Film Reviews by BP

Welcome to BP's film reviews page. BP has written 12 reviews and rated 257 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Peterloo

Wonderful period piece

(Edit) 04/02/2020

I loved this movie! The characters seemed so realistic. I can imagine the Peterloo massacre being very similar to this. There are a lot of different characters and no major ones, but I had no problem with that. Roro Kinnear as Henry Hunt and Neil Bell as Samuel Bamford particularly good. I wish more films were made like this.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mamma Mia!

Cheese

(Edit) 27/10/2019

This is the cheesiest movie ever made.

Judy Walters, Pierce Brosnan, Colin Firth, cheesy actors who turn the cheese up to max here.

My toes curled so much they touched my knees.

Someone must like this stuff though, otherwise they wouldn't make it, right?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

All the President's Men

The stranger in the car park

(Edit) 05/02/2019

This film was a real disappointment to me - I thought Spotlight and the Post were excellent movies but this one really not.

I do appreciate it is an older movie and therefore the inspiration for subsequent Journalist movies such as the above, but still...

The movie seemed to have no structure. Essentially it appeared to consist of a repetition of the following :

1) Redford and Hoffman typing furiously then walking unreasonably quickly across their office to avoid missing the daily deadline (would it really have mattered if each of their stories had appeared in the next day's paper?)

2) Redford and Hoffman Turning up at people's houses/offices to ask them questions. Initially each person is reluctant to talk. Then with minimal cajoling, then talk at length.

Despite this the protagonists make painfully slow progress until eventually the 'mystery' is resolved by Redford who visits a random stranger in a car park for the third time. The stranger, presumably as fed up as the rest of us that the movie is now 2 hours old and no sign of a conclusion, basically tells Redford the solution.

It seems a shame that the stranger didn't just say this to Redford towards the beginning and the film could have been 30 minutes long.

No film is without positives in my opinion and Jason Robards is just great.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Blues Brothers

Not funny and not good

(Edit) 18/05/2018

I have seen 2 John Belushi movies now - this and "1941" - and I have come to the conclusion that John Belushi is one of the least funny funny-men of all time. This film felt like Sister Act meets Thelma Louise, in a bad way. Ponderous, devoid of humour, way too many nonsensical parts, bad acting.. The guest singers were good- apart from that, nothing good.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Get Out

Love this movie

(Edit) 17/05/2018

This is a cracking movie - really enjoyed this one. Definitely deserved the Oscar nominations.

Daniel Kaluuya puts in an excellent performance - all the characters are good. Proper spine tingling stuff.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

1941

My friend Dan

(Edit) 14/05/2018

My friend Dan recommended this movie to me and frankly I wish he hadn't.

Too many characters, too many annoying characters, too little humour. 2 hours long too...

Not Spielberg's finest 2 hours by any stretch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pirates of the Caribbean 3: At World's End

Worst plot of all time?

(Edit) 21/04/2018

Does anyone actually understand what is going on in this movie at any time?

The characters just wander about, changing allegiances for no reason, contradicting what they previously said or did, doing things for no good reason.

E.g. a Chinese pirate lord dies and hands his position onto Kiera Knightley's character, who he has just met. Why? No idea.

All the media reviews I read said to forget about trying to following the storyline and just enjoy the visuals.

So basically you have to watch pirate ships on waves for 2 long hours and 40 long minutes.

The outtakes on the DVD indicate the actors had a good time making it. So that is one thing positive at least.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fences

Film adaptation of a play

(Edit) 16/02/2018

Do not watch this movie if you think you may struggle with following-

- the way working-class black people from Pittsburgh in the 1950s might speak

- a film which is based on a play, therefore with a large amount of poetic dialogue

If you can overcome these two things, then hopefully you would really appreciate this wonderfully written and beautifully acted movie, as I did.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Departed

Jack Nicholson's rat impression

(Edit) 11/09/2017

This is a full-on mobster/cop thriller and keeps you guessing throughout. The cast are generally excelled particularly Di Caprio but Wahlberg was a bit over the top. Jack Nicolson seemed to be playing a strange version of his portrayal of the Joker; either that or a parody of himself. At one point he actually does an impression of a rat when he talking about the rat in his organisation... I found his character implausible and that kind of soured the movie for me. I've seen each of the Oscar winning best movies from the last 10 years and this was one of the less good ones in my opinion.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Before Sunset

Long chat in Paris

(Edit) 07/09/2017

I haven't this film's sequel Before Sunrise but nonetheless I was able to enjoy this film in isolation. I like Ethan Hawke (he was great in Boyhood) and although Delpy's character is a little annoying at times I enjoyed the dynamic between them, which is a good job because basically the film is just the dynamic between them. Paris is visually a stunning city as it rolls along in the background. I'll watch the other 2 movies in the trilogy having watched this one.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Rules of the Game

Bit silly and very French

(Edit) 04/09/2017

This is apparently one of the highest rated films of all time by

I think it must have aged pretty poorly because it was a bit like a French Carry On movie in my opinion. The character played by director Jean Renoir I found to be particularly implausible and annoying. And some of the eyebrows were the worst I've seen in any film!

In summary a good film if you like weak French comedies with lots of painted eyebrows.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Hustler

Alcoholism and pool

(Edit) 29/08/2017

This was on my list of classic films. It was much darker than I thought it would be. The pool scenes are great (they had long pool matches back then) but it's no barrel of laughs. Newman is good I thought, so are George C Scott (from Dr Strangelove) and Jackie Gleason; Piper Laurie I wasn't bowled over by her character or her performance, which is a shame because I liked her in Carrie.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month