Film Reviews by RD

Welcome to RD's film reviews page. RD has written 15 reviews and rated 71 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Promare

Confusing. But good.

(Edit) 11/06/2021

I'm not a huge fan of anime, so if you are you might give it more stars.

Takes a while to get going.

Best line: 'STOP. MAKING UP. STUPID NAMES!' xD

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Gentlemen

Was expecting less, but got more

(Edit) 16/04/2021

I've watched a lot of films recently and most of them have been mediocre.

When I started to watch this I wasn't aware it was Guy Ritchie till I came back to look on Cinema Paradiso, at which point I expected less. Could it compare to Snatch and Lock Stock?

Turned out it could. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and it is definitely one of the better films I've seen recently

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Assassination Nation

Pretty much garbage..

(Edit) 20/02/2021

The first half of this film seems to operate on the incorrect premise that anything you post on the internet is private until there is a 'hack'.

Guess what? It's not.

The girls aren't to blame though. It's sochal meeja's fault.

Guess what again? It's not mandatory.

Then the consequences of their actions catch up with them. Shocker.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fahrenheit 11/9

Makes you glad you're not American

(Edit) 13/02/2021

As others have said, this film does have its flaws. But the world needs a Michael Moore, there can be no doubt of that.

P.S. Why does the critic review contain so many misspellings? There is no such word as 'baffonish'. And the town in question is 'Flint', not 'Flynt'.

Very poor :|

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Zombieland: Double Tap

I ain't afraid of no ghost

(Edit) 29/01/2021

Mildly entertaining, but let's be honest, there will never be a better zombie film than Shaun of the Dead. This film even copies the whole 'another group of zombie slayers who are similar to the main group'

Bonus points (as ever) for the Murray

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Shaun of the Dead

Multi-layered

(Edit) 29/01/2021

Comedy genius. This film needs to be watched multiple times to appreciate all the subtleties.

The first half basically being a rehearsal for the second half.

And the classic lines:

'You've got red on you'.

'The first one'

Etc. Etc.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Maleficent: Mistress of Evil

Too good for kids

(Edit) 08/01/2021

No doubt as this is a Disney film it will be assumed it's for kids.

But calling it a kids film is underestimating it.

I thoroughly enjoyed it.

I liked the way it branched out from the first film's story line.

And you can't deny how hot Angie looks with her hair down <3

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Rambo: Last Blood

Not very good

(Edit) 27/11/2020

This film reminded me of the Big Bang Theory where they espouse on the character of Indiana Jones not affecting the film.

Trying not to give spoilers, a lot of this film was caused by Mr. Rambo going in cack-handed and causing a lot of consequences. At no point does he realise this and feel guilt.

Admittedly the alternative wasn't ideal, but there is just no basic logic applied.

I wouldn't bother with this if I were you.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Good Boys

If you think this is a family comedy, you need to take a serious look at your family

(Edit) 13/11/2020

I don't know what a sixth grade is, nor do I have any interest in finding out.

Isn't it ironic that the nation has voted to leave the EU, but are quite happy to be sumsumed by America?

This film seems like adult behavior projected onto children.

I mean, I hope. God help us otherwise. :|

Too much hippity hoppity crap for my taste too.

It is amusing as long from a fantasy point of view.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

The ending makes up for it

(Edit) 31/10/2020

I would have given this 3 stars for most of the movie, it was interesting but nothing particularly special.

But then the ending bumped it up to a 4 star. :D Maybe 4 1/2

And for the reviews saying it contained gratuious violence: It's a Tarantino movie. What the **** did you expect?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Watchmen

Little bit dated but ultimately awesome

(Edit) 30/10/2020

I'd seen bits and pieces of this before, but never really sat down to watch it end to end. At about 3 1/2 hours long, it's a serious commitment.

It's very dark but I love that.

If you can slightly put aside the cold war paranoia (though it is a running theme), it is an awesome film.

The 4k presentation for a film this old is the only way to watch

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Midsommar

I'm afraid it's a no from me

(Edit) 11/09/2020

Way too long, too slow and too predictable.

Hey kids, why don't you do a lot of drugs given to you from people you don't know? What could possibly go wrong?

I'm not sure if the message here is that Americans don't get out much, don't understand drugs or just blatently have no sense.

Speaking as someone who has never done drugs, the paranoia is underrated :)

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Captain Marvel

Ok

(Edit) 07/05/2020

It wasn't that bad. I mean, it wasn't that good, but it wasn't as bad as I was expecting.

Hard to buy her as a superhero when she runs like a girl :D

But bonus marks for the space kitty.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Strangers: Prey at Night

Terrible

(Edit) 02/05/2020

Maybe it's me, but just how pathetic can you be?

The victims' main source of defence against the knife-weilding maniacs is to shout "Stop doing this to us!". Because that's bound to work.

Other than that, it seems they just bypass opportunities to fight back, instead simply letting the stabbings commence.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ready Player One

Bit meh

(Edit) 22/02/2019

It seems I am one of the few that did read the book first.

I have to say that the book, although it does also wallow in nostalgia, is a bit more coherent than the film. The puzzles are a bit more in depth and engaging, but I guess that's the nature of book vs. film.

The film did have it's moments, but alas, they were only moments, and as I said, it was just less engaging of a story than the book

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.