Film Reviews by KC

Welcome to KC's film reviews page. KC has written 15 reviews and rated 28 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mother!

Delirious and Bonkers

(Edit) 19/08/2018

Utterly bonkers, profoundly unsettling and funny- a rip roaring exploration of the darker and more destructive side of creativity and fame with its vanity and cruelty laid bare. If you have visitors coming do not watch this movie as you will never want house guests again as they set off a dizzying and delirious spiral of events that spin increasingly out of control. Not for everyone but if you like it dark and bonkers it could be just the film for you.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Justice League

Not quite so dour.

(Edit) 11/06/2018

Finally DC starts to show the first glimmer of a sense of humour and I suppose anything was better than Batman V Superman but I quite enjoyed this movie. Gal Gadot is fab as Woman Woman and Ezra Miller gives a great Flash, OK it still doesn't touch Marvel but then baby steps DC baby steps.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Grandmaster

Wet Wet Wet

(Edit) 16/03/2018

This is a remarkably dull movie for people who don't like martial arts films, with mediocre overly stylised fight scenes, often filmed in the rain so the director can flip into slow mo raindrops which he seems to believe makes a film arty. The performances are flat, the storyline convoluted and episodic, without any real emotional arc or substance. Ip Man's legend was much better served by Donnie Yen in the Ip Man films, the third of which effortlessly displays an emotional depth that is beyond Wong Kar Wei's grasp here and which has stupendous fight scenes to boot.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Blade Runner 2049

Style over story

(Edit) 10/03/2018

Such a huge disappointment, which added nothing to the original and in fact made me wonder if that was any good in the first place. O.K visually it is utterly sumptuous and maybe in the cinema that would be enough but a smaller screen means the plot has got to do some work and this one didn't, in fact it was completely Po faced and humorless and if you want to make a film that supposedly examines what it is to be human, then leaving out a joke or too makes it appear as if you haven't got a clue what humans are all about in the first place. The women are either bitches or whores, glacial pacing is supposed to grant gravitas when it just induces yawns, and the performances drip with self absorbed mediocrity. I don't understand why they bothered.

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Lure

Funky Fish

(Edit) 10/03/2018

A Polish mermaid musical that knocks the socks off La La Land, excellent performances and great music blend together to create a film which is really original and totally revitalizes the Little Mermaid story, turning it into something edgy and exhilarating A real little gem of a film..

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sleepy Hollow: Series 4

Sad to see it cancelled but I think it was time.

(Edit) 10/03/2018

Sad to see Sleepy Hollow go out on a slightly bum note as the reboot fails to win back the viewers, too many plot holes though Tom Mison is charming as ever but they relied on rehashing to many Old Themes and Ichabod's son was always a dull character who should have been left in the grave.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ghost in the Shell

Techno Dullards

(Edit) 16/02/2018

A film about the Ghost in the Shell which lacks any sort of soul whatsoever, the script is beyond dull and the performances look like they've been dialed in from an old folks home just outside of Reno. This wants to be meaningful and intelligent but fails dismally becoming overblown and portentous before finally attempting to bore the viewer to death with is empty stylised vision of the future which looks like it been directly copied from Blade Runner. Avoid.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Holy Mountain

Beautiful and Bonkers

(Edit) 16/02/2018

Alejandro Jodorowsky makes films like nobody else makes films, this movie is visually sumptious and totally surreal, the story really doesn't matter just let yourself get caught up in the aesthetic rush and savour the psychedelic vibe of skinned dogs, toad armies and endless animals hanging out in odd places checking out the hippies.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Atomic Blonde

If only I cared.

(Edit) 24/01/2018

Charlize Theron is great and the fight scenes are fantastic but once again film makers forget that you actually have to give a toss about the characters, yes even in action films and I didn't, I couldn't care less who died or what the hell was happening to them, so the plot just seemed absurd. The performances where all fine, McAvoy, Young and Goodman offer support but the director never reaches that sublime point, as exemplified by Die Hard where you actually care what happens to John McClane and it's easy and exhilarating to root for him.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Colossal

Godzilla as an amiable drunk.

(Edit) 06/01/2018

I loved this film Anne Hathaway and Jason Sudekis where particularly good and it brought new life to the overplayed monster trashing a city genre. Hathaway is a convincing and endearing lush while Sudekis's transformation is formidable. The monster provides the catalyst for human change without it being obvious or slushy these are flawed folk who'll never be perfect and that makes them interesting, if not always likeable.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Get Out

Creepy white folk on the prowl.

(Edit) 06/01/2018

Great film, smart and sassy with a biting wit, which made me squirm with embarrassment at times for all the dumb things I've said when hanging out with black friends. Daniel Kaluuya's central performance is utterly convincing as the on-going horror unfolds and it reminded me a bit of a more sober version of Society. It is genuinely creepy and full of menace and betrayal and Lil Rel Howery adds a streak of humour that adds to the overall story rather than detracting from it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Wailing

What?

(Edit) 09/12/2017

Must disagree with the other reviewers who obviously enjoyed this more than I did. It starts off great and does indeed draw you in but then it slowly, oh so slowly, slides into utter incomprehensibility, until by the end you're just left thinking WTF and feeling decidedly short changed, there are definitely better ways to pass 2.5hrs.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Alien: Covenant

The Horse is Dead

(Edit) 09/12/2017

Stop flogging this deceased horse, it has snuffed it and is already pushing up the daisies. All sense of Fun and even great action sequences have been abandoned in favour of a pompous story arc that is desperately trying to prolong this franchise. Like the Terminator, they should have stopped at two rather than allowing greed to drive them to create ever more tortured reincarnations of a once great movie that has now been buried under the weight of its own fruitless sequels.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Cure for Wellness

Not such a long experience.

(Edit) 15/11/2017

I was completely caught up in this film and subsequently I didn't find it overlong at all. The sense of menace and dread kept me on the edge of the settee as the plot unfolded and the cinematography rendered the world of the sanatorium in a grim palate of colors that captured the essence of institutionalised decay that reeked of suspended putrefaction. So yeah I enjoyed it and would definitely avoid health spas in the future.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sweet Bean

Sweet as a sugar bean

(Edit) 12/11/2017

A lovely movie, with two great central performances from Masatoshi Nagase and the adorable Kirin Kiki as Tokue the elderly lady who makes the sweet bean paste that turns a pancake stall into a success. The Japanese are amazing at filming food, like Tampopo and Jiro dreams of Sushi, Sweet Bean captures their reverence for even the most humble of foods. The story of their friendship is gentle, melancholy and warm. It touches you and leaves you with a tear in your eye and smile on your lips.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month