Skies is the inventiveness of the writers. The special effects are some of the best you'll see anywhere.... whilst the writing, as far as dialogue is concern has its share of American cheesey lines in abundance with plenty of chanting and back slapping and father son macho bonding... but that aside I look forward to the next series.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Project Almanac

Good film with likeable characters

(Edit) 17/09/2015

I liked this film... alot. The characters are all likeable which alot of scifi fails to achieve... you need to care enough to be taken along on the journey.

Time travel is one of my favourite sci-fi subjects and this explores the fun and the fear of time travel.

One thing I didn't get was his dad... no spoilers but keep that thought in your head while you watch the film... you'll understand my point.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Robot Overlords

More 'sigh fi' than sc-fi

(Edit) 14/09/2015

This maybe a brand new movie but it is seriously dated... feels about as upto date as 'Digby the largest dog in the world' they should create a new category for this type of scifi maybe they could call it 'sigh-fi'.

Unless you love doctor who then give it a miss...

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Salvation

Left this big Mads fan dissapointed

(Edit) 09/09/2015

Ok I've been a Mads fan for about 6 years starting with his Danish movies and then following to his more US friendly tableau... but this film has left me infuriatingly dissapointed.

Whilst the s rip is partly to blame, I always believe a sign of a good actor/actress is the movies they choose to do... They proof read the script before signing, so in this case Mads picked a poor movie.

Mads is at his best when he plays strong quirky character driven drama/comedy...

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

What We Did on Our Holiday

So achingly British

(Edit) 09/09/2015

This is a unexpected 5 star review for me... I didn't think it would be 'my thing' but just shows how much a great film can win you over.

Filmed essentially from a child's viewpoint it shows how innocence can interpret loss in the most unexpected way.

Difficult to explain without giving away the big reveal suffice to say this is Billy Collonly at is very best.

Watch and enjoy the emotional roller coaster.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Housebound

Horror with a sense of humour

(Edit) 08/09/2015

If Nick Park (Wallace and Gromitt fame) ever made a horror film it'd be a lot like this. It's on the cusp of being scary but can't resist a bit of comedy.

If you liked Tucker and Earl vs Evil you'll enjoy this.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Chappie

So much more than it appears to be

(Edit) 08/09/2015

I loved District 13 and the way it showed the rest of the world what living an an apatite was like.... well that's my interpretation anyway.

Elysium no... didn't like it we all know the gap between rich and everyone else is growing bigger and whilst this film addresses that I just didn't like the way it was portrayed.

So Chappie I get this film... helps I love Robots... not in a physical way but I really like them... the underlying story is how quickly innocence can be turned to violence. How many times do we see children carrying weapons in Africa and South America on our news channels?

Chappie is very funny... very honest... very clever and in some parts really bad mostly it must be said Hugh Jack man what we're you thinking... seriously did you see this film before it was released. Back to the film the last 10 minutes is what sealed this film for me... not to give away too much but Chappie is a genius.

Watch this film expecting it to be rubbish and you'll find yourself loving it... but it's a niche film and not to everyone's taste...

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Suits: Series 4

Business as usual

(Edit) 28/08/2015

High quality writing and strong demonstrative characterization as you expect from Suites compelling and over for another season.... :(

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Exodus: Gods and Kings

Too much ambition not enough talent

(Edit) 18/08/2015

To paraphrase this movies ambition outweighs it's directors talent. Ridley Scott hasn't made a really good film in years... and years and this is yet another one of his big budget... big stars (spot the cameos)... flop.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fifty Shades of Grey

Not engaging

(Edit) 11/08/2015

I watched this film after persuasion from my partner who assured me it was actually worth watching. I would suggest that unless you've read the book you'd struggle to follow the narrative because their just isn't, we'll one that follows the premise and rules set up at the beginning of the film.

Not engaging avoid unless you loved the book

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
123

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month