Film Reviews by Popeyethetim

Welcome to Popeyethetim's film reviews page. Popeyethetim has written 10 reviews and rated 41 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Arkansas

Top work first film

(Edit) 05/02/2021

I really wasn't sure what to expect from this but it turned out to be a superbly crafted and acted film, a directorial debut for Clark Duke. Its got it all really. Great acting, the dumb and dumber nature which soon turns to violence when things go wrong. Great performances from all the cast. Exceptionally well put together film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Tin Drum

Still amazing

(Edit) 09/11/2020

Stands up well to the test of time. A wonderful film which manages to transpose the European magical realism of the book into film. Its just a shame that it stops at the end of Oskar's travels through to the end of the Second World War and we don't get to see the progress of Oskar through the new Germany - but then that would have made a VERY long film epic. As it stands this is a wonderful film made by a committed cast of director and actors to get it right. And it does too. The scenes in my head on reading the book were very similar to the scenes in the film. David Bennent is exceptional and the directing of Volker Schlondorff is spot on.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Shape of Water

contrived stylistic snoozeathon

(Edit) 22/06/2020

despite some great performances this is a trite love story wrapped in a 60s science fiction comic style. Bowdlerised, semi-romantic trash where the good are saints and the villains are demons . I wish I could get back the time I spent watching this.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Il Postino

superb

(Edit) 08/11/2019

Moved me to read Neruda again. Beautifully portrayed a wonderful and simple love story told with simplicity and having the weight of passion and sensuality all underlaying it.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Leviathan

There is no hope and then you die despite fighting and railing

(Edit) 11/09/2019

As bleak a film as Andrey Zvyagintsev ever makes. I know Russians who hate his work because they see him as portraying a Russia and Russians that the west would like to think, to imagine it is. All are fated. The Church and State control everything. The little man wants to get along and live but is confounded when he sticks his head over the parapet only to have it crushed

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Pledge

Forget Witches of Eastwick

(Edit) 11/09/2019

When you see this you realise that Nicholson CAN act. Brilliant fil. Harrowing and at the same time quite compelling.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tesis

Excellent

(Edit) 11/09/2019

This used to be a difficult film to source. A tense thriller on snuff movies. Well worth it. Pace builds through the film. Its well directed and tight and builds to a sense of the usual inability to escape from the clutches. It is well worth getting this out to see a genre from a Spanish side rarely seen.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Return

Great film

(Edit) 11/09/2019

Probably his best work. Immaculately filmed. Tense throughout and incredible performances from all the actors. There is a great deal unsaid about the returned father which leaves him a bit of an enigma but we get hints of what he is like from his interactions with the two sons, the eldest of whom is readyu to accept him but the youngest and more sensitive doiesn't cope with it and rejects him. This is a great film, easily Zvyagintsev's best.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Loveless

Incredibly bleak and pessimistic

(Edit) 11/09/2019

Everyone is a total selfish arsehole. The only redeeming factor is the boy who disappears. Andrey Zvyagintsev at his bleakest but a great study of characters and quite amazing acting and directing.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Endless

Out there

(Edit) 11/09/2019

Bensoin and Moorhead. What can you say. Their films are always out there. This one we have a trapped in the loop film and a character study on cults and brothers. There is a strange feeling of dislocation that is built into this film which gets you when watching it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.