Film Reviews by SKC

Welcome to SKC's film reviews page. SKC has written 21 reviews and rated 1191 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Assistant

Total waste of time.

(Edit) 15/11/2020

One of the most boring piles of crock ever presented as a film. It is one of those films where you can actually make up the storyline yourself. Suitable mainly to female snowflakes who need a safe space to create their own notion of victimhood and entitlement. In fact I do not even remember adding this to my list because there is nothing of appeal when I click on the link. that would make me add to the list. I must have been very drunk.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Jacob's Ladder

A poor imitation

(Edit) 25/10/2020

This is a remake using black actors. I would seriously recommend the original film starring Tim Robbins. Much better story and much more scary and just a much better film. Search on here as it is available.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Doctor Sleep

Averge

(Edit) 22/05/2020

The torture of a young boy was sick and paedophilic. If it had been a young girl it would have caused outrage. Don't waste your rental. Has little in the way of connections to The Shining.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Good Boys

This is not children and family.

(Edit) 11/01/2020

Misandry and sexist cliches about teenage boys. Appalling. Not worth a look. Incorrectly categorized

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Boys on Film 18: Heroes

Worth a watch

(Edit) 09/09/2018

This one is worth a watch JUST for the film about the nurses who helped the aids victims back in the 1980s.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Call Me by Your Name

Superb

(Edit) 02/07/2018

A classic love story without the cliched objectification, gay bashing, victim hood, hidden agenda et al. Just a genuine moving love story.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

God's Own Country

An insult to Yorkshire

(Edit) 15/04/2018

A film so shite it couldn't throw up one Yorkshire actor. Meaning, not a single Yorkshire man has to own up to this drivel.

An utter abortion and should deleted from all sources. A wanton yet failed attempt at Yorkshires's version of Wuthering mountain.

0 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Moonlight

Amazing

(Edit) 19/06/2017

When I see a film with the accolades like those on the main picture I get very dubious. However, having seen the film, I read them and whole heartedly agree. This film was simply stunning. I think the other reviewer watched the wrong film. This film is a must see. I was rivetted. Superb acting, direction and at times visually stunning.

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Peter De Rome: The Grandfather of Gay Porn

An interesting and revealing documentary.

(Edit) 07/05/2017

I often pondered as to why the BFI applauded this man and anointed his films as something to be revered. There is, of course, the notion of sentiment and as a sentimental man I can appreciate that. Mr De-Rome clearly did something new and different in his lifetime and he is bound to look back as he approaches his final years. However I couldn’t quite put my finger on it after all he just he just made porn at the end of the day. Then it hit me. Mr De-Rome was a well spoken middle class man. So the fact his films and this documentary is full of full on gay sex, erections and ejaculations, and one very awkward moment when two naked and aroused men sit on either side of him, interspersed with middle class chattering about his work. I assume many will see this as progress. What the documentary fails to acknowledge whilst it and the BFI celebrate this with its many illegal aspects, the government of 21st century UK has banned female ejaculation, amongst other things in pornographic films. So I guess there is an opportunity for a heterosexual man to film females in such a way. In about 40 years, I am sure the BFI will embrace it in the same way.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Olivier, Olivier

Classic French Cinema

(Edit) 17/04/2017

A young boy disappears only to return five years later harboring a secret. A riveting film that delivers some amazing performances with a shocking twist.

I highly recommend this film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Together with You

A simply beautiful film.

(Edit) 21/03/2016

This film really touched my heart. A simple story yet so moving. Beautifully acted and outstanding music. One of the best father and son films you will see. I bought it from Amazon whilst the titles were playing. A must see.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Martian

Major disappointment.

(Edit) 14/02/2016

Apart from some fine CGI of Mars there was nothing going for this film at all. Proof that the old saying "don't believe the hype". A masterpiece of nothingness. Was so bored I skimmed through after 40 minutes.

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sightseers

Highly Original and thoroughly watchable.

(Edit) 29/01/2016

One of the best films I have seen for many years. Original, different, funny, engaging, hilarious, and engaging. One of the best English road movies ever. Must see. Five stars.

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Boys on Films 13: Trick and Treat

Flogging a Dead Horse.

(Edit) 14/09/2015

There is only a limited number of scenarios you can create when you pigeon hole yourself to produce endless gay themed films, often only to satisfy your own need to objectify and generalise about a peoples. This collection of "films" epitomises that. The talentless notion that if you are gay, you have to make a gay themed film serves only to marginalise yourself from the mainstream, who it has to be said are quite fed up of the double standards presented by gay writers. Are you listening Russel T Davies??

Don't waste your rental on this unless you are a. desperate and b in a comma.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Samurai

Zero out of 5

(Edit) 11/07/2015

One of the worst films I have ever seen. So desperate for it to get some kind of notoriety, the ever increasing use of an erect penis in films, which clearly the BBFC overlooked when awarding it a 15 or was working with Pecadillo pictures and receiving back handers?

Don't waste your rental.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12