Film Reviews by John M from Romsey

Welcome to John M from Romsey's film reviews page. John M from Romsey has written 13 reviews and rated 102 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Mission

Really well done

(Edit) 21/04/2021

We have enjoyed the music from this for some time and have never seen the film until now. As a portrayal of a true historical event this was really well done, possibly because real Indian people from the forest played many key parts in the film.

Excellent and well worth seeing

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Jason Bourne

A 'Slam Bam' Film

(Edit) 17/08/2019

We were expecting something similar to previous Jason Bourne films, with an actual story line, but this just a continuous series of badly filmed car/motorbike chases, etc, with almost no story behind it. Very disappointing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Secret Life of Pets

Entertaining film, with excellent 3D effects

(Edit) 18/06/2019

We found it quite funny, perhaps having 'fat cat' of our own, with similar tendencies when she younger, had something to do with that!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Incredibles 2

Entertaining sequel, which should have been even better in 3D, but wasn't

(Edit) 14/05/2019

Generally a fun film that should have come even more to life in the 3D version, but sadly, was more like a poor conversion from 2D.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

How to Train Your Dragon

Great Fun and terrific in 3D

(Edit) 11/09/2018

Excellent animation and great fun to watch and I am very glad that we have a passive 65" 3D TV that really does this film justice. I think your very own dragon could be quite useful transportation at times!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sisters

Rubbish

(Edit) 27/03/2018

So bad, we only viewed about 15 minutes of it and gave up in disgust. Hardly anything like a broad 'feel good' comedy, as it has been advertised (a 'very silly comedy' might be a better description!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Doctor Strange

Excellent 3D Film

(Edit) 08/01/2018

Well worth watching, particularly the impressive effects in 3D and even my wife enjoyed it!! This is one of those films that is far better to watch via passive 3D on a flat OLED screen

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Micro Monsters with David Attenborough

Terrific in 3D on LG OLED

(Edit) 04/10/2017

The 3D photography was absolutely stunning, particularly so considering the size of many of the insect 'actors'. The downside that prevented from getting 5 stars, was that it was a TV series that was just transferred to disc without even any basic editing. So for each episode, you had to go through the same start preamble every time, which made playing it very disjointed process.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Enchanted Kingdom

Absolutely brillient in 3D

(Edit) 05/09/2017

This is film that was shot in the best quality 3D possible and has to be seen in 3D on top quality (preferably flat screen) TV, to fully appreciate it. The transfer to Blue Ray is superb, with an excellent accompanying music score. Forget all the hype about HDR and 4K (which reminds me of the story about the 'emperor's new clothes'!) as it would lose an awful lot without 3D.

The 3D footage is truly appreciated when viewing the making of the film and seeing the efforts of the production team, hauling extremely heavy 3D equipment up mountains, through jungles and over the Victorian falls to create this spectacularly film.

The only negative point was the audio reference level, which was set rather low, requiring a volume increase on the AV equipment.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The House of Magic

Excellent an 3D demo

(Edit) 09/05/2017

This a 'fun' and amusing film and was also an excellent 3D demo (at least it was on a LG OLED screen)

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Gnomeo and Juliet

Very Entertaining

(Edit) 26/01/2016

We both really enjoyed this film. Many of the characters were well known stars and they contributed significantly to how well the film turned out. It was well made and terrific in 3D on a flat OLED screen

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Captain America: The Winter Soldier

Great Film, but not the best in 3D

(Edit) 04/12/2015

Very enjoyable, with good story and acting. Only downside was that this seemed to be made for 2D and then converted to 3D, which we have found before, is not as good as a film made for 3D in the first place e.g. 'Avatar').

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Saving Mr. Banks

Unexpected excellence

(Edit) 28/07/2015

We were very surprised that this was so good, funny and very moving. Prior to this, we had no idea of the sad family history behind the story and are glad that it has eventually been told in such a sensitive manor

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.